Sing It Loud And Sing It Proud!

24 Jan

This week at work we had to submit a list of songs to be played on DJ day. We were required to provide three,; a song from the year you were born, a song using the last digit of the year you were born and adding it to a 2000 date (I’ve explained this badly so let me give you my example, 1986, so I take the 6 and choose a song from 2006. I’m confusing myself!!) and a wildcard choice.

It was a lot of fun. There were some right clangers from the year I was born, so I chose one that I thought showed a passion of mine. Jon The Hair Bon Jovi. I picked Livin on a Prayer. Of course I did!!

The funny think about this is when testing the video on YouTube I played it. The kitten sat up, took one disgusted look at me and left the room.

For my 2006 song I picked John Mayer, Vultures. Which I adore!!

 

And for my wildcard choice I went for Beach Boys Surfin USA. I thought that if people had to guess whose it was they might have a fighting chance with this one, as although I am now in my fourth week at the company, I have told everyone who will listen that im going back to see my family in 6 weeks. 6 weeks!!

Lets have a DJ day! What would your songs be and why?

20 Responses to “Sing It Loud And Sing It Proud!”

  1. disseminatedthought January 24, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    Year of birth (1980): “She’s So Cold” – The Rolling Stones.

    2000: “Stan” – Eminem.

    Wildcard: “Voodoo Child” – Jimi Hendrix.

  2. TBM January 24, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    Livin’ on a Prayer–great choice!

  3. Ape No. 1 January 24, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    Superstition – Stevie Wonder (1973)
    In Da Club – 50 cent (2003)
    Paint It Black – Rolling Stones

  4. Deano January 24, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    Cool idea!
    Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves – Cher (1971)
    Ms. Jackson – Outkast (2001)
    Wildcard: Run To The Hills – Iron Maiden (1982)

    • tinkerbelle86 January 24, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

      Gypsies, tramps and thieves is a car classic, although i do find myself substituting professions… i normally go with dent-ists, nans and queens….

      • Deano January 24, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

        I used to watch the Sonny and Cher show with my Mum when I was a kid. Many years later I bought her tickets to see Cher with a friend…..I should have gone too! I mainly listen to hard rock/metal/alternative stuff these days, but still love those old songs.

      • Deano January 24, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

        My friends and I used to substitute words for Europe’s “Final Countdown” in the mid 80’s, alas the words were not PG friendly!

  5. susielindau January 24, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    I can’tttt doooo ittttt! You would laugh!
    Great post! Off to tweet it….

  6. 1smiles January 24, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Oh how fun!
    1958 – All I Have To Do Is Dream – Everly Brothers

    2008 – Chasing Pavements – Adele

    Wild Card – Woman – John Lennon

  7. gojulesgo January 24, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    GREAT picks!! Bon Jovi is a God here, being a Jersey boy and all (he grew up not too far from where I did)! Babs and I had front row seats at a concert about 10 years ago, and it was AWESOME. He rocked some leather pants like you wouldn’t believe…

    • tinkerbelle86 January 24, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

      You do not know how many times I have wished to live in New Jersey for JBJ alone. I went to see him two years ago and it was quite possibly the best day of my life. I swear I was born in the wrong decade.

  8. lovelylici1986 January 24, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    You’re right! 1986 DOES have some rockin’ songs.
    I really had to just take a deep breath and pick one. SO many great options. I decided to go with How Will I Know – Whitney Houston. It’s so fun and dancey for a song with a serious question. How WILL you know?1 Ya don’t know ’til ya know!
    For my 2006 song, I choose: Unwritten – Natasha Bedingfield. The lyrics just spoke to me. Wild card – Gonna go with a song from 2000. I choose Bag Lady – Erykah Badu. I really like bags, but… You know… I don’t wanna be that lady! Hahaha.

  9. Harper Faulkner January 24, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    Beach Boys Rule!

  10. Rach @ This Italian Family January 24, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    Great choices!

  11. nelle January 24, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    Not a thing from my birth year (1954) interests me, and after looking through 2004, same result. (I’m fussy.) So I’ll just pick three.
    Dreams~ Cranberries
    Fill Me Up ~ Linda Perry
    Silence ~ Sarah McLachlan with Delerium (original, unabridged version.)
    Bonus: Last Day Of Our Acquaintance ~Sinead O’Connor.

  12. Marvin the Martian January 25, 2012 at 1:20 am #

    I know WAY too many JBJ fans. Where do they all COME from? 😉

    6 weeks will be here in a flash!

  13. elroyjones January 25, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    Puff the Magic Dragon- Peter Paul & Mary 1962
    Come Away With Me- Norah Jones 2002
    Mama Don’t- JJ Cale

    That was fun, thanks!

  14. Sandra Bell Kirchman January 26, 2012 at 3:11 am #

    I have socks that are older than most of you! 😛

    For the song, the year of my birth, is a little bit of U.S. history, since it was sung by former Gov. of Louisiana, Jimmie Davis.

    1940 – You Are My Sunshine – Jimmie Davis
    2000 – What a Girl Wants – Christine Aguilera
    1997 – I Don’t Care Who You Are – Backstreet Boys

    That was fun 🙂 and since I’m old enough to span a couple of lifetimes, I’m going to pick one more that has to be my alltime favorite song.

    1968 – What a Wonderful World – Louis Armstrong

  15. bdewayne January 29, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    my DJ list;
    Frankenstein by Edgar Winters
    Bungle in the jungle by Jethro Tull
    Don’t nobody loved me but my momma by BB King
    anything by Beyoncé, as long as there is video.
    Bon Jovi the quintessential big hair band. He still rocks.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

