It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas – Winter Warmers

23 Oct

As much as I hate to admit it, it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas. The nights are drawing in and the weather is starting to chill, and the fireworks going off in the distance most nights herald Bonfire Night on its way – my favourite holiday of the year. The mince pies in Marks and Spencer at the start of September was a bit much if I’m honest, but I love the fact that the air is starting to smell like gunpowder and it feels crisp when you step outside. The chestnut man has arrived in Covent Garden and now when I step out of the office the familiar Christmassy smell greets me, and gives me the warm and fuzzies. We are on the countdown, people, and I for one am super excited to see the gleeful little faces of my god-daughters when they open the presents that I have already started buying, and get their letters from Father Christmas.

It does mean that the flip-flops have seen my toes for their last time this year, and are lovingly placed in my wardrobe, not to be seen again till the sleepy sun rises in spring. I’m getting my money’s worth from my new leather boots, and my winter coat has been dusted down and is being carted all over the place when I think it’s cold out, and then decide after walking a bit that I’m actually melting. My Canadian friend informed me that he couldn’t cope with Britain as its ‘all about the layers’ and he was finding it hard to grasp, and you know what, it’s true.

But there are some AWESOME layers for me to get my grubby little paws on! I love the fact that England is no longer the chubby kid that’s picked last for the football team, and now the quintessential look is aspirational. Quilted jackets, wax, tweeds and Wellington boots are all the rage, and although I detest mud and getting wet, my wardrobe makes me look like I would be at home on the back of a tractor, complete with sausage dog and locally sourced produce. I am Queen of the Country, hear me roar (above the churning noise of the tractor and the mooing of the cows).

Given the fact that it’s the giving time of the year, I have some exciting competitions coming up between now and Christmas and I’m pleased to announce the first one, with Joules! By entering below, you have the chance to win your choice of jacket from the range. You can choose between the quilted and tweed options on the site, for men, women or your little ones.

I wanted to use Rafflecopter to run this, but WordPress limitations mean that I can’t, so to enter all you have to do is leave a comment below with your email address, and what you love from the Joules site. If you want an additional enter, then please tweet me “I just entered the Joules competition! @Lillyheart999″ and I’ll throw you into the mix again :).

My favourites are included in the image above, but I love the Women’s Quilted Jackets and the Men’s Quilted Jackets would make a perfect present. They look so snuggly and warm!

Joules do these awesome jackets for men, women and children, and you can enter wherever you are in the world, so whether you want a great Christmas present for someone on your list or a bonus gift-to-self, then please go ahead and enter! Its running for 2 weeks, and the winner will be notified by email on the 11th of November. Good luck! (pick here).

40 Responses to “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas – Winter Warmers”

  1. Rosie October 23, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    I’ve just found your blog (now following you on Bloglovin!), you write beautifully and have really got me in the mood for my favourite season! Secretly jealous that I don’t live/work somewhere with Christmassy smells to greet me when I leave work but will be heading to the Christmas Market in Bournemouth to soak it all up soon enough!

    I absolutely adore Joules and their clothes are perfect for layering when it gets colder! I adore the Moredale jackets, especially the green colour which is so unique! Their gilets are gorgeous too. What a great competition! Off to read back through your blog now! xo

    Rosie | A Rosie Outlook

    • tinkerbelle86 November 1, 2012 at 11:16 am #

      the Moredale jackets are my favourite too, I love the pink and the bottle green ones!

  2. rosierosie October 23, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

    Not sure if that last comment posted, it logged me into WordPress but I don’t use WordPress anymore so I’ve put my proper link below. xo

  3. prenin October 23, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

    Sounds like the dreaded season is getting closer! 🙂

    We’ve had a few fireworks going off here, but so far nobody has tossed anything into the block, but I can’t help but shiver in anticipation as I wait for the first dickhead of the season… 😦

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. Lou October 23, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    I have just looked at the Joules website and all their stuff is beautiful!!! But I love http://www.joules.com/Girls/Jackets-Coats/Jnr-Mabel/Girls-Quilted-Jacket/Green?id=N_JNRMABEL%7CGREEN for my little one and http://www.joules.com/Girls/Jackets-Coats/Jnr-Astbury/Girls-Tweed-Coat/Brown for my older one!!!

    Xxx

  5. cooper October 24, 2012 at 3:05 am #

    NO NO NO NO!!!! PLEASE NO!!!!!

  6. A's Fashion Files October 24, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    OMG their jackets are STUNNING! I would love to win the DUCHESS coat here: http://www.joules.com/Women/New-In/Duchess/Womens-Semi-Fitted-Tweed-Coat%2C-Floral-Lining/Sand;jsessionid=BEBE44FCB0D4E2A58D211BDC5D4159A4
    email: afashionfiles@gmail.com

    🙂
    Allison
    A’s Fashion Files
    Shop Kawaii Kitsch by A on Etsy!

  7. A's Fashion Files October 24, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    Sent a tweet for a 2nd entry! You can find my tweet here: (https://twitter.com/bfali/status/261144168330588160)
    Again, would love to win the DUCHESS coat here: http://www.joules.com/Women/New-In/Duchess/Womens-Semi-Fitted-Tweed-Coat%2C-Floral-Lining/Sand;jsessionid=BEBE44FCB0D4E2A58D211BDC5D4159A4
    email: afashionfiles@gmail.com
    🙂
    Allison
    A’s Fashion Files
    Shop Kawaii Kitsch by A on Etsy!

  8. chiara ciofolo October 24, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    hi!i’m hegles
    hegles@inwind.it
    i love
    http://www.joules.com/Outlet/Women/Georgina/Womens-Dress/Navy

  9. chiara ciofolo October 24, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    i have twitted here

    hegles@inwind.it

  10. Annalise Grech October 24, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    My favourite items from the Joules site are the following – http://www.joules.com/Women/New-In/Hartfield/Womens-Tweed-Coats/Navy and http://www.joules.com/Women/Handbags-Purses/Stopover/Womens-Carry-Bag/Blue-Posy-Floral I need them in my life 🙂

    Email: gabanndan@hotmail.com
    I have also tweeted you!

    Fingers crossed 🙂

  11. Erika A. October 24, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    http://www.joules.com/Women/New-In/Hartfield/Womens-Tweed-Coats/Navy
    sidney_3[at]hotmail.it

  12. Hope October 24, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    i love the Womens Semi Fitted Tweed Coat, Floral Lining, Sand
    DUCHESS coat. hdnorman2002@yahoo.com

    • tinkerbelle86 November 1, 2012 at 11:17 am #

      Tweed is awesome, makes me feel like im a country farmer

  13. Chelsey October 24, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    I love the Wickmere Women’s Patterned Woven Tunic in Purple. Such a great Fall color.

    cheltrl@gmail.com

  14. Elsa Gervasi October 24, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    I like it!

    Name: Elsa Gervasi
    Email: elsagervasi@gmail.com
    I share it on Twitter too: https://twitter.com/ElsaGervasi/status/261195323475652610
    This is my favourite item: http://www.joules.com/Women/New-In/Stowford/Womens-Classic-Country-Tweed-Coat/Navy

  15. Caroline Susanto October 25, 2012 at 2:05 am #

    Great post 🙂 My country mostly moslem, so I never enjoy the christmas atmosphere (unless when I went abroad lol).

    Here is my fave piece : http://www.joules.com/Women/New-In/Fairhurst/Womens-Lightweight-Three-Quarter-Length-Quilted-Jacket/Brown;jsessionid=811C5E50FEF609996B395638E51441B7

    Thanks for inviting me to join your giveaway ^^

  16. missoline2012 October 25, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    Great post My country mostly moslem, so I never enjoy the christmas atmosphere (unless when I went abroad lol).

    Here is my fave piece : http://www.joules.com/Women/New-In/Fairhurst/Womens-Lightweight-Three-Quarter-Length-Quilted-Jacket/Brown;jsessionid=811C5E50FEF609996B395638E51441B7

    Thanks for inviting me to join your giveaway ^^

  17. Samaher October 25, 2012 at 5:22 am #

    thanks for sending me an email about this! i’d love to join this competition ❤
    the one that i love from joules is : http://www.joules.com/Women/Jackets-Coats/Moredale/Womens-Light-Weight-Quilted-Jacket/Brown?id=N_MOREDALE|BROWN
    and i've tweet this competition here : https://twitter.com/la_lunne/status/261335969712730112
    and here is my email : saoirseparilla@gmail.com
    thank you! 🙂

  18. elenarudaya October 25, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    I love the Womens Dry Cotton Wax Coat Semi Fitted, Navy

    Elena Rudaya
    queen-of-pain_at_yandex_dot_com

  19. elenarudaya October 25, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    I love this coat http://www.joules.com/Women/New-In/Milbury/Womens-Dry-Cotton-Wax-Coat-Semi-Fitted/Navy

    Elena Rudaya
    queen-of-pain_at_yandex_dot_com

  20. Sam October 25, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    I am green with envy that you stay in a cold climate, with roasted chesnuts and winter coats! Summer time here so christmas becomes a bit of a weird parody.

    Though, I must be honest, riding the ponies nonstop means when it is winter I freeze! We have a useless selection of actual jackets. Joules was in SA for awhile but the shop only bought in the golf shirts… hugely frustrated.

    I absolutely love their Rampant Sporting Women Quilted Jacket – I’d look so stylish in the winter – very mink & manure like. Haha.

    • tinkerbelle86 November 1, 2012 at 11:18 am #

      the range is perfect for you Sam! Did you see all the Mary King stuff? Very equestrian

      • Sam November 5, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

        I know! Love it love it love it!!!

        Thank God for online shopping.

  21. antonella togato October 26, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    name antonella togato
    i like this http://www.joules.com/Women/Jackets-Coats/Toggle/Womens-Melton-Wool-Duffle-Coat/Navy?id=N_TOGGLE|NAVY&secureUrlForCurrentSite=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.joulesusa.com&productId=N_TOGGLE%7CNAVY&sessionCamEnabled=true&controllerClass=ProductPageController
    giglio-82@hotmail.it

    • antonella togato October 26, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

      Rollover to Zoom

      Womens Melton Wool Duffle Coat, Navy

      TOGGLE

  22. antonella togato October 26, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    tweeted https://twitter.com/mantide82/status/261827747536568320
    giglio-82@hotmail.it

  23. nushechka October 28, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    i like Womens Patterned Woven Tunic, Purple

  24. nushechka October 28, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    tweet-https://twitter.com/AnnaKulu1/status/262516472599953409

  25. nushechka October 28, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    i like Special Occasion Dress, Stripe

  26. Sarah Stocks October 29, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    Loving the blog! And loving the idea of Joules pressies 🙂

    I’ve been eyeing this gilet up for ages http://www.joules.com/Women/Gilets/Rochelle/Womens-Feather-And-Goose-Down-Reversible-Gilet/Pink

    But it’s in the sale so I was also eyeing this one up if that one went before I got around to buying it!

    http://www.joules.com/Women/Gilets/Alana/Womens-Feather-And-Goose-Down-Gilet,-Detachable-Hood/Brown?id=N_ALANA|BROWN

    xx

  27. Nataya A October 29, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Thanks for letting me know by email. Their items are just beautiful and classy. I am torn among some a lot of choices. I just finally choose this:

    http://www.joules.com/Women/Jackets-Coats/Fieldcoat/Womens-Semi-Fitted-Tweed-Coat/Navy?id=N_FIELDCOAT|NAVY#

    natyponders.info@gmail.com
    tweet @chachamisu

  28. Emma Miles October 31, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    I ❤ this one http://www.joules.com/Women/Jackets-Coats/Toggle/Womens-Melton-Wool-Duffle-Coat/Red and could really do with a treat. Plus I'd feel like little red riding hood every day! Gonna tweet too!

    • tinkerbelle86 November 1, 2012 at 11:18 am #

      I have just invested in a navy duffle coat, it makes me feel really christmassy!!

  29. sarahsscribble November 1, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    WOW WEEEEEEEE! I pretty much want everything from Joules but there is something so special about Tweed around Winter time – it’s just oh so British.. I almost want to go for a long field walk, wellies to the nearest country pub and consume a little too much mulled wine… *sigh* and SO I would most pick this lovely from Joules website http://www.joules.com/Women/Jackets-Coats/Woodhaven/Womens-Riding-Style-Tweed-Jacket/Sand

    It is all kinds of lush and really I just want to walk around like I own a stately home and steed… oh thats the life!

    Fab blog!

    Scribbs

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

