There’s Life Jim, But Not As We Know It

5 Mar

Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth. Buddha

It’s Monday morning and I am sat writing this post. Not unlike most weeks, I have a cup of tea and I am wondering what I should say to fill the white gap that hangs below the words as they appear. It’s before 8am, and in a normal week I would currently be either sharing a cuddle with a stranger on the tube, or battling my way through the throngs of commuters out of Leicester Square station; maybe stopping to grab a coffee of share a smile with the Big Issue man before walking the short distance to the office. I would most probably still be wearing my winter coat, and when I settled my view would be another desk.

Oh, what difference a week makes. Today as I type I have the most beautiful view. I’m settled in my favourite seat in the house; a comfy corner of a sofa looking out at a huge window that acts like a frame to a perfect blue sky with a tree hanging. When the sun isn’t directly in view i will take a picture.

So what else is different? You may have already guessed, but I am back in San Diego. I have an enormous dog curled at my feet, and I am suddenly the eldest in a household full of teenagers. Meal times where you cook for yourself or eat out with friends before heading home are replaced with a scrum round the table to get food before the boys devour what is left out, an affection is shown by the rubbing of sweaty gym socks in my face (yep, it happens).

And I am a different person here. Gone is the tightly wound stress ball that has been showing up to my arrangements recently, sitting in my seat and mingling with my friends. Back is the “no worries, whatever” chick who just gets on with it. In the few days since i have been back me and my best friend, Auntie and cousins have shopped till we dropped, walked for miles, paddled in the tide pools and hug at the beach. We have been to the barn to watch my cousins with the horses and run with the puppies along the waters edge.

And the coat – left in England! I have a red nose and freckly shoulders that have been kissed by the California sun, and I feel fantastic. Suddenly it seems like it is fun to write again, rather than just cobbling something together so that you guys know I am still alive. I feel like the words are springing down my arms and out of my finger tips in a hurry, like ants racing to be the first in line at the fruit abandoned at the table. 

We intend to visit SeaWorld, Disney and do A LOT of walking over the next two weeks, but in between I promise faithfully to be posting more regularly so I don’t get concerned tweets. Im alive! In fact, on this side of the world i tend to be more alive than ever.

It’s funny though, the TV is on in the kitchen and I can hear One Direction. It seems wherever in the world you are, some things never change 🙂

Belle xxx

7 Responses to “There’s Life Jim, But Not As We Know It”

  1. John March 5, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Welcome back. I look foward to reading you again.

  2. 1smiles March 5, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Have a wonderful time.. being kissed by the California sun!

  3. susielindau March 5, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    It is going to be warm here today too! Enjoy that California sunshine. It is one of my favorite places to travel in the States!

  4. nelle March 5, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    Warm is good, relaxing is better! Enjoy!

  5. philosophermouseofthehedge March 6, 2012 at 12:35 am #

    Sparkle and dance in the sun! Enjoy

  6. prenin March 6, 2012 at 1:56 am #

    I’m so glad that you are enjoying yourself – all work and no play makes Tinkerbelle a rather sad little fairy!!! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs my sweet friend! 🙂

    Prenin.

  7. Team Oyeniyi March 6, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    Enjoy! Californication?

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

