Running Away

15 May

My little sister sent me an email this morning, linking out to this article about a little girl who had written the best running away note. Her message simply read “I imagine you wrote something similar” In case you can’t read it, it says:

“I am runing away becas you think I farted when I dident. PS You are Mean.”

Without checking with my mother I can’t be sure that I did, but it’s more than likely. I was the precocious little child who wrote letters to anyone and everyone, including leaving a note to Mary the Toothfairy under my pillow. and writing to ERNIE the Premium Bonds machine to demand why I hadn’t won anything on my investments (It was later explained that ‘Granddad’s friend ERNIE wasn’t a real person, when I accosted one of granddad’s actual friends and asked why I had received no money).

The one running away incident I remember was when I was about six. I can’t remember why I ran away, but assume it was something to do with my sister being allowed to do something at an age that I wasnt allowed) and I packed a bag with a few essentials, like biscuits, and informed my mother that I was off to find a new family. She told me to go ahead, so I did.

I made it to the top of the road, in floods of tears, as my father turned the car in on his way home from work. He wound down the window. told me to get in, and took me home. Years later I found out that my Mum had followed me in her dressing gown up the road, seen my Dad and hot footed it home, ready to remark that I hadn’t been gone long when Dad brought me back into the house and stuck me in the bath.

Did you or your kids ever run away?

16 Responses to “Running Away”

  1. visitingmissouri May 15, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    I was about sixteen and on my way to the train station (a ten minute walk) when I realized I didn’t have money to go anywhere. So I went back home, making clear my parents were lucky that time.

    • tinkerbelle86 May 15, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

      hahah!im pretty sure that I made my parents know they were lucky too 🙂

  2. nelle May 15, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Niether me nor kidlets ran away. Unless you count divorce and meltdown…

  3. prenin May 15, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Only once after yet another punishment beating delivered with much enthusiasm by my father.

    He hunted me down with the help of my brothers, beat me senseless, then dragged me home…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. Roshni May 15, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    I’ve always had this longing to run away someday…just to know how it feels like. And I have a very good feeling it might happen soon. 😉

  5. We're Jumpin' May 15, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Never ran away, but eventually packed my stuff, when my Mom found a guy, and I moved in with my boyfriend. I dunno if that would classify as running away lol but I guess I kinda did.

  6. jamieonline May 15, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    I love your story.

    I never ran away from home – and am quite sure that I never even debated it. Sounds like you had a fun little experience though.

    I wrote loads of notes when I was a child – I am sure that my mum still has them all stashed away. They will be fun to read when I do read them again – one day in the distant future.

  7. jamieonline May 15, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    Have added your blog into the sidebar on my blog. I love your stuff. Have been enjoying a little read….

  8. elroyjones May 15, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Love this story, excellent parents you have!

  9. gojulesgo May 16, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Ha! I like hearing about precocious li’l Tinkerbelle! I never did run away as a kid, but I totally stuck off to walk downtown for candy (a few blocks away) when I was 7. Babs was NOT pleased.

  10. observingthescene May 17, 2012 at 3:35 am #

    I ran away once, and as I recall, I might have been about 7 years of age. I do recall vividly that I got about four houses away from my own when my shoe came untied, and I had to return home so my Mom could re-tie it! Never tried it again, until I left home at 17 to join the Navy.

  11. Garrett McKenna May 17, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Soo cute n’ funny!

    I ran away once (to the end of my street) for about 45 minutes. I came back home because I had to pee! 😉

  12. Marvin the Martian May 26, 2012 at 5:16 am #

    I think we all ran away at one time or another. It only took me a couple times before it stuck.

  13. rickythewiz June 5, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    I never ran away because I was smart enough to know that the outside world was just as harsh as the house I lived in and my kids have never run away because love, forgiveness, cuddles, kisses and chocolate are always part of the day for them in our house.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

