It’s Just…. A Little Crush

9 Jul

Boys have crushes on girls (well a lot of boys anyway). We can be as confident on this as the sun coming up in the morning and setting in the evening, as sure as we are that cake tastes better that celery and that if it’s going to rain, I will get caught in it. They tend to be super stereotypical, your Rihannas and Kim Kardashians; the ones whose skirt hem sits higher than their ankles and aren’t adverse to the slight boob flash. You know the ones I mean. Before any hard done by men start piping up, I’m totally generalising, and this isn’t the point anyway.

Surely that’s how we should all live….

The girl crush is a far stronger phenomenon, and this is what I want to talk about. It takes a different form to your standard crush, and is far more intense. Sure, I love Ryan Reynolds and often spend hours minutes on end twiddling my hair and conceiving intricate plans on how to engineer a wedding meeting, but the girl crush is far more developed. And who is my girl crush?

Emma Stone.

I absolutely adore her.

I can’t think of a single thing she could do that would make me dislike her. I’ve been through scenarios in my head of her accidentally signing up to be in a spinoff of Burlesque (horrific), if she announced that she was to marry Kevin Bacon (shudder) or if she decided to do a Britney and shave her head. None of these things would make me like her any less.

Its deep, man.

The girl crush is far more intense than your normal boy likes girl, boy asks girl out, boy and girl live happily ever after routine. Why? Because you don’t want the subject to be your girlfriend, but worse, you want them to be your BFF, cross your heart and hope to die.  You want them to be your go to girl for lunch dates, shoe shopping trips and chocolate binges, and for them to never be far enough away from their iPhone for you to freak out about anything. Outfit disaster? On hand for soothing words to calm you. Boyfriend problems? Turns up with tequila and a dartboard with his face on it. Sitting in the beer garden with sunglasses on and looking at boys? She’s right by your side.

In reality, many of us masquerade as sane members of the public, concealing a secret girl crush. For the purpose of this post I asked some of my closest friends their girl crushes, and more to the point, why. There is no rationality in these responses, which further mystifies the phenomenon.

Friend 1: Blake Lively “I just love her hair”.

Friend 2: Rita Ora: “She’s just cool. And she hangs out with Jay Z. She could hook me up”.

Friend 3: Poppy Delevingne “She has the prettiest face and the loveliest hair”.

Friend 4: Jennifer Garner “Brilliant eyebrows and lovely shiny hair”.

So why Emma Stone, I hear you cry? Why the fuck not?! (sorry Mum) She is totally super awesome, and despite the fact that she plays characters in films (I haven’t totally lost my grasp on reality) in interviews she comes across just as sarcastic and quick-witted. She’s been in some of my favourite films (Easy A, Drive, Crazy Stupid Love) and just has this down to earth awesomeness that would make a perfect addition to my drinking crew. You know us – we’re the ones in the bar that can’t stop giggling and don’t really care who’s listening. We’ll say hi, we are slightly cheeky, a bit crude, and buckets of fun.

Oh sod it, I just want to be her.

Who do you love, and why?

30 Responses to “It’s Just…. A Little Crush”

  1. Kristen July 9, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    Thank you for bringing up the topic of the girl crush. I have several and what’s sad is that my friends (who are girls) get all weirded out when I say girl crush because apparently I’m harboring secret lesbian tendencies. Stone is easily one of my girl crush alongside Mila Kunis!

    • tinkerbelle86 July 9, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

      well next time they ask, direct them here!! Mila is pretty cool too, but Marilyn is the original girl crush.

      • Kristen July 9, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

        True, my list of classic Hollywood girl crushes is legendary!

  2. susielindau July 9, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    I have been rewriting my quirky paranormal fiction book and something that has been helping me get into it is a Pinterest page. I have “casted” a few of the characters and Emma may be perfect for my protagonist!
    Thanks!

    • tinkerbelle86 July 9, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

      I’ll have to check it out. I didn’t get the fuss with Pinterest but now Im hooked and pinning pics of pugs and fake eyelashes all over the place!

  3. Jared July 9, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    Phillip Seymour Hoffman is the greatest dude crush of all time.

    • tinkerbelle86 July 9, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

      controversial Jared.. I saw him in a film once and he was soo good he scared the bejesus out of me, can’t look at him the same now.

      • Jared July 9, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

        That’s why he’s the ultimate dude crush. He knows how to shake it in front of a camera. Oliver Platt rings in at a close second.

  4. visitingmissouri July 9, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    It’s not that common for a guy to have a guy crush. Or not that masculin. Anyway, I have had several, but somewhere along the line they manage to get me to dislike them. I don’t have one running as deep as you seem to describe it. I have one girl crush like you do, but because it’s a beautiful woman as well, I think that’s slightly different.

  5. prenin July 9, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    Hmmm… I guess I’ll sound old, but I have a crush of Sigourney Weaver because she always plays strong women and Angelina Jolie for her playing my top game heroin Lara Croft.

    Sad, I know… 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Ian(Prenin)

  6. lizzi July 10, 2012 at 1:17 am #

    Emma Stone is the newest. my deepest respect in an actress would go to Sandra Bullock though. I love her but it is too serious a thing to call it a crush 🙂

  7. drewpan July 10, 2012 at 4:35 am #

    I think Ben Affleck is awesome. Yep… so there!

  8. misswhiplash July 10, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    True…I love my husband Neville ..why? because he puts up with me!
    Pretend.. Steve McQueen,because of his wrinkles and gorgeous blue eyes ( not now cos he;s dead)
    Paul Newman…for his cheeky grin and piercing blue eyes

  9. Ann July 10, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    MAN! I have a huge crush on Hilary Duff! I don’t even remember when it started!

  10. Go Jules Go July 10, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    This is a MOST worthy girl crush. She IS amazing in interviews – so funny and laid-back. Love her. You couldn’t keep me away if you two were at the pub!

    My girl crush is Mila Kunis. She’s also funny and laid-back, and there is just something so HOT about her!

    • tinkerbelle86 July 10, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Mila seems to have a steady following. I like her, but I don’t LOVE her. I think they are really similar, but Ms Stone just has something about her… See you at the pub in ten? 😉

  11. Lace July 10, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    My girl crush is Felicia Day! She’s a down to earth gamer girl, producer, writer, the list goes on. She’s inspiring and quirky and geeky…and beautiful!

    I also love Emma, she’s got a wit that is perfection.

    • tinkerbelle86 July 10, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

      I had to Wikipedia her as I’ve never heard of her. Buffy girl?

      • Lace July 10, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

        Buffy, Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-long-blog, The Guild, Red, and work on Dragon Age: Redemption… She is a jack of all trades. She also has a few web series and is one of the hosts to a virtual bookclub I belong to on goodreads.com, Vaginal Fantasy http://vaginalfantasy.com/ .

      • Lace July 10, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

        http://theflog.geekandsundry.com/

        I just want to frolic with her.

  12. The Byronic Man July 11, 2012 at 4:19 am #

    I have guy crushes on Bill Murray and Paul Rudd. We would be friends. WE WOULD BE FRIENDS.

  13. Meenakshi July 11, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    I’m a big Emma Stone fan too! Your crush is completely understandable. She is terrific! I loved her in Crazy Stupid Love.

  14. dylanlincalista July 12, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Emma Stone is beautiful. She has lovely eyes.

    I’m not into the Rihanna / Kim Kardashian types because they’re a little too ‘overdone’ for me. (Too much make up, too much flashy stuff = bleh.)

    I’m not sure if I have a girl crush at the moment but I think Halle Berry and Julia Roberts are gorgeous women. (yea, yea, so they’re older women, I know.) I’m in my 20s but I appreciate women who don’t put so much goop on their faces.

  15. Richard Wiseman July 12, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    This was fascinating for me. It was a great insight and thanks for sharing I really learnt something. I never had a crush on anyone ever, including celebrities, because I know they don’t look that way in real life, have to be self centred to seek fame and are probably not very intelligent and ignorance is a big turn off for me. I had many colleagues as a teacher, male and female who had students with crushes on them and I never had one, (Yeah too ugly and too cold I expect), but I was always fascinated about why girls had crushes on other females and the way you have written about it makes complete sense. As for who I love; My wife, who is my soul mate best friend and lover, (Mega talented and intelligent), and obviously my children and of course Minty the cat who is such a patient and polite chap and very affectionate and last but not least Totty our rabbit who shares my office in winter.

    • tinkerbelle86 July 13, 2012 at 11:15 am #

      haha thanks Rich, I think other than my mum you are my biggest supporter 🙂

  16. Chris Biscuits July 13, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    I know you asked us not to, but I’d like to take issue that men develop crushes on women like Rihanna and Kim Kardashian. Both of those women have highly sexualised personas, and whilst most men would probably not turf them out of bed, they are little more than lust objects.

    You’ve noted yourself how your crush is based on establishing a connection and being BFFs with Emma Stone. Now she is a girl worth crushing on, because she actually has something to offer the world in terms of personality and talent and a cute, relatable beauty, rather than one that’s shoved in your face, vagina first. (I am not a fan of Rihanna.)

    I have a total guy crush on the comedians Jon Richardson and Simon Amstell. I frequently dream about hanging out with Jon and having adventures. On the other hand, I am flattered by Simon because I am his ‘type’.

  17. roastedkeyboard July 15, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    She is gorgeous! Mine has always been and always will be Jennifer Garner, although, Julia Roberts is a close second! 😀

  18. Matthew July 16, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Been a fan of Emma ever since seeing her in the first episode, of the unfortunately early cancelled Fox series ‘Drive’.

  19. cooper July 18, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    Guy – I think hanging out with Rupert Grint would be a blast…or Alec Baldwin.
    Girl – (and if you don’t know you haven’t been paying attention) Meredith Salenger…or Daphne Zuniga…or Carly Simon….or…or…or…or. The Kardashians are soul-less marketing ploys. Its like having a crush on a packet of Kool-Aid….

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

