Procrastination Packer

27 Apr

In my head, I am poise personified. Imagine Darcey Bussell on a tightrope, not batting an eyelid. I exude an air of calm to those around me and everyone is sure, without asking, that everything is just fine. At work, I make list after list, carefully striking through items with military precision to ensure that everything gets done. obsessive compulsive? anal? sticks and stones will break my bones but words will never knock anything off my hit list!

I reality, the Darcey Bussell in my head is more like th Tasmanian Devil – manic, hurried and with a touch of dribble. I hate packing and therefore I leave it to the absolute last-minute like this week when I frantically threw some of my belongings int a bag and left for work. At the airport I wondered which things I had packed and what remained, forlorn at being having left behind.

My friends are the same. Before either of us go ona trip, one friend and I like to ritually text each other to find out the packing progress. I normally take the first flight of the morning to the US, so the conversation will go a little like this.

“Hey buddy! all packed? Have a fantastic time! xxx”

“Hey love. well, I’ve caught up on Eastenders, my eyebrows are immaculate, DVDs organised alphabetically.. and two pairs of socks have made the cut in the last two hours. I hate packing. xxx”

It’s the same every time. I have a brain, you think that I would learn from the previous frantic packing attempts after having left it far too late, but no, I never do. As a result I spend far too much money in the country that I am going to as I havent been grown up enough to write a list. Sure, I might have remembered to pack my neon joke sunglasses, but I forgot a mains adapter, deodorant and a toothbrush. Win.

So arriving in Barcelona and grabbing my sisters camera from the case (I’ve lost the charger for my own, standard) I realised the battery was dead and I don’t have a mains adapter. Of course!!

What’s your packing ritual?

7 Responses to “Procrastination Packer”

  1. susielindau April 27, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    My husband Danny has a code that he lives by for every trip. He says, “Skis, boots, poles, money.”
    I always forget something so the replacement becomes my souvenir!

  2. prenin April 27, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    I plan ahead – I even weigh my bags to make sure I don’t take too much! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  3. The Byronic Man April 27, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    I plan a list, but only because otherwise I stare… and stare… and stare… and then get frustrated and grab everything. Once I’m done I double check wallet and toothbrush and call it good.

  4. Spoon Feast April 27, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    I plan well in advance and try to leave half at home so I can bring more back.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 28, 2012 at 11:02 am #

      I do that when im going to the US – i take a third to see if my younger cousin wants it, a third of stuff i will actually need and a thinrd of thin air. its an excuse to buy a load of clothes, but I only took hand luggage to europe which is slightly different

      • Spoon Feast April 28, 2012 at 11:14 am #

        Any reason to go shopping! I love shopping in Europe.

  5. Tori Nelson May 1, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    Ah! I feel your pain. I am packing (or having a panic attack just thinking about it) right this minute.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

