A Season, A Reason, A Lifetime

17 Oct

Clichés and turns of phrases are things that are abundant in life. Ever heard your grandmother tell you “there are plenty more fish in the sea”? Or someone say “in for a penny, in for a pound?” “You have to kiss a few frogs to find your Prince, dear…”

Lets face it, they are everywhere, and sometimes they serve to give us solace, while other terms they just damn well piss us off, don’t they?

But there is one that I have learnt rings true as I get older, and my mind always goes back to, regardless of the situation.

And its true. I think back to all the friends I have had, memories I have forged and friends that have disappeared into the ether, and I can now, with a clear head, apply this to the majority of them.

The friend I have who has lived miles and miles away, and now lives within walking distance, and who I don’t see from month to month, yet I know that when I need her, I can count on her. A isn’t just a friend to me, she’s a bonus sister, one that I chose rather than was born with. We have laughed together, cried together, and experienced some of my favourite memories, and she’s held my hand when I’ve needed her, however far away. When we were angsty teenagers experiencing boy troubles we used to talk about the book. We used to say that we didn’t mind what happened, as long as we could flick to the end of the book and make sure there was a happily ever after. It sounds silly now, but even still, after a particularly messy ending with a boy or a date that never calls, we sometimes talk about the book. A. She’s my lifetime.

The boy who I met, who I spent the winter joined at the hip to, and who encouraged me to leave Guildford and try my luck in London. Who encouraged me when I was scared at being the new one in a big place, and who listened to me jabbering on the train all the way home with excitement. The one who dutifully helped me clean out our rented house on new years day and move all my stuff, with a smile on his face. We still keep in contact, but I think he was there to encourage me when I needed it.  A2 – the reason.

S – the good time girl. The summer I turned 21 we painted the town a rainbow of colours from red to gold, with backcombed hair and heels that made me look like a warrior. We partied until the sun came up, and we were a forced to be reckoned with. You couldn’t get a piece of paper between us, we lived, worked and slept within breathing distance. And then it fizzled out. S- the season.

And then there are people who buck the trend. Like the two Canadian boys who were definitely a reason. I went on an exchange when I was 16 and met them, and haven’t seen either since. A reason, you say? One just moved to the UK to study so we are meeting for lunch at the weekend, and it made me get back in contact with the other, and we are having virtual coffee and skyping next week. So maybe, a lifetime?

But the one person who is always guaranteed is my little sister. She is a lifetime in this lifetime, the past, and the next. I believe I’ve seen her before, and will continue to have her near me regardless of what path my life takes me on. She is my constant, my darling, and I am the luckiest girl in the world to have a little sister like her.

Do you have reasons, seasons and lifetimes?

14 Responses to “A Season, A Reason, A Lifetime”

  1. teeceecounsel October 17, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    That’s just the way life is. Some seasons are tough and some reasons are weired, but we meet people anyway. They play their roles and some stick with us forever, while some just pass away into memory. I have experienced that too. Sometimes, though, I decide their fate. Probably like removing myself from their options. This post is just on point! 🙂

  2. Richard Wiseman October 17, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    ‘A Season, a reason & a lifetime’ For me there is just one for all three and I married her; she is every season for me, she is the reason I looked for in life and I have loved her for a lifetime, as before I met her I loved the idea of her and my love for her just grows as life goes on. I hope my son and daughter have the same close relationship that you and your sister have when they get older. A lovely heart warming post from you to drive away the Atumn rain and cold.

    • tinkerbelle86 October 17, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

      That’s lovely 🙂 I hope my season, reason and lifetime turns up soon. I think google maps sent him the wrong way!

      • Richard Wiseman October 17, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

        I was sipping cocoa when I read your reply and you made me laugh. I just sprayed hot chocolate over the sofa ‘throw’. Fortunately I’m the last one awake so no-one saw. {;~)

        • tinkerbelle86 October 17, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

          Haha, just flip it over and back away slowly. Neeeeever happened 🙂

  3. Victoria-writes October 18, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    I definitely think the quote is right – sometimes I wish you knew if someone was going to be a reason / season / lifetime at the start so you would appreciate it for what it is and not get hurt but usually when you look back, you know the outcome was the right one!

  4. prenin October 18, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    At the moment I have few friends, most having betrayed me repeatedly, but those I have gained on the web are keepers! 🙂

    I hope I can call you a friend tinks. You are one in a million! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  5. ikramilluminati October 18, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    “Reason, Season and Lifetime” such a nice thought. Just need to hold on to those lifetimers….

  6. Redneckprincess October 18, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    Great post Laura….I so agree with this post on every level. Looking back on my relationships it is surprising to me,that the ones I thought were forever ended up not so much 🙂 I definitely have sisters I have chosen that are there for me no matter what. Cheers doll 🙂

  7. Danielle October 18, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    Aww thanks! xx

  8. cooper October 19, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    Yes! your post describes it perfectly.

  9. Katie October 21, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    I feel the same way about my little sister. There’s just something about ’em.

  10. Sam October 25, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    Oh how I miss you 😦 Catch up emails soon!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

