It’s All… LIES!

26 Mar

I know, I know, I’ve been gone for over a week and you wish I would have called if I was going to be absent, you were worried. But I didn’t. And absence makes the heart grow fonder I hear.

To tell you the truth I’m having a bit of a dry spell (WRITING WISE!) and I’ve been trying to write something witty and fresh all week, but all I have been able to come up with is nothing. I’ve written and deleted what seems like hundreds of posts, but nothing has got me inspired enough to actually finish a post.

But today I read an article that made me laugh, and I thought I would share it with you. Entitled “8 Little White Lies Women Tell Men” I was intrigued as to what wise words whoever wrote this article was imparting, and I wasnt disappointed. It gave me the inspiration to get my little cocktail sausage-esque fingers moving again… I love those sort of self-help things and I always wonder about who thinks that they have the authority to dish out this sort of information. I often think things are wrong but I don’t think I would go as far as to tell on centuries of women who have relied on these slightly ridiculous fibs, whether true or not!

“I’m fine”. I read the advice to men and laughed at this. it tells that when a woman says “I’m fine” they most certainly are not. Right. You know what, sometimes this is the case. But sometimes (and I say this with a wealth of experience) there is nothing wrong. But the person you are talking to believes there to be something wrong (probably after reading one of these articles) and therefore keeps asking. You keep reiterating till you are blue in the face, and then all of a sudden you actually aren’t fine, would happily punch him in the face yet can’t say anything as then you prove that you weren’t fine all along. The mind boggles.

“It was in the sale”. I agree with this one. It very rarely was in the sale. I remember on one occasion trying to convince my ex boyfriend that it wasnt a waste of money me buying a new handbag with the food shopping money, because in actual fact, when you think about it, I had practically convinced myself to buy a Mulberry handbag which was £800. By talking myself out of this and opting for a £45 option, I was actually saving us a great deal of money, and if he asked me nicely he could even put his wallet and phone in it when we were out and about. See?! I’m nothing but altruistic.

“I don’t know”. Apparently, I don’t know doesn’t mean I don’t know, because girls always know. I would like to disagree. If you have seen me in Tesco you will too, as I never know. I never know where I put my bank card, what I want for dinner., or which pin code goes with which card. I never know what my ‘type’ is, or what I should wear to work tomorrow, or what film I want to see. And I’m not the only one.

Girls, what is your favourite fib? And men, which ones do you always fall for?

 

10 Responses to “It’s All… LIES!”

  1. susielindau March 26, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    The guy should get the hint when the woman slams the cupboard door shut, throws a coffee cup across the kitchen or starts breaking plates for emphasis when she says, “I’m fine!.” Glad you’re back!

  2. observingthescene March 26, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    Ah Hah! I always knew it! With ladies, saying there’s nothing wrong when there truly is, is the pre-cursor to the silent treatment. It’s sort of related to “If you don’t know, then I’m certainly not going to tell you.”

  3. visitingmissouri March 26, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    There you are! I would be willing to accept she’s fine, if she would be so honest to tell me when she isn’t. It’s a system you girls keep alive.

  4. prenin March 26, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    I have fond memories of Meddling Molly phoning me in my sick bed, saying “Hello Ian – are you well?”

    To receive the reply: “No actually I’m dying of the plague” and she’d say: “We need to get the newsletter done” the ‘We’ meaning ‘Me’ even though the newsletter was her job as secretary and she wouldn’t quit until I dragged my sickly frame through the door and do her job for her.

    Boy am I glad I quit being chair of the T&RA…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  5. 1smiles March 27, 2012 at 1:49 am #

    No worries about your dry spell. I think everyone has been in a mid-March funk.
    Good article by the way.. 🙂

  6. drewpan March 27, 2012 at 5:25 am #

    “I’m too tired tonight.”

    You just can’t argue with that one.

  7. Bluejellybeans March 27, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    Hmm… I don’t know. I think your post is fine, it should be on sale 😉

  8. gojulesgo March 27, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    I agree with the “I’m fine” one – and it works both ways (Le Pep gets so mad if I ask him “What’s wrong?” when he’s being grouchy, and claims my asking is the source, LOL)!

    A common fib I tell others, and myself, is “I’m full” so I don’t go back for seconds, ha!

  9. cooper March 27, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Jungle Book is my disney fave….
    as for fibs? “I’ll be ready in a minute…”
    yeah…no such luck…

  10. creativeboys April 24, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Not stereotyping but girls are complicated sometimes but it takes time to understand them. As a guy I dont have a fix preference to fall for, if it is meant that two of us are meant to be together, i will go for her heart not looks. Looks is just a bonus. 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

