Barcelona and Gaudi

28 Apr

So, Barcelona.

tour guide. Complete with accessories

When you think of Barcelona you think of Gaudi, and that’s what I spent the day thinking of yesterday. I had my very own tour guide who has a brain like a sponge and manages to soak up pretty much everything he hears or reads, so I was far luckier than the tourists with the guides or the headsets.

We started off with a long and steep walk up a mountain big hill complete with escalators until we reached the top. Which was totally worth it. We had reached the Park Guell, made famous by Gaudi and Dali, and in my opinion, looking like a gingerbread village.

so pretty

As we walked around, it was explained to me that the park was created not only by Gaudi but by his friend, Salvatore Dali. The mosaics at the top of the park were laid by Dali in a bid to help his friend complete his work, but Gaudi didnt like it. Rather than removing it, he dug out the ground underneath, determined that the roof would fall in and he would rebuild it. But it never fell, and the columns were put in to preserve the work, resulting in what remains there today, and is absolutely beautiful.

We wandered down some pretty steep steps, with him running down and me gingerly grabbing onto the hand rail, as usual. I was offered a piggy back, which although a nice offer, make me want to throw up. Again, I underestimated the step phobia and felt a little silly as little kids went running down beside me.. ah well!

Then we head off to the Sagrada Familia, the church that Gaudi was building when he died. Parts of it are being rebuilt, and I was informed that people believe that it’s because as he died he cursed the progress of the church. As an artist, he was known and loved within the city, but not a lot of people recognised him. After being hit by a tram, no cab drivers would take him to the hospital, and he died. ever since his death, when they try to build parts of the church they simply fall down.

From the two different sides, the church looks completely different. One side is quite modern and featured carvings of faces, and the other more baroque and imposing. Inside, you are overcome by a feeling of awe and I couldn’t help but think that it would be absolutely fantastic to be in there by myself, away from the hustle and bustle of tourists with cameras and the sound of footsteps.

The imposing church has scores of stained glass windows, giving it an ethereal feeling. It’s the sort of place that even someone who doesn’t believe in the presence of a higher being might thing twice, and wonder if people have a point. The light streams in through the vibrant colours like a kaleidoscope, and the feeling you get is of pure amazement. I absolutely loved it.

And that’s Barcelona so far, I’ll update when I get back!

13 Responses to “Barcelona and Gaudi”

  1. prenin April 28, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    Fantastic photographs Tinkabubbles!!! 🙂

    I loved Salvador Dali – he was and remains one of the most fantastic artists of his era!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. LKD April 28, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    Barcelona is somewhere I’d love to go! Looking forward to your next post!

  3. thesilentsoul April 28, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    I love Barcelona! Enjoy 🙂

  4. goddessofglitter April 28, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

    The Sagrada Familia! I learned of this in a Spanish class a few years ago and I am extremely envious of you for seeing it in person. Amazing! And Dali is one of my favorites. Next time you visit the states you must try getting to his museum in St Petersburg Florida. My husband and I went last year. I look forward to hearing more about your trip.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 28, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      I’d love to go to Florida – ive really only been to california other than passing through. maybe next year!

  5. susielindau April 28, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    These are amazing photos, especially of the Church!
    Have fun, world traveler!

  6. jamieonline April 28, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    I was there in Barca last Spring – I loved it!
    Fab pictures! Thanks.

  7. Time To Be Inspired April 29, 2012 at 6:25 am #

    I love Barcelona! Thanks for the photos – they bring back great memories!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 30, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      No worries, Ill post some more once I have time 🙂

  8. Bluejellybeans April 29, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    Very nice tour! Are you doing Madrid too?

    • tinkerbelle86 April 30, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      No, was just in the city for a few days visiting a friend.

  9. Marvin the Martian May 8, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    What a pretty sunburst metal fence!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

