Thunderbolts

23 Jul

Its 1.27am and once again, I’m not sleeping. The fan is swirling the air around my toes as I try to settle and sleep in the heat.

You often hear people describe the night sky as inky and black but in the city it holds a pink hue; like foggy brightness across a black backdrop.

Sleep doesn’t come to me naturally and it’s frustrating, but tonight is different. Tonight is my favourite kind of night. Because the heat wave is breaking.

Image

Dazzling flashes of light keep illuminating my room like someone is playing with the light switch, and the rain falls hard; a jungle cacophony of thunderstorm that crashes and bangs. It makes you feel like the smallest part of a bigger picture, like a borrower living in the depths of a percussion section in an orchestra.

I love every second of it. The rain is desperate; not the peaceful drops of English summer but the echoing splatters as it falls with a tumultuous need to wash away the day. The thunderclaps sound like the clouds arguing – a battle of wills as they hustle and barge each other.

And now the storm is here; it’s right above and it makes even me, with the bravest of faces, a little nervous.

Image

I just want to go and stand palms up, in the rain. I’ve never felt such a strong desire to do anything as I want to pull on clothes and run the three flights of stairs into the eye of the storm. And if the boy was here I would – I’d drag him down the steps until I was standing on the road, loving the storm.

Its times like this you know you’re alive.

16 Responses to “Thunderbolts”

  1. 1stpeaksteve July 23, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

    Great post!

    What you are describing is about every day in Florida from July to the beginning of September. Heat. Then giving way to an angry rain that overtakes every pipe in the vicinity. And of course the lightning and thunder. The kind that makes you cower in your home wondering if some natural catastrophe is in store for you.

    But when it passes the night cools down and the frogs come out and begin to sing.

    All is well! Until the dawn breaks and it starts again.

    Do you have air conditioning? I hope so! Fans are no fun when the temperatures climb.

    • tinkerbelle86 July 23, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

      No Steve, no air con. And no ceiling fans either. England just isnt warm enough on the whole to bother about stuff like that. I have windows and a desk fan which is permanently pointed at me – works better than nothing!

      • 1stpeaksteve July 23, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

        Well…one absolutely needs air conditioning in Florida and sadly…mine is out! My brother in law works for a company but it is 2 hours away so I am currently stewing away in my home. The worst part is that there is a nice breeze but due to the modern shape of the house; the lovely breeze just passes the windows by.

        Oh the pains of modern life!

  2. Sandra Bell Kirchman July 23, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    Poetically spoken, beautifully written (and illustrated), Belle. You surely have the gift of gab…and the genius of words 😉

  3. stefreshanie July 23, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    There was a thunderstorm where I live yesterday. It barely ever rains here, and rarely during the summer! My friend and I just kept referencing the movie “Ted”. Grab your thunder buddy! 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 July 31, 2013 at 11:13 am #

      I didn’t have a thunder buddy! It doesn’t normally make me nervious but I did jump a little when there was a big clap overhead.

  4. Priya Ghose July 23, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

    Great post!

  5. twindaddy July 23, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

    I like this one! Very well-written!

    • tinkerbelle86 July 23, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      why thank you! Thats what 1am stormy sleep deprivation does to a girl 🙂

  6. bstarbee July 23, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    love the image of you outside in the rain, palms up. [[invigorated sigh!]]

  7. mbeephoto July 24, 2013 at 12:30 am #

    Hey…Don’t wait for someone to drag you out, just take a run into that awesome rainy weather by yourself!!! …How I wish I’ll ever shoot a pic like those in your post. Lightnings are so cool!

  8. sashasway July 24, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    Great post – love the photo! thanks for popping by my little world and for the like ! 🙂

  9. Hannah (BitterSweet) July 26, 2013 at 2:45 am #

    I actually find thunder one of the most comforting sounds to fall asleep to! Not really sure why, but the rumbling tends to lull me to sleep, even though I’m typically a light sleeper and one would think that the noise would wake me up. Anyway, they’re definitely the only good things to come of such heat waves.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

