I Saw The Signs…

9 Feb

Something really weird happened to me yesterday. I woke up, and it was like a fog had lifted. Suddenly I could see how rich my life was again, how lucky I was and how much I had to look forward to. And it hasn’t gone away. The snow might have hampered my travels a little, making it harder for me to get to and from work and making my nose a little colder as I waited at the platform, but generally, life is OK.

As I was standing on the escalator on my way up to the over ground at Waterloo, the strangest thing happened. A man, in the fast lane (the side of the escalator that the non lazy people use) came hammering up and hit my bag as he went to pass. He turned, looked a bit confused and said “HI Laura!” I obviously looked a little confused, and he muttered “got the wrong person” and carried on going. I didn’t have a clue who he was or have the time to tell him before he dashed off that actually he probably didn’t have the wrong person, as it was unlikely he would have got my name right in any case. This is really odd for me as I have a remarkable memory for faces. I might not be so good at the names, but if I see you once I won’t forget in a hurry. I didn’t even have that awkward thing where you know that you know a face but you can’t place it; I swear I have never seen him before in my life. But he knew me. Not in a way where it was like he had seen me before, but he actually greeted me by name, and I find this pretty disconcerting!

Then, when I got to the train station at home I decided to get a taxi. It was like 28 Days Later; there were no cars, people or noise at the station. There had been a car crash somewhere, and as the station is that little bit out-of-town, nothing was getting in or out. It was bitterly cold and I waited for a taxi for half an hour with a load of grumpy men. When it got to my turn I turned, smiled and asked if anyone was going my way, as the wait was pretty long. One guy was, and we shared a cab back to pretty much the same place. The strange thing was, I recognised him and we got chatting. He gave me his card and I might end up doing some freelance work for him. When we emailed, I said it was strange that I thought I knew him, and he said I probably didn’t know him, but he knew me, but wouldn’t tell me where from.

I am starting to think I am the star of my very own Truman Show and I don’t like it!

I have peppered this post with some quotes that I find pretty inspirational, things that people have sent me or said to me through my life that have helped me when I needed it.

When you are struggling, when life feels like its too hard and when you can’t see the wood for the trees, use them. A frank conversation last night resulted in me saying that I finally thought that all the things that were broken last year were fixing, and the wise voice returned “no, there was nothing broken. You are just focussing your attentions on the good things now” which is a good point. As Ace of Base once said “I saw the signs, and they opened up my eyes, I saw the signs”.

Ace of Base WILL be my playlist for the rest of the week!

I am now on Pinterest too, which is pretty cool. I love how you can visualise everything so easily, and get inspiration from people all across the world. Fi who I sit next to at work has ordered all the ingredients to make soap, and we are going to have a bash at our own little crafty world. Exciting!

 Follow Me on Pinterest

26 Responses to “I Saw The Signs…”

  1. Juliette February 9, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    I LOVE that ace of base song. memories of my childhood.
    great post!

  2. visitingmissouri February 9, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    O god, Pinterest. You’re such a girl!

    • tinkerbelle86 February 9, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      I am SO GLAD I have you around for clarification 🙂

  3. Team Oyeniyi February 9, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    We all have times we think our world is ending. The longer we live, the more some of us have. I lost my parents at 15 – I thought my world ended. My first husband and I divorced – pretty devastating. Then there is the drama and saga of my website, which you already know.

    Each time is painful and each time, in time, passes and we see the light again.

    I am glad you are seeing the light again. 🙂

  4. Roshni February 9, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Sometimes, random instances in a day can provoke your thoughts so much. And I loved the quotes. My fav was the last one – about not reserving space in your heart for someone who doesn’t make an effort to stay! SO true!!

  5. prenin February 9, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    Sounds like a strange day all around! 🙂

    God bless Laura and hope you stay warm!!! 🙂

    love and hugs!

    Prenin,

  6. gojulesgo February 9, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Wow, those are two extremely bizarre coincidences!!! That would give me goosebumps (in fact, it did!), but I think it’s very, very cool. So glad the fog has lifted, and I LOVE the Marilyn Monroe quote!

    • gojulesgo February 9, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      P.S. – I wonder if he knew you from this blog?!

      • tinkerbelle86 February 9, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

        Ooooh I dont know but if he did i order that he makes himself known! I have now made eye contact with hot train man, so i have two weeks of doing the commute to make friends and ensure that he realises I am the girl of his dreams. No worries! ALso… 1) its been so quiet from you and 2) i canhardlywait for my snap bands! i must warn the fam that they are coming! xxx

        • gojulesgo February 9, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

          I know I ‘unplugged’ for a few days over this past weekend, but I’m BACK! Ooooh good luck with hot train man… I like the sounds of this.

          The slap bracelets are in the mail! I suspect they’ll get there by Fri-Sat!

  7. luckythirteen05 February 9, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    The people are watching you! They’re out to get you! I mean.. help you! Hm, I wonder how they all know you, very odd indeed.

  8. susielindau February 9, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    I love the Marilyn Monroe quote because it is so true. That is why I say that when you meet the right guy, everything is easy. You shouldn’t have to work at anything!

  9. Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface February 9, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    I especially like the last quote.

  10. On My Square February 9, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Now I have that stupid Ace of Base song in my head…

  11. Shonnie February 10, 2012 at 2:03 am #

    sounds like wisdom brewing in you. 😀

  12. lostnchina February 10, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    Love the Marilyn Monroe quote!

  13. Tori Nelson February 10, 2012 at 3:13 am #

    Love when things line up and start to make sense. And a little Ace of Base as background music never hurts 🙂

  14. drewpan February 10, 2012 at 5:11 am #

    Better this Ace of Base song than the one about having another baby!

  15. butterflyblot February 10, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Love the m monroe quote as well…have a bad habit of burning bridges but really love and learn from building or rebuilding them!

  16. melissakoski February 11, 2012 at 3:51 am #

    Our local radio station has been playing Ace of Base for the past few weeks. (: Fun post.

  17. havecoffeewilltravel February 11, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    How do you add the Pinterest button to your blog? That’s so cool. I liked your post. Sometimes you do just have to choose to focus on the positive and not let the negative get you down.

    • tinkerbelle86 February 12, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

      you have to add it into the html. if you go into the pinterest goodies part it will tell you the code to paste in. its really simple!

  18. fauxchef5 February 12, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Enjoy your positive energy! I just discovered the “blogroll” and have added you to it. It is taking me time, but eventually I will have this blog thing figured out. I also enjoy checking out the playlists you follow. 🙂

  19. silverstardust February 15, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    This is such a innocent and sincere post, and I found myself thinking of many other things while reading it. I am glad that someone reminds me of the world, as I lately quite often keep forgetting about it. 🙂

  20. Marvin the Martian March 1, 2012 at 4:26 am #

    That’s bizarre, being accosted by a near-stranger.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Saw The Signs… « Tinkerbelle | Weird Cars! - February 9, 2012

    […] he knew me, but wouldn't tell me where from. I am starting to … … Read more: I Saw The Signs… « Tinkerbelle ← Mystery find on Yamba Beach | Offbeat | Weird News, Odd and […]

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

