What Comes Around Goes Around

3 Feb

Call me a hippie, but I believe in karma. Like the song by Culture Club, Karma Chameleon ( which as a child I used to think was “come here come here come here chameleon”) it comes and goes. I don’t think that there is some higher being that decides whether you are on the good or bad route though, but I honestly think that it’s a self fulfilling prophecy. Screw with someone else, and you subconsciously worry yourself into thinking that you have something bad coming to you, and as a result, something goes wrong.

So in that respect, surely good karma comes to you if you act respectfully, treat people as you would like to be treated, and pay it forward. A close friend told me recently about her high school teacher, who always paid for himself and the car behind him at a toll road, in the hope that one day someone would do it for him. The chances are in the society we live in today it will never happen, but from positivity breeds hope, and I’m sure that his life is that tiny bit more fulfilled because of his generosity.

I don’t think I pay it forward often enough. When I had a car I would sometimes hand the ticket to someone on my way out if there was money left on it, but I think in the great scheme of things, that’s not what paying it forward means.

But I think that the idea of doing something selfless means entirely that. You can’t do something in the hope that someone will do something back for you, because then the action loses its meaning and becomes a means to an end, right?

How are you paying it forward?

7 Responses to “What Comes Around Goes Around”

  1. 1smiles February 3, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    I’ve always love the movie “Pay It Forward.” It has such a powerful message. Thanks for reminding me of it today.

  2. misswhiplash February 3, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

    If we treat others how we ourselves would like to be trated then, all will be well.
    What a very generous man that was to pay for the car behind..I have never met anyone like that

  3. prenin February 3, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

    I do this all the time! 🙂

    I have also been helped when in need and truly appreciated this kindness! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. susielindau February 4, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

    I don’t think that Karma cares whether you worry or not. It is out there to bite us in the butt if we hurt others.
    Paying it forward is such a great way to live! I think that surrounding yourself with positive energy is the only way to live.
    Good to “see” you again!

  5. Tori Nelson February 4, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    I mostly just live by the mantra “Be nice”. It’s harder to follow through with that in traffic jams or crowded shopping lanes, but it keeps me feeling less guilty than being mean 🙂

  6. Go Jules Go February 4, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    Good point – I often wonder if anything I do is ever truly selfless. I’m thinking not. I mean, every time you give a compliment, even, isn’t there part of you thinking, “I want this person to like me”? Which is, in the end, a selfish desire.

    BTW I love your blog! 😉

  7. Marvin the Martian February 5, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Actions speak louder than words. For the recipient, the motivation for your actions means nothing. Your motivation has meaning only to you. So I don’t think it matters why you do something, as long as you do it. BUT… if you do it without expectations of any reward, that frees you. If you do something expecting to get something back for it, usually you’ll be disappointed.So if you give, you must give freely, without expectation of any compensation.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

