Why #TequilaTuesday Isn’t Catching On

3 Jun

I work for a media company, and for this reason, it seems to be socially acceptable to drink on any day of the week with ‘day’ in it. Wednesdays are packed full of media lunches, Thursdays are the new Fridays and Fridays are, well, the old Friday. Any occasion where a beer trolley can get wheeled out, the colleagues are all over mass alcohol consumption, and the hangovers rage for days after as people learn to work with the shakes.

Birthday champagne? All over it. Friday afternoon beer trolley? Oh go on then. Tequila Tuesday? Waitaminute…

2

A few months ago, after a terrible previous week and a pretty bad start to that one, a colleague and I decided to go to the bar below the office once Tuesday’s working day was officially over, and have a glass of wine. We should have realised when I walked up to the bar and accidently ordered a bottle that the night wasn’t going to end how we had previously expected. The line had been drawn, and we were officially ‘out for the evening’.

I’m normally quite sensible. The idea of a hangover for the rest of the week is anything to turn me teetotal – I don’t want to sit in pointless meetings feeling terrible and getting beer fear from flashbacks of the night before. But something about that week had sent me over the edge and the self destruct, devil may care button had been firmly pushed.

We finished the bottle of wine and head off to our favourite bar for a game of cocktail roulette. The rules are simple; you work down the menu but can’t go for the same one twice. The results are interesting.

We sunk 5 rounds of the game until someone had the wise (not so wise) idea that we would go for a dance, so, at 11pm on a TUESDAY we found ourselves in a live music club, dancing on an empty dancefloor to all our favourite crown pleasers. By this time, tequila consumption was at an all time high and we were loving life, not even thinking about the 9am meeting we had in the morning. There were cheers of “#TequilaTuesday!!” from my friends, and they were coming thick and fast. It didn’t bode well for the rest of the week, but we drowned out that little voice in our heads and carried on regardless.  Some serious shapers were thrown until I looked up and stumbled upon an awful realisation.

3

I had been on dates with the lead singer of the covers band – who was now standing on the stage, ploughing through their set list and clearly resisting the urge to crease up laughing. We had rocked some serious Dad dancing in the ten minutes since he had clocked us, including the running man, some robot moves and my best Mexican wave. Awkward.

 I had been out with him a few times at the end of last year, but Christmas and my trip back to the States had got in the way and I hadn’t seen him in a few months. The embarrassment was still raw. It was one of those ‘dear God why am I still here?” moments, where I would have rather been sitting in a room with a bunch of accountants sticking needles in my eyes than there.

More tequila was consumed.

The moral of this story is, #TequilaTuesday CANNOT BE A THING. It doesn’t do good things to ones week.

6 Responses to “Why #TequilaTuesday Isn’t Catching On”

  1. 1stpeaksteve June 3, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

    I used to work for a spin off of Anhauser Busch and people thought my job was absurd. I only took tiny samples to ensure the beer was fresh. They also gave us 2 free cases of beer a month as well which I used as an underground form of currency. As for consuming beer on the job, I did have to talk to people through out my day so an intoxicated representative would probably not work out very well.

    With that, I am baffled about your job because it sounds like debauchery is occurring on the clock!

    And watch out for those singers of cover bands! They are right up there with surfers and other professional athletes. A woman for every dive bar, wedding, and 3rd rate hotel lounge.

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge June 3, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

    Could Tequila Tuesday be the cause of Wednesday’s child being full of woe? (Sorry couldn’t help it)
    Chuckling quietly over this post – it would be rude and thoughtless to roll on the floor laughing hysterically…so I will deny that….

  3. prenin June 3, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    Thank God I swore off booze!!! 🙂

    Hope the hangover wasn’t too bad!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs sweety! 🙂

    Prenin.

  4. twindaddy June 3, 2013 at 11:38 pm #

    Sounds like a good time to me. What’s the problem?

  5. Redneckprincess June 4, 2013 at 4:21 am #

    Thank god its been nearly twenty years since I was in my twenties 🙂

  6. idiotprufs June 17, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    Tequila itself shouldn’t be a thing.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

