“I’m Contemplating, Dreaming About Dreaming….”

12 Oct

It’s a well known fact that (among a whole list of others) I have two failings.

1)      Itchy feet and wanderlust

2)      Impulsiveness

The former makes me sit at my desk and wonder about where in the world I could be while the rain patters against the windows and the sky goes through its routine of greys and purples, like a weather bruise. I dream of beaches and adventures; travel and discovery, and make a mental list of all the things I could do and the places I could go, but when it comes to it, invisible chains keep me shackled in one place;  my own personal set of little people from Lilliput, gathered round my feet.

The latter makes the former a worry, if I’m honest. I have nothing that ties me to the UK apart from bills to pay and friends to see, and for that reason the people who are close to me wouldn’t be surprised if I took a job as a surf board cleaner in South Africa or a waitress in the Amazon, without properly thinking it through. When my sister went to America for a few months, her parting words were “Don’t get married while I’m away” I didn’t have a boyfriend. But it’s not totally unfathomable.

I’m the type of person that acts before I think, which can get me in some sticky situations (specifically the time of my life when I thought living by the mantra of Yes Man was a good idea), but on the other hand it has provided me with a set of experiences second to none, that when I’m an old lady, sitting in my chair and watching the rain on the window, I will remember fondly. Better to have loved and lost than never loved at all and all that.

So it’s no surprise that I get dreamy and whimsical when emails from travel providers pop into my inbox, tempting my mind away from the day to day drudgery and inviting me to explore a world that is alien to me.

And today is no exception. There is something about Fridays that makes it even harder to focus on the task at hand, a longing for the lie in tomorrow and the fact that staying in your pjs for the whole day is within reach (if you indeed wanted to. Ahem). So when I got an email detailing the weirdest hotels in the world, I was mesmerised. And here are my top three, especially for you.

1)      Hotel Costa Verde, Costa Rica.

Come on……. you stay in an ACTUAL PLANE!! You shower IN THE COCKPIT!! OK, so the first thing that springs to mind is that it could be misconstrued as a little Lord of the Flies, but my inner geek just came out, did a Dad dance and grinned with glee. How awesome is that!!

2)      Propeller Island Lodge, Berlin

The best place to stay after a heavy night out as it could cause alcohol related psychosis, but this hotel has all the rooms upside-down. so it feels like you are sleeping on the ceiling. Uuuuuuhhhhhhhsome!

3)      The House in the Clouds, Suffolk

An old converted water tower, my fear of heights tells me that you probably shouldn’t look down when you’re up there, but at 70ft in the air, the views would be amazing!!

Have you seen any amazing places like this on your travels?

5 Responses to ““I’m Contemplating, Dreaming About Dreaming….””

  1. artzent October 12, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    I haven’t got a joke for you but I have a smile for this post and remember if you are not impulsive sometimes nothing get done!

  2. misswhiplash October 13, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    what strange hotels…what about the Ice Hotel? I too am impulsive and open my mouth without thinking of the consequences and I often get into trouble. But taking life by the horns and giving it a good shake is exciting and good for you…so carry on being impulsive..do what your heart wants to do…there is plenty of time in old age to sit and reminise..go for it gal whilst you have the chance. It is better to say’ maybe I should not have done that’ than to be six foot under and be wishing that you had
    It is b

  3. prenin October 13, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    Never been anywhere exciting, apart from a couple of school trips, but if I ever get the money I’m going to take a break aboard a cruise ship! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. tanja October 14, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    hey, good article;) I too have the same problems, but sometimes impulsiveness can get you in real trouble, not just create nice memories. I saw the hotel in Suffolk, looks really great, I was wondering who was staying there while we passed by;) maybe next time, I’ll stay there;))

  5. Richard Wiseman October 17, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Those are pretty strange places to stay. The plane one looks really odd.I always wanted to stay in one of those Ice hotels they have in Scandinavia, but my wife hates the cold.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

