Rihanna: Please Don’t Stop The Music

28 Jan

So I told you guys on Twitter last month that I was going to see Rihanna at the 02, but with my busy month I haven’t had a chance to post about it. So here goes:

The week before Christmas I was chilling out on the sofa with my then housemate, and I got a text message asking me what we were doing the next night, and when I messaged back to say nothing, we were offered 2 tickets to see Rihanna the following night. What a lovely present!

As you know, I have a bit of a fear of heights so I hoped that the seats weren’t as in the eves as when we went to see Red Hot Chili Peppers, but the seats were not only fantastic, but VIP passes too!

I’ve always had a bit of a love hate relationship with RiRi; when she first came on the scene I loved her Bajan beats, but then I went off her. Come Rude Boi and I would turn the radio over whenever she came on, and recently when she released California King Bed and Man Down, I depaired.

Despite this, she has some cracking tunes that make you want to get up and dance, and she puts on a fantastic show. Costume changes, special effects and dancers made the show an amazing ninety minutes, and a show that I would strongly recommend to anyone who wants to see some live music. I would warn though that it isn’t for the faint hearted; the S&M part of the show is quite risqué for prudes and the man in front of us looked very uncomfortable 🙂 The girls next to us had a great time and had a bit of a dance routine going, which added to the fun of the night, and she finished with her recent track with Calvin Harris (who was also her support act) We Found Love.

I’m a complete fan again; it was a fantastic Christmas present from an otherwise absent friend, a great night out with my best mate and a great show. I would strongly recommend going to see her!

8 Responses to “Rihanna: Please Don’t Stop The Music”

  1. prenin January 28, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    Sounds like you had a riot Laura! 🙂

    Hope the memory never fades! 🙂

    God Bless! 🙂

    Prenin.

  2. Ipodman January 28, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    Wow! The stage looks very elaborate O.O

  3. bdewayne January 28, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    What a great post;and great pictures.If I may be so bold,what camera did you use?Those are amazing pictures.Thank you

    • tinkerbelle86 January 29, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

      It was Emma’s, just a point and click but I’ll find out which one it was for you

  4. Bluejellybeans January 28, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    Nice!
    I saw her a few years ago at Rock in Rio Madrid. It was pretty cool, and it was just like a 40 minutes performance…

  5. susielindau January 28, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    She is one of the few pop female singers that I love listening to. I bet the concert was fantastic!

  6. gojulesgo January 30, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    Those were awesome seats and great pictures!! Did the VIP passes mean you got backstage??

    Rhianna has one song I love (Take a Bow), but a lot of others aren’t my cup of tea (I don’t like much dance music, unless we’re talking Justin or Brit-Brit ;)). She does seem like a fantastic performer! I love when they go all out!

  7. Milla February 2, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Great seats! Some of her tunes are cracking (love Rude Boy – sorry!) but I don’t like dance music and she seems to be going that way.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

