What The Dickens Is With All These Adaptations?!

17 Jan

Christmas is a time where you all sit down as a family and watch movies, docu-dramas and all the old reruns that are played over the festive period. Or in my case, one to five of the Harry Potter films, but we will come to that later!

I love watching all the adaptations of books (geeks are cool, people!) and I was over the moon to see that the new series of Sherlock was back on the TV. I don’t know what it is about him, but there is something weirdly compelling about Benedict Cumberbatch, who plays Sherlock in this series. Don’t ask me what it is, it’s a bit like the way The Geordie fancies David Bowie when dressed in spandex and covered in blue eyeshadow. The mind boggles.

Anyway, here comes the problem. It’s not that I don’t try my very best to enjoy the attempts to bring the old classics into this century, but some of the ideas that they come up with to modernise these novels is a bit disrespectful. The recent adaptation of Jane Eyre was somewhat lacking and Charlotte Bronte would have been turning in her grave; Jane on the tube?! Jane courting a bloke with dreadlocks? I understand that in a world where they reckon that more people recognise and can name Simon Cowell than Prince Phillip, they need to try to bring the classics to the masses (went for a rhyme there, fell short) but the heinous crime that is ruining the tales for the next generation needs to be stopped.

With shows like Downton Abbey being popular in the latter months of last year, it’s clear that although the ‘next’ generation are a band of texting, tweeting, trainer wearing youths with a totally different language to the English one (clearly channelling my grandfather on this one) they still crave a bit of lace and a high collar on their telly boxes, plus a drop of scandal and a slight showing of ankle. So as Oliver Twist would say, “please Sir, can I have some more?*”

In the spirit of watching the TV (something that I don’t get a chance to do that often) we are currently just about to embark on film 7 of the 8 Harry Potter films. Luckily I actually quite like my viewing partner, but I’m concerned that there might be a void in our lives when we get to the end of the marathon. It will be quite sad! I’ve floated the idea that maybe we start watching the Lord of the Rings, but as I seem to have no problem falling asleep during films (and on trains, embarrassingly, but not IN MY ACTUAL BED) they seem a bit long. If anyone has any suggestions they would be greatly appreciated, as I have tried to start the boy off on How I Met Your Mother, but he is having none of it.

And I’m sorry for being somewhat vacant this month. The commuting is killing me and my friends and family are starting to not recognise me in the street. I have been writing for my new company if you are missing me too much, and you can still follow me on Twitter for mindless drivel. Until next time…

*but please sir, omit any pre 20th century characters from being on the tube, emailing or getting an iPad as a gift of love. My little brain cannot take it.
23 Responses to “What The Dickens Is With All These Adaptations?!”

  1. Garrett McKenna January 17, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Nice post! “Classics” and “masses” is close enough for me! 😉

    • tinkerbelle86 January 22, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

      hahah thanks G, im currently working on something that rhymes with elephant….

  2. becomingcliche January 17, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Lord of the Rings is fabulous, and at least on US DVDs, the movies are broken up into two parts each. You could watch one a night. But I may be the only person left in the entire world who still watches DVDs.

    I am seriously in love with Sherlock.

  3. Kats Whispers January 17, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    The Cumberbatch effect is most likely down to the over saturation of overly polished identikit men. Place an intelligent and confident man who looks strikingly different in front of us and we go all swoony.

    Persist with How I Met Your Mother. I have to tell my bf to slow down watching episodes or we’ll run out! (currently on series 6). x

  4. Life in the Boomer Lane January 17, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    I’m in a swoon over Downton Abbey. Each morning I wait for someone to come into the bedroom and dress me. But no one shows up.

  5. nelle January 17, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I’d suggest writing your own replacement. 🙂 I know, no time. I’d say you’ve the creativity to pull off a good yarn or two worthy of the tube.

  6. The Nate Gatsby January 17, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    I really like Sherlock. The first one was sorta crappy for me because it really followed a lot of the book (only modernized) but other than that I loved it. I like spotting all the little things they add that are from the book.

  7. Vinatge-Gypsy January 17, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    Loved this. My friends all love Sherlock. Benedict Cumberbatch SUPER FANS they are. Times are changing, but what i think you might fail to see is a classic is something that is subject. English isn’t the first language for everyone and corsets and carriages aren’t everyones traditions. I do love downtown abbey and references to the past but i think the revolution of time, space and technology is something great. Yes, we don’t need rehashing of classics, or what we considered to be classics but at least it reaches people who may not have been able to understand or like the originals. Also, IM A HUGE HARRY POTTER FAN AND THE EIGHTH MOVIE IS SO EMOTIONAL. you can literally not take all the emotions crashing here and there. Loved the post.

  8. Imogen January 17, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    My viewing partner and I embarked on the Star wars films, then the matrix trilogy, then the Hannibal films. He tried to convince me the Bourne films would be super exciting (alas no, not even the sight of Matt Damon made the film any more interesting than the lame plot..) good luck, p.s don’t watch the bourne films.

  9. gojulesgo January 17, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    I’m definitely going to need something to fill the void after the last Twilight movie comes out, since I’ve already watched the Harry Potter 7 and 8 movies at least 3 times each!

    I agree modernizing some things just doesn’t work! Hang in there with the commute – the new job sounds great! 🙂

    P.S. – love the use of my favorite word in this post (“heinous”) – it seems to be the buzz word for today!

    • tinkerbelle86 January 22, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

      Everyone keeps alluding to me watching twilight, but Ive not succumbed thus far. I hate a) girly things b) romantic things and c) teen things. But apparently the films are good. are they secretly harbouring chipmunks?

      • gojulesgo January 23, 2012 at 1:43 am #

        OMG I love all three of those things. If chipmunks were involved, I might just stroke out.

  10. susielindau January 17, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    I was going to Tweet you to see if you were okay!
    Here in the States, we have a great line-up on Wednesday nights including Modern Family which is a hoot! Suburgatory is new and funny too. Glad to hear that it is just the new job that has bogged you down. ; )

  11. prenin January 17, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    Sorry hun, I’m hooked on the web and Playstation Games – TV just pales in comparison to racing homicidal maniacs on a variety of volcanic island courses with underwear staining jumps!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  12. Chris Sheridan January 17, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    You should have just gone with “bring the classics to the massics” and you probably would have created a new and popular “trend-speak” word as so often happens these days, however nonsensical. Watched “Sherlock” the other night here in the U.S. and thought it rocked! But… also really enjoyed Downton Abbey, and often the classics shouldn’t be bastardized just to try to please the masses. (or the massics) Let them learn to broaden their scope. Hope that you manage to adjust to your commuting, and that things go better for you. Please keep your pretty chin up. 🙂

  13. Team Oyeniyi January 18, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Tennis, my dear, tennis. The Australian open is on and my family are prevented from watching all their usual stuff while I hog the TV for a change to watch the tennis!

  14. The Byronic Man January 18, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    I love Benedict Cumberpatch’s name SO MUCH. I could say it all day. He’s pretty great, too (and quite good in Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy), but his name sounds so wonderfully British that every time I say it I hear “Hail, Britannia” somewhere in the distance.

    • tinkerbelle86 January 18, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      me too, im intent on seeking him out and marrying him. Laura Tinker-Cumberbatch. What do you reckon? I think it has a certain somethin somethin 🙂

  15. Marvin the Martian January 18, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    Emma Thompson’s work notwithstanding, British period film/TV is among the most boring on earth. C-SPAN Is more interesting.

  16. Erin January 18, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    When my husband and I watched the first episode of the first season of Sherlock, I took one look at him and said, “He’d make an awesome Doctor.” I stand by that no matter how much I like the current Doctor, though now I can actually see him as Sherlock, too. He apparently turned down the role.

    As for other things to watch, as mentioned before, there is always Star Wars for a good movie series. For a funny TV series, try Big Bang Theory or Chuck or for something a little different, look for Once Upon a Time, Grimm, Eureka, or Warehouse 13…and, of course, Doctor Who.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

