Festival Frolics and an Aversion to Tents

17 Jul

There is something about the summer that makes me want to lie flat in the grass and snooze. I’m not averse to having a pint of fruity cider in my hand and a book in the other, nor do I mind watching sport when the sun is in the sky, as long as I am in the shade and have refreshing drinks to keep me going.

This doesn’t extend to festivals and camping. Since aged 8, when I first went camping with a friend and her crazy vegetarian family, I have hated tents. It was my first time camping and I tried to embrace the ponies and the cows and the countryside, but failed quite spectacularly. I was eaten alive by mosquitos, and the nail in the coffin was when I got up one night and walked straight into one of the wild cows that are rife in the area. I vowed to always sleep in a bed in future. Close to toilets.

1001666_10151464341761507_951955268_n

Fast forward 19 (shudder) years and I haven’t been a late bloomer thus far. The thought of sleeping in the ‘great’ outdoors is not so great, and the whole Portaloo debacle sets my teeth on edge. It’s a logistical nightmare for someone who goes to their cleaning happy place when they are stressed, and I would rather go to a place that I can only reach by plane.

So festivals are a bit of a conundrum. I don’t want to not go and risk missing out on any fun that my nearest and dearest may be having, but at the same time, festivals are not for me. I went to the Isle of Wight a few years ago (you can read about the experience here) and despite quite enjoying it, the rain totally put me off. I have abstained ever since, and as my little sister will tell you, I’m not really the festival sort.

So it’s slightly alarming that this year I have a hat trick of festivals to attend. This Friday I will be heading off to Love Box; a chilled day festival in London with work, and a few weeks later I am once again donning my tent and heading off to a festival in Newquay for a weekend of drinking, tanning and listening to music, with hopefully no rain clouds in sight.

Image

Last weekend I went to Wireless festival in London, and it turned out to be really sunny and really fun. The acts were chilled (John Legend, Trey Songz, Miguel) but when Justin Timberlake hit the stage the whole atmosphere changed. It didn’t pass completely without hiccup though – I had chosen to wear a strapless playsuit to make the most of the sunny weather (fear not, I was heavily layered in sun cream to minimise the risk of looking like someone had gone at Casper the Friendly Ghost with a blowtorch) and I had to admit, I was loving it. Ive never exactly been fashion forward so it’s taken me a few years to embrace the one piece, but now I’m there I feel like I could take on the world! Didn’t think about the bathroom issue until I suddenly realised I was desperate to pee, and it dawned on me that not only did I have to use a Portaloo (I MUCH prefer the American Portapotty, it sounds much cleaner!) which is gross at the best of times, I had to essentially get naked. No amount of going to my inner special place or hand sanitiser was going to make this better. The moral of this story is as a girl going to a festival, think about functionality. It needs to lift up, not come down ladies!

We had a fantastic day people watching, singing along and hanging out for my friend’s birthday, and I think my festival malheureuse might be on its way out. We shall see!

Whats your most memorable festival experience?

7 Responses to “Festival Frolics and an Aversion to Tents”

  1. twindaddy July 17, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    I don’t really care much for festivals, so I don’t have any…

  2. The Samantha Scriptures July 17, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    Hi Tinkerbell. I’m with you. My parents dragged my sister and I on camping trips for years and it wasn’t until I was in my 20’s that I realized I hated every second of it. I need the same comforts as you if I’m to enjoy being outdoors for more than 10 mins. Admittedly, the american portapotty has undergone some radical advancements in recent years..but with past experiences they still frighten the crap out of me.

  3. Holly July 17, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

    I feel you on the festivals. My brother is in a band and has played festivals for the past 10+ years. I’ve been to almost all of them but the thought of sleeping in a tent, being sticky/sweaty/smelly, not showering, not having a bathroom, etc just makes me cringe. I’ve learned some good tricks and invested in a really good tent fan, air mattress, and solar shower (those are awesome). It makes it slightly more bearable.

    • tinkerbelle86 July 21, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      In that case, points for being such a good sister!

  4. 1stpeaksteve July 18, 2013 at 12:34 am #

    Sometimes adventure goes hand in hand with bathing in a freezing mountain stream and stinking to high heaven.

    It sucks at the time but sounds better in a story at a bar or party ten years later!

  5. prenin July 18, 2013 at 6:10 am #

    No festivals for me hun, but I did go with the guys to an Aerosmith concert at the NEC and BOY was it fun!!! 🙂

    You should have seen the reception we got when we returned – wall to wall Police WITH DOGS!!! 🙂

    I’ll never go again, but it was worth it for the memories!!! 🙂

    Dad used to take us camping and it was pretty good, but then we had showers, decent toilets and a site shop! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  6. lcooksmarketer1 July 20, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    Hmmm. . .my fave was Dallas’ Bastille fest. Turned a corner of Texas into a mini France complete with music, food and, of course, wine. Loved it! Felt more “French” than my Paris visit four years ago. LOL.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

