The House Hunt

18 Jan

The time has come when I have begun the search for a new humble abode. I have been back living with my Dad for a mere two weeks, and I am missing the feeling of more room than half a metre around the side of my bed, with hardly any space for me to store my belongings. At 25, I have accumulated a lot of stuff that I am not quite ready to get rid of, and although im not a hoarder by any stretch of the imagination, my sister informs me that I probably should throw away my first ever Valentine’s Day card and the series of postcards first-boyfriend sent me from his jaunt around Asia (still jealous).

So last night i begun the hunt, fresh on the back of a ridiculous argument, and desperate to stretch my legs and put all my belongings in the same house again. I currently can’t find anything, due to some things being at Mums, some things being at Dads, and me being a total suitcase kid. I had two appointments booked in; one at a flat at Marble Arch and the second at a house in Whitechapel. I had grand designs on the one in Marble Arch being simply perfect. I loved the idea of being able to see it, and having the park right there for Saturday morning runs (walks). Te reality of it was that really I have a park in Guildford and the last time I walked around it I was a pre teen. Or drunk.

So Anna and I pitched up at the flat in Marble Arch (thank god for Anna, a phrase echoed often over the last decade) and embarked on the stairs up to the flat. I lost a stone before we got to the front door, not realising that actually it was on the sixth floor, where the girl met us by saying “why didn’t you take the elevator?!”

First concern. I have American cousins, and they allow me to mock the way they say words, because their parents are English, and we are related. I fear that a strange flat mate might not appreciate my love of an accent quite so much!

Second concern. If the lift broke, I might actually die. Just sayin.

So anyway, we left the flat and she said to me wisely “I want to hear your opinion before I give you mine” to which I responded that I didn’t like it and she said “well that’s good, because you aren’t living there. There is no lounge or table in the kitchen and if you had a takeaway your room would smell of curry.” Wise words.

We then took the tube to Whitechapel to look round place two. By this time it was 8pm, I had been out of the house since 7am, my feet hurt and my skin felt dirty, like i hadn’t seen grass in a while. I needed to get out. We got off the tube and walked the short distance to the house, getting deeper and deeper into a dodgy looking housing estate which reminded me of the time I watched the film Kidulthood (great) crossed with an episode of The Bill. At the point where we walked through the thin alley and I wanted to break into a sprint, I knew it wasn’t for me. It appears I am not trendy enough for East London. The good news is that I now know a bit more about where I want to live, but I’m tired of looking at other people’s houses. If anyone has a Fairy Godmother who is well versed in house hunting, please could I borrow her?

The hunt continues.

24 Responses to “The House Hunt”

  1. Gary Lum January 18, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    I really struggle with house hunting (apartment hunting to be more accurate). After many years as a hoarder, I’ve learnt gradually to strip away the crap and hold to essentials. I’ve still got a lot of crap but it’s getting better. Now is a good time to shed the stuff you really don’t need.

  2. visitingmissouri January 18, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Good luck looking, although the hunt itself may present some stories in itself (meaning I would be eager to read them).

  3. An Observant Mind January 18, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Nothing worse. Nothing. Good luck with finding not only the apartment of your dreams, but the flatmate of your dreams too – a much harder expedition, I would think!

  4. Larisa January 18, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    How fun to hear about your adventure. I hope you find a new place soon. I can’t imagine living w/the parents again. 😉
    Love reading your posts!

  5. Rach @ This Italian Family January 18, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    Good luck with finding a new place!

  6. tjcuzns January 18, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    AH the joys of moving!

  7. drewpan January 19, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    I’m not trying to brag, but strangely enough my wife and I found our new place through my godmother. Not a fairy godmother, but a godmother who’s totally into the property market.

    I feel your pain though… before she found this place for us, we went to a whole bunch of dodgy places too. It’s a frustrating chore for sure.

    Good luck! Hope you find the right place soon!

  8. Redneckprincess January 19, 2012 at 3:45 am #

    Good luck in your search 🙂 at least you know what you DON’T want now right…

  9. nelle January 19, 2012 at 4:13 am #

    Happy hunting! Sorry you face arguments… not conducive to relaxation. It may take longer than you like, but you will find what suits you.

  10. BROOKEandMCKENZIE January 19, 2012 at 5:05 am #

    Good luck with the house hunt, I know how difficult it can be but so exciting in the end. When you find the right place you will know!

    All the best!

  11. Mila Said January 19, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    Good luck! hope you find the perfect house for you soon 😀

  12. prenin January 19, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Keep going Laura and be glad you have parents who care for you!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  13. joehoover January 19, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    From Marble Arch to Whitechapel is a pretty broad search area!

    I don’t get on with East London. I went every weekend for 18 months when an ex lived there, 10th floor of a communist style block, people would jump off the roof occasionally, not difficult to see why.

    North London will always ruel for me.

    Good luck looking with your search!

  14. egills January 19, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    I feel your pain, currently being the evil stepmother to an ex student who is desperate to not live at home…..

    Good luck in the hunt!

  15. gojulesgo January 19, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    Oiy, this stresses me out on your behalf – good luck!! Also, I had to read the “elevator” part three times before I understood how you knew she was American, LOL!

  16. breezyk January 19, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    ugh apartment hunting- good luck!

  17. edrevets January 19, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    recently I was playing a drinking game and one of the rules was created in which we all had to speak in British accents. I and another were really into it, doing these really awful cockney-esque imitations and talking about how much we loved football and there was a guy there who may have been of English roots and I said something like “we people from Bri-ain,” with a glottal stop instead of t, and he said if I was actually from there I would say England. And I thought, “out of everything I just said and all those horrible accents I just produced, you caught me on this?” I guess he just had to say something. Good luck apartment searching.

  18. susartandfood January 19, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Wish I could just twitch my nose and move. Problem being the large gap between what I can afford and what I’d like to live in, 🙂

  19. philosophermouseofthehedge January 20, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Good luck. It’s so difficult and stressful. May you find your (affordable) just perfect dream spot soon!

  20. whenquiet January 20, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    Yo tinkerbelle….I have nominated you for Versatile Blogger…See link http://whenquiet.wordpress.com January 2012 Power in the pen, magic in the grin, Inevitable, a win…..Congrats!

  21. Spectra January 22, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    It reads as if you are looking for a furnished place?

    And, as for accents, I read recently that English accents are the most favored, and thus, are often used for narration (think all of those safari videos of animals mating) and instructional videos (just listen to a few wordpress tutorial videos – English accents! Hah!) -and so, taking this wisdom into consideration, I have decided that when I make an instructional video from now on (I don’t think my New Jersey accent appeases anyones hearing buds 😦 ) I will be affecting a Bri-ish accent 😀 wish me luck.

  22. Nicole January 22, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Good luck on the house hunt!! 🙂

  23. Mike January 22, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    You’re looking in the wrong area! 🙂 C’mon, be part of the sow-ff Lun-dun Masseev bruv. (that’s what they say right?)

    • tinkerbelle86 January 22, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

      I think i found somewhere in Vauxhall! If they pick me. Its like speed dating isnt it. All a bit tense!!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

