“Don’t Go Breaking My Heart….”

1 Feb

So, as I blogged about a few days ago, Cupid is once again due for a bit of arrow shooting and all round amorous merriment. It might not be something you buy into, but all the same it’s galloping towards us like a horse whose had a shock. I have indeed purchased Valentine’s cards, one for my sister (as we do every year in case the other doesn’t get one!) and one for, well, someone pretty cool.

So I thought I would do something a bit fun; I’ll tell you my top five love related songs and what they mean to me, and I want you to help me out by telling me yours. They don’t have to be soppy or slow (“Isn’t She Lovely” was written about a baby) but they do have to be special to you.

If at this point you are about to browse somewhere that doesn’t bang on about soppy numbers with key changes all over the show then not so fast with they keypad! If you know me even a little you will know that I’m not the sort of girl who reaches for a tissue when Bambi’s mum died, so I’m pretty unlikely to be cranking out the Gary Barlow.

At 5: Shakespeare Sister, Stay; this song makes me think of my dad, as when thus song was in the height of its popularity he loved it. It’s a love song (the woman is trying to get her fella back from an evil sorceress on another planet if the vid is anything to go by) so that is number five. At eight or nine I loved the angst beetlejuice-esque make up and at twenty-five I wish they would bring that look back. I wouldn’t need to worry about make up remover, I could just layer it!

At 4: Westlife, World Of Our Own. I know, Westlife, how embarrassing. But at aged fourteen I was hopelessly in love with Shane from Westlife, and this was always my favourite. There’s no soppy crooning, it’s upbeat, and some might say it’s one of my guilty pleasures.

3: Bon Jovi, This Ain’t A Love Song. It so is a love song, despite him repeatedly singing that we are “wrong, we areee wrong, this ain’t a love song.” I think the tight leather trousers and hair spray fumes have gone to his head. Regardless.

At Number 2: Kiss the Girl, The Little Mermaid. Who doesn’t love a love song sung to a bit of a reggae beat, under the sea and performed by crabs? Exactly.

And my ultimate top love song of all time? Elton John and Kiki Dee, Don’t Go Breaking My Heart. I love it. If the boy put on some star-shaped glasses and serenaded me with this, I would fall about laughing. This isn’t that far-fetched, he spent the other morning singing me excerpts from all the Disney hits!! AND I LOVED IT 🙂

And now, time for you to take the spotlight. I want to know what songs make you smile, regardless of whether they are sung by humans, cartoon characters, or, weeeelll, Elton John.

What are yours?

18 Responses to ““Don’t Go Breaking My Heart….””

  1. gojulesgo February 1, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    I love you for including “Kiss the Girl”! (Okay, for other reasons, too.) That’s gotta be on my list, too. My wedding song was “The Way You Look Tonight” by Frank Sinatra. I also have a soft spot for the Billy Joel song, “She’s Got a Way” (I think that’s what it’s called). I can’t believe I’m blanking on others. I’m sure Whitney Houston sings some of them, LOL

    • tinkerbelle86 February 1, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      ahahaha, its one of my many talents. I just go weak at the knees when a crab gives me a melody 🙂

  2. lovelaughterandlipgloss February 1, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    although picking a favorite bon jovi song is like having a favorite child, this ain’t a love song is my absolute favorite! hope cupid treats you well! 😉

    • tinkerbelle86 February 1, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      I know right! It was terribly hard and we ALL knew there would be a JBJ track in there. I pretty much love anything off that album

  3. susielindau February 1, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    This is hard! I will do two. “Crash into Me” by Dave Matthews and “Your Body is a Wonderland” by John Mayer!

    • tinkerbelle86 February 1, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      I love John Mayer but my ultimate favourite of his is Why Georgia. But that brings me onto one I forgot… I Saw by Matt Nathanson

  4. alternative eating February 1, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    Oh, thats a hard one…I love “lady in red” ( Chris Deburgh), and Aerosmith ” I don’t want to miss a thing” is big favorites:)

  5. glutenfreeinga February 1, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    Okay…I’ll chime in. Careless Whisper by Wham because it brings back memories of an awkward eighth grade dance and the first boy I ever kissed. To be more serious though I’d say When a Man Loves a Woman by Marvin Gaye (not by Michael Bolton puh-lease!) and These are the Days by Van Morrison. That song plays at the end of the movie Nine Months with Hugh Grant dancing with a tiny baby. Who doesn’t love that?

  6. drewpan February 2, 2012 at 2:57 am #

    The Cure’s Pictures of You is a perennial heartbreak favorite of mine. I listen to it whenever I need to write about something really sad.

    As for JBJ power ballads, why didn’t you pick “Always”? That one gets me mouthing along all the time (I can’t bring myself to actually sing it out loud).

  7. Marvin the Martian February 2, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    I agree, Kiss the Girl and Don’t Go Breaking My Heart are right up there with Muskrat Love (Captain and Tennille) and Silly Love Songs (Wings).

  8. Juliette February 2, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    my fave love song is “what do i have to do” by Kylie. But Shakespear sisters, what a song!!!

  9. Edward Fraser February 2, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    I can’t believe you have ‘Kiss The Girl’ on your list (and that it’s only no.2!). Epic. I love High School Musical I’m afraid, so that takes care of my 1-5. Nice blog by the way. I found you via twitter and you may notice me sneaking about here and there from time to time. I can’t offer you anything in the way of money though, funds are tight. Apparently there’s a recession going on.

  10. Sam February 2, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    So funny – I had the biggest crush on Shane from Westlife around the 13 year age mark as well.

    World of our own is definitely a winner, possibly my favourite Westlife track. Anything with soppy yet catchy words wins in the love song category.

    I always loved ‘A whole new world’ from Aladdin until someone ruined it for me at a night club (by quoting it to me).

    Iris from Goo Goo Dolls is another one that hits a heart string. Though I’m a big fan of John Mayer’s “Your body is a wonderland”.

    Oh dear, now I’m feeling mushy.

  11. Richard Wiseman February 2, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    For me it’s two songs. They were the songs played at our marriage. The Wannadies ‘You & Me Song’ and ‘Baby I Love Your Way’ Big Mountain. Two great songs for my wife and I to have as ours.(Baby I Love Your Way at) => http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5VQV8jTl5Q and ‘You & Me Song at => http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zx5HuAPd6RM (With a ‘Regected Riter’ style cartoon video too!!!

  12. egills February 2, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Don’t go breaking my heart is a good one 🙂

    I’m not a huge fan of soppy songs, but 1 I love to dance to when I’m cooking in the kitchen is Butterfly by Jason Mraz and then Starry Eyed by Ellie Goulding, Dreams by Fleetwood Mac and Thank You by Dido are a few I like.

    Hope all goes as planned with the mysterious ‘some one pretty cool’ 🙂

  13. Roshni February 3, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    My sister made me listen to Beautiful Soul by Jesse McCartney and ever since I heard it, I have been in love with it. That’s one song I would love my guy (wherever he maybe, right now) to sing to me. 🙂

  14. girl4dabible March 6, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    I am a big fan of music.. I listen to all kinds..
    So a list of five favorites is kind of hard, but I will try..
    number 5 would be Freakin’ Friends from the TV Show Daria (Does that date me, a bit?)
    number 4 would have to be Ready Set Don’t Go by Miley Cyrus and Billy Ray wonderful song for father/daughter
    number 3 would be Footloose by Huey Lewis and the News, great song to swing dance to..
    number 2 would be Scars by Allison Iraheta.. Powerful lyrics in that song!
    and at least for right now, my number 1 song is Gitchee Gitchee Goo by Phineas and Ferb.. It’s just so catchy..

    of course this list changes a lot, every few minutes in my mind adding in a Wayne Brady Song (Beautiful with accompaniment by Jim Brickman).. and I am sure others move into the list after I have listened to them long enough..

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

