Proud to be British

8 Jun

 

If you hadn’t realised that it was the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee in Britain last weekend, then you must have had your head buried in the sand. The eyes of the world turned to the UK, and here we got all excited about the warm weather than we were graced with in the run up to the event. Sunshine danced across the concrete, sandals and summer dresses were pulled out of wardrobes and our hearts rose with the hope that the summer was here to stay (if you have never been to Britain, you have never experienced bleakness. In California it’s sunny 360 days of the year, in England we are lucky if we get 3) All very exciting with the long weekend we were expecting (both Monday and Tuesday were public holidays) and plans were made to go to the river and watch the boat procession on the Sunday, then take a picnic to one of London’s expanses of greenery, where they were putting screens up, and watch the Jubilee concert. The UK is perfect in the summer; full of big green parks, people drinking Pimms, and everyone being nice to each other. It truly is one o my favourite places in the world in the summer, but sadly, the summer comes but once in a blue moon.

It never works out the way you planned though, does it?

I went home for the first part of the weekend to do my god motherly duties at the christening of the little one, and it poured hard. I felt slightly underdressed in a stripy maxi dress and sandals, but I braved it and pretended that I was hoping to add a touch of summer to the proceedings. Totally styled that one out, I thought as I fled to the toilet to paper towel the wet and mud off my sandaled feet. I had such a great time, laughing with one of my best friends and getting hugs from the girls. The rain didn’t dampen the fun at all!

She’s gorgeous, right?

And then I went home, ready for a picnicky weekend celebrating the sixtieth year of reign for our darling monarch. I didn’t realise I was a royalist, but seeing her waving on the TV as she greeted the crowd reminded me of my great-grandmother. It was a fantastic coming together of a country, and I really like the royal family.

Of course, it rained. And blustered, and was freezing. We weren’t going to let that dampen our spirits though, so we ate our picnic on the sofa, drank Pimms and watched the concert from the warmth of a snugly flat. And the next morning we watched the actual ceremony, streamed from St Pauls.

I love the royal family .it was so funny to watch them as they sat through the service, looking like it was the last place they wanted to be. Prince Charles needed a short respite during one of the readings as he had lost his place in the order of service, and Prince Harry was clearly mouthing the words to the hymns. Kate, or Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge as we are now required to call her, looked like she was struggling to keep her eyes open as the Archbishop started a fairly long reading.

All in all, we had a great weekend.

Did you celebrate?

10 Responses to “Proud to be British”

  1. prenin June 8, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    I didn’t celebrate it, but it was good to see the processions and so-on.

    Typical bloody weather though! 🙂

    Good job I stayed home really! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. The Byronic Man June 8, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    England has a queen?

    So, do you think Charles has entertained the notion that maybe she’s just going for the diamond celebration and then he’ll get to step in?

  3. Lace June 8, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    Here in Canada we watched and read all about it! Unfortunate weather though, always a bummer to have rain on a special day. But being snuggled up in a cozy apartment is nothing to complain about at least! LONG LIVE THE QUEEN! =)

  4. susielindau June 8, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    This has been such a crazy week for me that I haven’t tuned in at all. Now I will have to check out a few videos. Sounds pretty funny!

  5. C.B. Wentworth June 8, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    I tuned into the Queen’s Concert and wished so much I could be celebrating in the streets. It was so much fun to see Buckingham all lit up and to listen to a fantastic array of music. Fun was had by all! 🙂

  6. barb19 June 9, 2012 at 6:25 am #

    I’m British born but live in Australia and as we are part of the Commonwealth, she is still our Queen. I watched the celebrations with pride – we certainly know how to put on a pomp and ceremony show, don’t we?
    It’s a shame about the weather, but I guess everyone just takes it in their stride and gets on with it – after all, this is the UK we’re talking about!
    It was nice to see the Queen and Prince Philip laughing so naturally in the photo you posted.

  7. Gary Lum June 10, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    I’m not really a monarchist nor a republican. I just reckon it’s inevitable in Australia, probably in my life time and hopefully after the death of Elizabeth II. She’s too nice for it to happen in her life time.

  8. Go Jules Go June 13, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Oh, I know the weather was sucky, but I’m glad you still had fun! I am so jealous of your royal family. And your goddaughter IS beautiful!

    …Can I be a Royalist from New Jersey?

  9. roastedkeyboard July 9, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    The queen is gorgeous by the way!

  10. roastedkeyboard July 9, 2012 at 3:01 am #

    I love the pics of your goddaughter! she is so adorable! 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

