Thou Shalt Not Covet

24 Apr

Tomorrow afternoon I am heading to Barcelona (Did I mention that already? What? Well I am…) and I will be at the airport ridiculously early as normal, as I get the fear that I have forgotten my passport / will be flagged as an Al Qaeda wannabe / the train will break on the way there etc etc.

For this reason I like to get to the airport about two days too early, which proves a bit of a conundrum. What do you do in an airport for 48 hours (or 3 which is truer)? You either drink tea, or shop.

As we all know, drinking tea is one of my absolute favourite things to do, and so I like to pack myself into Starbucks with a book on grisly murders and drink bucket after bucket of the stuff until my flight is ready to go. Which is the problem. I am very suspicious of the toilets on aeroplanes, and try to avoid them as much as possible in a bid to not get sucked down the waste pipe and posed with an ad hoc skydive. It’s a serious worry people!

So my other alternative is to go shopping, an alternative that my bank balance is not fond of. I nose through the fragrances and mascaras like an alcoholic in a brewery, touching things and prodding and spraying to my heart’s content. Of course, I cannot afford to shell out on all the fancy lotions and potions that adorn the shelves, but for the sake of excitement I have put together a magical wish list of the three things I would buy, if I had mugged someone on the way in and was loose with their credit card.

1)      Chloe perfume.

Ah, my signature scent. I get this for my birthday and Christmas from my dad and have to spritz it sparingly for the rest of the year for fear of running out. But if I had the money id stock up on it in duty-free, so I felt like I was saving.

2)      Lancome Mascara.

When I worked in the cosmetics department, a friend of mine worked on Lancôme and used to pronounce all the funny French names with a really comical lisp. She would make the days go a lot quicker by pretending to customers that she actually had these lisps, and we all used to fall about laughing as she struggled to remember the lisp she had for each client. Simple pleasures definitely make the day go quicker!

3)      Estee Lauder. Anything. I’m particularly coveting the Lauder and Tom Ford collaboration, as we know that I love anything gold or shiny.

Sadly I don’t have the money to spend so will have to be content with Boots and a book in the departure lounge, until my plane arrives and takes me off for an adventure. Oh well, a girl can dream!

If money was no object, what would your top three airport purchases be?

15 Responses to “Thou Shalt Not Covet”

  1. MakersDaugther April 24, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    “in a bid to not get sucked down the waste pipe”

    You and I think alike! Lol! Have a great time in Barcelona, it’s soooooo much fun!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 28, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

      I can confirm that I didn’t disappear down the loo.. but im flying home tomorrow so ill check in and let you know I havent died,

  2. visitingmissouri April 24, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Suits. You can’t walk through an airport without wanting to buy suits. Or I can’t. Also, it’s never the best shops there, so I rather feel I want to. Provided money wasn’t an issue, I would get the desire to go suit-shopping on an airport, but actually go somewhere else. Is that cheating on your question too much?

  3. susielindau April 24, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    Have a fabulous trip! I would go back to the duty free shop and buy the rest of the Portmeirion set of dishes.

  4. argentumvulgaris April 24, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Tag, you’re it! Somehow, I ended up in a game of tag and I’m now tagging you! Here is the link with the rules and the one question I picked out for you to answer…
    http://lifeisbutalabyrinth.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/tuesday-tag/

    AV

  5. tjcuzns April 24, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    My better half loves Chloe as well.A couple of years ago I bought her some at Macy’s;alas I didn’t know there was a “new” Chloe and an “old” ( circa 1975 ) naturally she preferred the old.Then I discovered Fragrance.net which sells both;as well as other scents for men and women.And the prices are fantastic.

  6. cooper April 24, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    1) my own luxury yacht (i hate flying)
    2) Jack Daniels…a lot of it if I can’t have the yacht
    3) Someone to keep my “mind” occupied while in the air

  7. creativeboys April 24, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Have a safe and fun trip! My top 3 choices? It would sound weird but anything food! Chocolates? Haha! Thank you for all your great posts! 🙂

  8. nelle April 24, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    A plane ticket, dinner, and the new by JKR… have fun!

  9. 1smiles April 25, 2012 at 3:56 am #

    Have to agree with the Lancome Mascara.. love it!
    Kenra Hairspray
    Mani/Pedi every week.

  10. prenin April 25, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    Hmmm… I guess a new camera – a Nikon N1 looks nice – and plenty of JD!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  11. Life in the Boomer Lane April 25, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Now Husband likes to get to airports several days early. I like to get to the gate as they close the door. It’s a conundrum.

  12. twindaddy April 25, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    No planes for me. If I have to I’ll travel by train or boat instead. Not a fan of heights…

  13. gojulesgo April 25, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    I think I always covet the booze at the airport. And the chocolate. Are you surprised??

  14. Roshni April 26, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    My all-time shopping sprees would be for books, chocolates and stuff with crazy colours! 😀

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

