Enough With The Oversharing

28 Sep

The world has gone crazy. Once upon a time (my mum’s era) people went to school together. They made friends, or they didn’t. Then when they left school, they either stayed friends, or they didn’t. No biggie.

I remember a teacher telling me once that statistics showed that by the time you turned 30, you would be friends with three people you went to senior school with. In a class year of over 300, that seemed like a fairly small number to me. Ah well, I thought, she’s old. What does she know?

Fast forward twelve (shudder) years from that conversation, and you’d imagine it to be true, right? People move away, people change, friendships ebb and flow with time.

Not so much. and who do we have to thank? Facebook. Mark Zuckerberg, you have a lot to answer for.

In real life, we might bump into an old school friend in the supermarket when visiting the homeland, have an awkward conversation along the lines of “Hi… how are you… im good too, nice to see you” and wander back home pondering on how totally awkward that was, how you had nothing to say to them and how you hope that it never happens again. If you’re feeling particularly extreme, you might pretend to not have noticed them and make a swift exit to prevent that painfully awkward conversation in the first place.

You certainly wouldn’t ask them how they were feeling about the recent demise of their last relationship, or enquire as to what they had for lunch. And if you did, they wouldn’t be wrong in telling you, in the politest terms, to do one.

You wouldn’t go to a work colleagues house on the weekend, knock on the door and ask them what their cat has been up to today, or how their Auntie in New Zealand was doing, without so much as a “Hi, how are you?”

No? Everyone still with me???

SO DON’T *!*?@*ING DO IT ON FACEBOOK THEN!!!

It has so much to answer for. You get friend requests from people you barely spoke to, and feel obliged to accept (I don’t want them thinking im rude!!). That’s OK, as long as they share whats sharable, and keep private the things that you shouldn’t impart to the rest of the world. The odd update about Big Brother or their child is fine, and you and those people reside in relative harmony for life.

And then there’s the ones who split up with a partner, declare it to all, then follow-up with a series of posts about how their ex has moved on and they want to die, then imply that they are ACTUALLY going to top themselves, and then carry on moaning.

Some sort of rule of thumb should be adopted. If you wouldn’t march into work, announce that you are sooooooo drunk and then call your ex a whore, then don’t do it on Facebook.

Come on people. Have some dignity.

16 Responses to “Enough With The Oversharing”

  1. Sharvil September 28, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    I had stopped commenting on blogs and reading posts long ago, but I must admit I haven’t read a post as awesome as this. screw-over-sharing. xD

    *Looky! Here I see an Attention Whore* 😀

    • tinkerbelle86 September 28, 2012 at 10:50 am #

      Im glad I could bring you out of hiding 🙂

  2. Don't Quote Lily September 28, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Amen! You should share this on facebook… 😉

  3. misswhiplash September 28, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    oh how I agree with you..it is depressing watching arguements evolve on FB. Those who wish to retain their sanity should steer clear of FB altogether

  4. prenin September 28, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    I only joined Faeces book because my friends begged me to only to find they wanted me to help them with a game or three! 😦

    I don’t use it any more because none of my friends talk to me any more or reply to my comments.

    At least on WordPress people can choose to follow what I write without worrying about replying unless they want to! 🙂

  5. Katie September 28, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    Enough with the DRAMA already! Facebook has definitely given all of the drama queens (and kings) in the world a place to do their thing!

  6. becomingcliche September 28, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    So you’re saying that I should NOT go into work and question the parentage of my ex in the break room? Hmm. Interesting. But I can plaster everyone’s cubicle with pictures of my cat’s trip to the Bahamas, right?

    • tinkerbelle86 September 28, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      TOTALLY. Especially if he is rocking a mexican hat and a handlebar moustache.

  7. susielindau September 28, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    Most of my friends just use it for bragging, in fact I don’t ever remember anyone using FB as a outlet for rage! Guess I am just lucky!

  8. Barneysday September 28, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Exactly the reason I left FB a few years back. Too intrusive, too much information. Thanks for the post saying what many feel.

  9. Go Jules Go September 28, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    AMEN! I use Facebook pretty sparingly, and almost NEVER post status updates, but so many people overshare. And then they expect you to know everything about their lives when you DO see/talk to them, because, well, for gosh sake’s, it’s on Facebook! Grrrr…

  10. Juliette September 28, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    yay! I haven’t used Fakebook for only two years’ (but have a facebook page that I never use!) and I just hate facebook. No-one posted on my statuses, no-one tagged me in photos. I was a loser.

    Whenever I see people in town now I just ignore them. Not worth my time.

  11. Redneckprincess September 29, 2012 at 2:13 am #

    Totally agreed…sorry about last comment. My phone is possessed. I am gonna like this on Facebook!!!

  12. Sandra Bell Kirchman September 29, 2012 at 4:37 am #

    My husband despises FB, I simply am not that fond of it. However, Jules made a comment that expresses most of why I dislike FB…people think I should know all about them because they posted on FB. In any given week, I spend maybe 10 minutes in FB, and most of that is putting up my own posts promoting my articles and other writings…or alerting people to articles/posts that I have enjoyed.

    Not only do these oversharers think I should read FB faithfully, they are annoyed when I DON’T know about their overshared lives! Honestly!!

  13. Ann September 29, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    I am so with you! All the stupid stuff they posts on Facebook! If I had any of them near me, I would have definitely slapped them then. I get so irritated reading them. They post every single thing in their life! Seriously, HAVE SOME DIGNITY!

  14. Chris Sheridan October 1, 2012 at 5:03 am #

    Brilliant!!!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

