Invention is the Talent of Youth

6 Oct

Invention is the talent of youth, as judgment is of age.
Jonathan Swift

Inventions. Without them, we would all be sitting in caves, dressed in animal skins, looking confused.

Alright, when some of the things we take for granted were slightly ridiculous upon inception, but they have genuinely changed our lives. When Alexander Fleming discovered penicillin, no one thought that mould would catch on and become a life saving medicine used across the world. Likewise, when the Wright brothers came up with the idea for the bi-plane, I imagine that eyes rolled and people quoted the story of Icarus, and how he flew too close to the sun with his wax wings, fell to the sea and died. The story is supposed to tell of failed ambition, and act as a warning to the masses, as most Greek myths and fables are designed to do.

But those people who had the forward thinking and the vision create a world that we never would experience otherwise, a world where we can cure illness and live in comfort without having to worry about simple things that we take for granted.

If I could invent one thing, I would invent a machine that woke me up in the morning. No, not like an alarm clock, but more like a Wallace and Gromit style invention. It would gently rouse me from slumber (I’m like a bear with a sore head if you try to wake me in the morning, unless you are particularly special), handing me a nice cup of tea. It would choose my outfit and make sure that my clothes were on the right way (it happens more regularly than you can imagine, for a twenty something) and carefully do my makeup, brush my hair and make sure that I have everything for the day, before sending me off on my way. And both shoes would be two halves of the same pair.

What would you invent?

 

7 Responses to “Invention is the Talent of Youth”

  1. prenin October 6, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    How about a program for Microsoft that doesn’t need fixing every month to repair the bugs and vulnerabilities they put in the last time around…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. misswhiplash October 6, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    I don’t know what I would like to invent but I enjoyed reading about yours and I agree with Prenin above

  3. Sharvil October 7, 2012 at 3:49 am #

    um I would invent the time machine, if that’s possible :L
    or a never-ageing machine 😀

  4. Richard Wiseman October 7, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    I’d invent a can opener that didn’t deteriorate with time; how many can openers have we bought in 13 years of marriage?

  5. twindaddy October 8, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    I’d invent an ATM that never runs out of money…and is in my house…

  6. SprinklinThoughts October 9, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    a real ‘red pill’

  7. visitingmissouri October 9, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    I’d invent a voting machine that only works when people can do an entire crossword puzzle right.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

