Living Life Intentionally

21 Jul

They say the only thing certain in life is death, and for the most part that’s true. But that’s a really sad notion to me. It brings to mind thoughts of bumbling through life with no purpose, like the Western films where the debris rolls through the corral before the baddie turns up. A listless wandering, no rhyme or reason, just millions of people patiently waiting to die.

Time is so easy to waste. A day sitting on the sofa watching TV, a weekend cleaning the flat and cooking dinners for work next week. Monday to Friday sitting at a desk, following the same routine during the same hours. Get up, go to work, eat lunch, work some more, go home, eat tea, get ready for the next day. Rinse and repeat until you have metaphorically gone all baggy from too many washes.Image

I’ve been following a blog for a few years now called 6 Months to Live, and its truly inspiring. Jacqueline also featured a writer this week called Kristin, about discovering a bear left by the family of a baby who died, and she has taken it on adventures ever since. (read the story here). Jacqueline has this phrase that I can’t shake from my mind, the thought of living life intentionally. Because how many of us do that? And how many of us just take it as it comes; if it does it does and if it doesn’t, there is always tomorrow?

It got me thinking. What would I do if I had six months to live? And more to the point what happened to the girl who stood in the garden the day of her 18th birthday dreaming of everything the great big world had to offer her? What stopped her from taking that checklist of dreams and stitching them into realities?

The answer is, fear. I had so many things I wanted to do, but in actual fact I’m a massive scardey cat. I didn’t move from my home town to London till I was 25, and now I wish I did it 5 years ago. The thought of stepping out of my comfort zone gives me the chills, yet there is so much that life has to offer and I suddenly have this renewed desire to seize it with both hands.Image

So my first accomplishment will be feeling scared and doing it anyway. Whats the worst that can happen?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not planning on jacking in my job and taking off like a barefoot princess around the world, but even small changes can make a significant impact to life. I love London, but I’ve barely scratched the surface. I want to get deep into the woodwork of what the city has to offer and push my limits. After all, happiness isn’t about the biggest paycheck or the best view out your bedroom window, it’s about things that money can’t buy. Joy, love, fulfillment.

Today is day one. I went for a run. Watch this space.

What inspires you?

Belle x

11 Responses to “Living Life Intentionally”

  1. The World Wanderer (@TheWrldWanderer) July 21, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

    So glad you are ready to seize it! Good luck and never let fear get in your way. 🙂

  2. prenin July 21, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

    Good Luck hun!!!

    I’m 53 and just starting to live life after too long surviving the bad!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  3. Anne July 21, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    To be human is to have many feelings. Fear is just one. Joy another. They are fluid and don’t last long, even when we’d like them to. I have found this comforting during difficult times and a wake-up call to treasure the positive ones. There is always something to be grateful for. Its all in how you choose to define your experience. When I get stuck in fear or overwhelm, which happens often for I choose growth and to live outside of my comfort zone, I have found this bit of advice helpful. Take one tiny step forward each day. In one year you will be 365 steps closer to your goal. When you make a promise to yourself and keep it, you make a deposit in your self-esteem bank. Now that is wealth! Support yourself… body, mind, and spirit in the process. It is all in perfect timing.

  4. Jacqueline July 21, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

    Such a wonderful post! Absolutely loved it! So glad to hear that “6 Months to Live” has been inspiring for you and can’t wait to see all your upcoming London adventures! By the way, did you see this post on the blog? These two might help! 😉 http://6monthstolive.me/how-do-you-break-through-fear/ and http://6monthstolive.me/rejection-therapy/

  5. Mariella (bridgekeeper) July 22, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    The important thing is that it is never too late to do stuff. From my experience, wishing to have done it sooner won’t really do any good. It comes to you in its own time, when you’re ready for it. You weren’t ready to move to London 5 years sooner? Well so you did it five years later. You did it, and that is what counts. Just as long as you keep asking yourself if what you are doing right now is all you can do.

    • Jacqueline July 22, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

      That’s a fantastic point, Mariella! I’ve been reading a great book lately that describes “judgement” as the ultimate restrictor in our lives. He encourages us to see life as a series of choices instead of mistakes, and that we can always choose again. So excited for you as you continue your London adventurers! 🙂

  6. Sandra Bell Kirchman July 22, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

    “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” ~ Lao-tzu, The Way of Lao-tzu. Chinese philosopher (604 BC – 531 BC)

    I have known that saying for a long time now, and sometimes it even propels me into adventure I otherwise wouldn’t have taken. Consequently, I was a pioneer in a few things, including being the first legal assistant in my city, the first female all-night DJ in my city, a pioneer in international speaking on ESP and guardian angels, and so on. The ’60s and ’70s were wonderful decades to be young in, and I totally enjoyed the hippie movement, the love children, the flamboyant clothing and hair styles (who can ever forget the beehive or the mohawk?), the “make peace, not war” attitudes.

    “Step by step carries one a long way.” That’s a piece of dialogue in one of my favorite author’s OZ books (can’t remember which one). I was totally a fan of L. Frank Baum (L stands for Lyman btw). So I knew of this one years before I knew the Lao-tzu quote. This one must have stuck in my mind. And I don’t regret sticking to either.

    In summary… you go, girl!!

  7. philosophermouseofthehedge July 22, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    “even small changes can make a significant impact to life.” Wise words. Life is only so long. Live bravely and with joy. That last poster is terrific.

  8. ksbeth July 24, 2013 at 2:15 am #

    love and compassion

  9. theredheadyouwontforget17 August 15, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

    Really enjoyed this article. People tend to forget that things like laughter and love are more important than anything money can buy 🙂

  10. jesshardiman November 15, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    You have really beautifully summarised the idea, and i found myself nodding along to every little point. I’m about to go for a run too after 7 days of putting it off!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

