Run Forrest, Run!

7 Feb

As part of my new year, new experience policy, I am taking a bit of a cop out for February. I have signed up to do the Race for Life, which is a little bit of a weak ‘new experience’ as I have done it before, but I have decided to do it this year with a twist! And also, it really falls as an activity in July, but money and time are a bit thin on the ground this month. I promise I won’t count it twice though!

The last time I did it I was in hospital just before, so managed to only run 2.5k of the total 5k run. This year, I want to run the whole thing, which for me will be a bit of an achievement, as my normal running is for the train if I am running really late in the morning, and that’s all. I cancelled my gym membership this month after having six months of watching the money go out of my account and not actually visiting, leaving me forlorn at the thought that I could be spending that money on something far more exciting.

But it is the time of the year when I am put to shame by all the sporty people out there, and this weekend I had everyone telling me about the runs that they were doing. I feel guilty when i hear of weekends out in the snow training while the extent of my weekend exercise is walking to the car to make sure that i make it out for lunch on time.

One friend took part in The Grim a race in the snow around some horrible army camp, and another signed up for the London to Brighton, asking me (somewhat jokingly) if I wanted to join in. Absolutely not! But I thought I should do my bit for charity again this year because in addition to the people I have lost to cancer that I ran for previously, my family have experienced fresh loss this year to such a horrible disease.

So, I’m running again. And I would love for you to sponsor me” if you feel at all inclined. In return I will try to ensure that someone films me in my training so I can post for you all to see, but be warned, it’s going to be more Phoebe from Friends that Ussain Bolt.

I’ll keep you posted!

11 Responses to “Run Forrest, Run!”

  1. prenin February 7, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Good luck Laura! 🙂

    Remember to get some training in – we don’t want you collapsing with exhaustion 500 metres from the starting line!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. egills February 7, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Oh good luck! I did it once more as a personal experience as part of my rehab from ME, whilst I loved the comradeship of the whole experience I didn’t enjoy the hounding from the charity re my lack of sponsorship.

  3. susielindau February 7, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    Very cool! You have lots of time….

  4. Rach @ This Italian Family February 7, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    You go, girl!

  5. gojulesgo February 8, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    Goooo Tinkerbelle!!

  6. philosophermouseofthehedge February 8, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Get some good shoes – and WOW. Gooooo far Gooooo fassssst!

  7. Kelly Thompson February 9, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    Good on you! I did the 60-mile Breast Cancer 3-Day some years back in memory of my Mom. Best experience of my life, blisters, pain and all. You can SO do this!

    • tinkerbelle86 February 9, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      um, WOW!!! thats so far!

      • Kelly Thompson February 9, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

        Yeah but consider it was over three days (22 miles per day the first two, 16 for the last one) and it was all walking, not running. The best I could manage runnning without a heart attack would have been from the parking lot to the starting line! =)

  8. Marvin the Martian February 9, 2012 at 2:12 am #

    Run well and safely!

  9. Team Oyeniyi February 9, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    I’ve collapsed from exhaustion just looking at the athlete!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

