And Lo, A Baby Is Born

24 Jul

Unless you have had your head in the sand, you can’t have failed to notice that something big happened in the UK this week. The royal baby was born.

Kate and William gave birth to a little boy who is now third in line to the throne; big shoes for someone so small and a weight which will sit on his shoulders till his (probable) ascension to the throne.

Yesterday thousands of people lined the streets in Paddington outside St Marys Hospital, waiting for news on the Royal arrival, and today the royal easel sat outside Buckingham Palace for the traditional birth announcement.

article-2374931-1AF575B5000005DC-2_964x704

But as yet, the little mite remains nameless. We shall hereby refer to him as HRH Prince Charming, but it has led to much hilarity around the office as we place bets on what they will call it. My money has gone on James, with other favourites being Edward and Albert, but my favourite sneaky one is Dwayne.

Which reminded me of a video clip I saw a few weeks ago, about snobbery and children’s names. Katie Hopkins (a Z list ‘celebrity’ who won The Apprentice here in the UK) shows herself up for being a total snob when she states that a child’s name determines whether or not she would let her own offspring associate with them. All on a name.

Gone are the days when children can bond in the playground over a favourite colour or mutual love of a game, but according to this woman (who has absolutely no authority in the matter) a child with the name of, for example, Tyler, is ‘working class’ and will have habits and traits that are a) negative and b) would rub off on her precious little children.

Its definite upper class snobbery, but at the same time, I can’t imagine the Royal baby being named Leroy, or Trevor. Although I doubt Adele will give the time of day to any of these debates, being one of the most successful women in music.

What do you think? Has your name affected you in any way?

10 Responses to “And Lo, A Baby Is Born”

  1. ksbeth July 24, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    my name is beth, and it is very rare that people will accept this without questioning if it is really elizabeth. it is not, i am more of a beth anyway, if they really know me )

  2. Sam July 24, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    I do think a name can play a big role. Like calling your daughter Phoenix or Candy doesn’t dictate they become a stripper… but they stand more of a chance 😛 (this was said very tongue in cheek).

  3. becomingcliche July 24, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    I do hope the Royal family chooses wisely, though, because whatever they pick will become the most popular name for the next five years.

  4. josierenae July 24, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

    She was VERY snobbish and very uppity to say the least! How dare she?! But she calls her daughter Poppie, and the other one India!! But I guess she’s entitled to her own opinion, however misguided… Great post! On the other end of the spectrum, I hope the Royal family gives the little prince a fitting name. 🙂

  5. visitingmissouri July 24, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

    My name (Bas) used to be the most popular boys name from my year, so everyone was used to it. After I’ve moved to the States, however, it takes on a different meaning. When pronounced, a lot of people think it’s actually Boss. When I won’t see them again, I often like to leave them under that impression. It does create weird situations now and then. My love and I were at a garage sale recently, and she was considering buying some Christmas decorations. About five people looked at us with the biggest eyes when she seemed to ask me, ‘What do you think, Boss?’

  6. twindaddy July 24, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

    If my name has affected me in any way I am unaware of it.

  7. jennymiller62 July 26, 2013 at 12:11 am #

    I’m Jenny, short for Jennifer. There are a million Jennifers in my generation (second only by Jessica). I, however, have the honor of being named after a street sign, so I’m special in a way. Personally, I’m just glad I wasn’t named Josephine or Joanne–because that would have made 5 Joes in my family. Too many…..

    • tinkerbelle86 July 31, 2013 at 11:12 am #

      Hahaha I’m Laura – I was one of five in my primary school. I always envied my sister, Danielle – and she was such a tomboy she didn’t appreciate such a pretty name anyway!

  8. pegoleg July 31, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    My daughter was one of those lining the street outside the hospital during “baby mania 2013”, because it was only a block from our hotel. Many thanks to you and all the Brits for showing us such a lovely time!

  9. philosophermouseofthehedge August 6, 2013 at 2:13 am #

    I really thought “James” had a chance – but all those “Georges” with history.
    They did look like such happy parents. Wishing them the best
    Names are funny – they do affect people and how people see the person.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

