What Makes You Happy?

30 Jan

Sometimes the little finger of doubt creeps into your mind and there is simply nothing you can do about it. Whether it be something you said to a friend that was misconstrued, a self doubt in that presentation that you spent hours on or whether you have unintentionally upset your other half, your rational self would tell you “no worries, it will blow over” or “you are reading too much into it you massive nutbag” but that dark and dreary little goblin finger pokes into your brain, and you can’t help feeling really sorry for yourself.

But what do you do to turn that frown upside down? Sometimes a hot chocolate will work, sometimes a lemon mousse bar (it will change your life) and sometimes a glass of wine with your best friend, dancing in your pyjamas round the lounge to One Direction (the only way Emma used to be able to stop me from crying at one particularly hard point of my life). But sometimes nothing will do.

And that’s when your best friend despairs. She has tried all the things that normally work, to no avail. If she doesn’t sort it out soon, there will be no loo roll left and at this time of night there are no corner shops open, and there is no kitchen roll in the house. If your crying self uses the last of the loo roll, the only alternative will be to hold on. And this simply won’t do.

So what does she do? She can’t offer to cook you any dinner because you have worked yourself up so much you might puke, and you now can’t remember what was bothering you in the first place. We have all been there as both roles in this story; the forgetful sobber and the despairing compadre. So what do you fall back on?

Of course.

Glee.

Glee is the one thing that will turn that sobbing mess from a Doubting Debbie back to Confident Clara in one (or two if its serious) episodes. I’m not a massive crier or panicker, but there were occasions in 2011 when all that would do was to watch the episode where Blaine goes to sing to his love interest who works in Gap. Nothing cheers the heart like singers popping out from behind the woollen pullovers to add depth to his song. No hot water bottle hits you that deep, does it? And Gap guy was straight. If he can sing to straight Gap guy, then we can rise above whatever trauma is causing us problems.

I have to say, I wasn’t an instant fan of the show, and failed to watch it for the entire first series. Shame on me. My argument was that I am not the sort of girl that likes a musical nor do I favour a chick flick, preferring a gangster movie with lots of cockney rhyming slang and a few bloodbaths.

And then I accidently watched one. What I mean to say is I was snoozing on the sofa after being discharged from hospital. When I woke, an hour had passed and my chosen programme had finished, and Glee was on. I maintain that I was too sick to change the channel, but that day changed my life. I borrowed the entire first two series from LouLouBelle, and the rest, they say, is history.

So the next time you feel like a good cry for no reason or are doubting yourself, remember… if Blaine can pop up from behind the cardis and sing to the (straight) guy that he fancies, then your boyfriend/friends/mum will still love you despite you being a bit off today, and as my Emmie’s Mum would say, “You can only change what happens in the future”.

Peace and love people, peace and love.

14 Responses to “What Makes You Happy?”

  1. becomingcliche January 30, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    For me, it’s popcorn, Junior Mints, and “Friends.”

    • Sadie Petunia January 31, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

      We love Friends here too. It’s still a good show. And Seinfeld…

    • tinkerbelle86 February 1, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      what is a junior mint?

  2. prenin January 30, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    For me it’s my photo album from back when I looked after Pat’s kids, all of whom still love me to bits and I have a Christmas card from Emily to pick up reputedly with £20 in it I badly need this week! 🙂

    All the money in the world can’t pay back what they did to me, but if you can’t forgive the people who proved you innocent albeit in the most dastardly manner, what CAN you do?

    Yes, I still love them and I deeply regret being too ill and scared to look after the grandkids, but Pat is learning just how hard it is to look after the next generation! 🙂

    Yes my friend: When my tears fall I return to the happy times – and I have a LOT of good memories… 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  3. maroon5gurl88 January 30, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Not sure how far along you are in the series, but the last season has been nothing short of atrocious. The first two seasons are by far the best and the only reason I’ve stuck around is for dear Darren Criss!

    • tinkerbelle86 February 1, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      To be honest i havent seen any of the new series yet… are they as bad as the one where they sang Adele and that Friday song? We were all cringing

  4. madakanto January 30, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    A good piece of cake and an good oldies l like Gentlemen prefer blondes, Funny Face High society, Singin´in the Rain, My Fair Lady, Les Demoiselles de Rochefort and more and more…Hope you´re feeling better!

  5. Marvin the Martian January 31, 2012 at 12:12 am #

    “Glee” makes me nauseous, but “Whose Line Is It Anyway” is a scream.

  6. gojulesgo January 31, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    Shut the front door! Second Hub on your blog and I didn’t even put him here!! Did you SEE my Glee post today?! It’s kind of epic.

    Michael Jackson episode tomorrow! OMG.

    On a more serious note, I hope you’re feeling better. You rock!!!

    • tinkerbelle86 February 1, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      Oh Jules, i love you. it took me aaaages to work out what shut the front door meant!

  7. drewpan January 31, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    Oh no… Really? Glee? Glee depresses me, because I find it’s a TV show that gets by with song covers… some of the plotlines were nice, like Kurt… but Artie bugs me. Maybe it’s just the first season, but his only identifiable character trait was that he’s in a wheelchair, much like Qui-Gon Jinn’s only identifiable character trait is that he’s a Jedi Master with a lightsaber. ICK!

  8. Kasia January 31, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    I love GLEE, it makes me joyful but I admit I cry at every single episode … Don’t know why, it’s not that I’m sad, I’m moved by the songs they sing and their emotional performance.

  9. Victoria-writes January 31, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Totally agree, I love Glee and it always makes me feel happy!

  10. susielindau January 31, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    I hate that feeling. I deal with it by throwing myself into writing a fiction story since I can only think about one thing at a time. The show that always makes me laugh is The Middle….

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

