Backstreet’s Back, Alright?

1 May

There are some times in a girl’s life when she regresses back to her pre teen days, and she frickin loves it. And this weekend was one of those times for me (plus two friends and my sister) when we got the chance to go to see the New Kids on the Block and Backstreet Boys hybrid tour.

It. Was. Awesome.

I’m a little young (it’s rare I get to say that!) to really remember New Kids on the Block, but I could hum along to enough of their tunes to be OK with going to see them, but the Backstreet Boys are a band I knew as a child, mainly because my sister had a massive obsession. She loved them and listened to their music all the time, and by osmosis the songs perforated my hearing and nestled in my head.

So I was surprised when I emailed her to say I had tickets, and she seemed quite disinterested. Fine! I thought. Plenty more people who will come with me!

But she came, and it made me laugh when, about half way through, she looked across at me and mouthed “I LOVE Brian!” gone was the emo kid with a cool taste in music, replaced by a ten-year old who wanted nothing more to grow up and marry a Backstreet Boy.

It was so cool. Have I mentioned that? It did get a little inappropriate when New Kids on the Block, who don’t fall into the ‘kids’ category any more, were thrusting in their PVC pants. We all looked away, a little embarrassed that they were pulling out all their best Chippendales moves and we were ever so slightly repelled, and half of the party decided it was a good time to take a trip to the bar and/or the bathroom. After all, they are older than they used to be. There was also a chant that they were all trying to start, which went N-K-O-T-B-S-B, which was all too much for us (in fact, the whole crowd) and we got lost at the K and mumbled the rest. Plus, I was perturbed by the fact that they had missed a ‘b’ out in the middle.

But the Backstreet Boys were nothing short of legendary. Well, except the weird faces that Nick Carter was pulling. I try to keep my thoughts about his quiet as my friend Charlotte loves him, but when he pulls the face, it makes me feel like a teenager that just got inappropriately groped by a youth in a nightclub. Sort of dirty and like you want to curl up in the foetal position and rock. I think it’s the sweaty curtains that were only borderline fashionable in his heyday, let alone fifteen years later.

I recorded a lot of it on my camera, but unfortunately the over excitement got to much for me, resulting in some real Blair Witch Project style filming, not to mention the drowning out of the actual singing by the four of us screaming out lyrics and whooping at regular intervals. Embarrassingly, at one point you actually hear me say “Im so excited!” and my friend replies “i think I might cry!” hahahaha.

So my two close friends, my sister and I had the best night we have had since the days when we used to make up dance routines and sing into our hairbrushes, swooning over the appeal of those hot American boys. And I have had The Right Stuff stuck in my head for the past 48 hours.

Some things never change.

Thanks to the people at Superbreaks who provided us with the tickets. They offer hotels in London, and sponsored this post. But all opinions are, as always, my own!

7 Responses to “Backstreet’s Back, Alright?”

  1. gojulesgo May 1, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

    SO awesome that you got these tickets! And I can so relate – when I was 18, I got invited to an ‘NSync concert with a younger friend. I went thinking I would hate it, but they put on SUCH an amazing show that I became an instant superfan and probably saw them in concert 10 more times over the next 2 years!

  2. prenin May 1, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    I had a visit to see Aerosmith at the NEC in Birmingham, supported by Thunder and had a great time until Nikki folded up and I had to help Dave haul her to the sick room.

    No surprise – the place was packed and there were some truly amazing women there!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  3. susielindau May 2, 2012 at 3:11 am #

    There are so many bands touring again! Tons from the 80’s! I bet you had fun dancing!

  4. drewpan May 2, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    My wifey is absolutely nuts about the BSB too. I think she snuck out of school to see them way back in the 90s. I wouldn’t be surprised if she yelled “I think I might cry” either!

  5. jsh0608 May 2, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    That is awesome. When they came here to San Antonio, TX last June I was a little kid again having my two favortie boy bands. I have a post about it also. I have loved New Kids on the Block since I was little and in middle/high school I loved Backstreet Boys. When I saw the commercial I bought the tickets as soon as they came out. I felt like a little kid again. I put that day as one of the BEST days of my life. When I am down, I think of that day, it lifts my spirits in no time. And thes MEN are so HOTT HOTT HOTT!!!! Look I’m smiling like I’m a teenager again. :0) Great post. :0)

  6. Marvin the Martian May 3, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    How fun to see your childhood idols!

  7. e1aine May 3, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    Sounds like a great night. Wish I’d gone.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

