The Rain In Spain….

22 Dec

Here in the UK we get used to a bit of wet weather. After all, unlike Spain, where the rain falls mainly on the plain, it falls mainly on us individuals here in England. And believe me, there is a lot of it to fall. A few weeks ago our town centre flooded so badly that they closed the roads (don’t get me wrong, there wasn’t that much water, we just don’t seem to be able to cope with even a few more drops than normal, and adverse weather conditions send me the country into a tizzy).

It’s something we are brought up with; a bit like baby food I guess. Kids put up with it until they get teeth, because otherwise they would starve. Well people in Britain put up with rain, because we don’t really have much choice. We all feel pretty strongly about the fact that we hate it, but as we are so conditioned to water falling from the sky, we don’t do anything as drastic as to emigrate very often.

But it’s getting a bit much. In fact, the freak weather of this entire year is really starting to bother me. In April, when I was in California, Blighty was struck with an unseasonably early warm spell. This was the only summer we were going to have apparently. And I missed it.

Then we had the ‘summer’, when it consistently rained for four months, and then it came to October. The start of October was actually on one day, hotter than Istanbul and Morocco according to the excited man on the news, and now we are in mid-November and the temperature hasn’t dropped much lower than ten degrees yet. Every week on the weather forecast they tell us that there will be snow by the end of the week, and it never comes. I nervously go out to the car in the morning hoping that there isn’t a thick layer of frost on the glass, as I have my morning routine down and any slight change could delay me by ten minutes, causing me to be late for work.  Don’t get me wrong, I hate the cold and the snow. I hate when you can’t feel your fingers and when you suddenly remember the reason you considered buying those expensive boots (waterproof) but went with cheap ones. Your feet now smell like a damp kitchen cloth and you are always slightly soggy. But it felt a bit weird at the end of November when Em and I decided to go to the supermarket after dark (I mean post 8pm, the sun actually set this week just after 4) and it was warm enough for me to not wear a coat or any snuggly winter accessories. It’s just plain wrong!

Now we are a few days from Christmas the temperature has dropped enough for me to park the car in the garage for fear of having to scrape the ice off it (my least favourite job), but I haven’t worn my coat much and my mittens are forlornly waiting in the bottom of my hand bag (along with a load of other crap like tiger balm and a key whose purpose I am unsure of) for a cold snap!

Is anywhere else in the world experiencing weird weather conditions?

For the eleventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Eleven Pipers Piping.

And Susie Lindau. Merry Christmas Susie and thanks for keeping me amused in 2011 🙂

My Eleven Pipers Piping post has to be Weak at the Knees, a post I wrote about the dying out phenomenon of a girl going weak at the knees.

Three more sleeps!

17 Responses to “The Rain In Spain….”

  1. Dazzle Rebel December 22, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Just wait until February. It’ll come back with avengence!

  2. vollezar December 22, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Where I am it rains a lot as well. They call this #$@%hole rainforest. But this year it was pretty warm at first, just like in Britain, than we had snow in October. Which is very weird. It stayed really cold for a few days and then it was really warm again. I was walking around in my t-shirt. It’s back to it’s normal self now, though. Rain, freaking rain and then some rain. Did I mention the damn rain. But it’s below zero actually. So I don’t get it. It should be snowing.. Oh o, wait. It’s rain. Arghhh.

  3. LittleMissVix December 22, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I love how we’re all used to our unpredictable weather and abundance of rain yet we all talk about it all the time 🙂

  4. prenin December 22, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Saturday we had one day of snow that lasted long enough for our three asswipes to terrorize the elderly and bombard passing cars (including my taxi) then the rain came and by Monday the rain had washed it away…

    Looks like a Wet Christmas sweety!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  5. susielindau December 22, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    Holy smoke! Thank you so much! I have always related to those pipers piping away maybe because I always have something to say so I will check out your Pipers Piping – Weak at the Knees!

    I always look forward to your posts since you give this Boulder, Colorado girl a glimpse into your wonderful English life! (Even when it is raining.) Hey we got about a foot of snow here last night!

  6. susielindau December 22, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    And Merry Christmas to you!!!

  7. mj monaghan December 22, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Here in northern California it’s sunny and 50-something degrees, but the nights are in the low 30’s. I have to admit, I prefer grey and cloudy, with cool temp, for Christmas. I sure do miss the four Christmases my family and I spent in England years ago.

  8. alternative eating December 22, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Here is Norway it has been cold, snowy and a bit icy, but then today…..I woke up and it started to RAIN….. and now many hrs later it is all gone. I was very much looking forward to a white christmas, but its looking bad right now:( 5 Degrees C, and its supposed to get warmer this weekend:( But just wait I think Winter is going to come back strong both here and in England:) 🙂

  9. gracestovall December 22, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Today is the first day of winter, and it’s been unseasonably warm here in Atlanta Georgia! Typically, its usually drab and in the mid thirties – cold enough to sleet and be miserable, but not cold enough for the pretty thing they call “snow”. However, it has been in the mid 60’s all week, and today they are talking about record breaking 70 degrees….I’ve been in shorts and a t-shirt.

    Cheers! To the oddity that seems to be the weather lately!

  10. Nekoneko December 22, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    OMG!! Yes!! It’s been weird here in the northeastern US too. By now I’m usually trudging through near “Pleistocene” levels of the white wintry stuff…. but not this year. It’s been crazy warm so far this winter and right now… with less than a week to Christmas… it’s completely snow free outside.

    ….I wonder what the Mayans would say about this… 😉

  11. robpixaday December 22, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    LOL….
    Seems like everyone’s having an odd time of it with weather.
    We had a record-breaking year this year with rain. Waaaaaaaay too much for us: 35+ inches by the end of September, I think. and we’ve had a couple of additional inches since. Record-breaking snow a souple of years ago. Blarrrgh.
    But it was a VERY warm (for us) 58 degrees yesterday. No plowing, no slipping and sliding, no shoveling. So I’m not complaining right now. In a few days? Maybe.

    Take care…!! Stay warm!
    ☂☂☂☂☂

  12. kathryningrid December 22, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    I spent a majority of my previous years living in Washington state, in a climate very much like yours, and understand both the phlegmatic acceptance and the constant irritation (how is it that those two do seem to coexist?). But Weird is the new Normal when it comes to weather all around the globe, as far as I can tell, so not much really surprises me. No white-Christmas in sight in north Texas, I can assure you. Or can I? It can jump or drop 30 degrees Fahrenheit in 24 hours here sometimes, as I’ve seen. I’ll be taking no bets on weather of any sort.

    But I wish you a very Merry Christmas, whatever the weather brings you. Cheers!
    Kathryn

  13. nelle December 23, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    I love love love rain. I wouldn’t love rain if it did nothing but, so context is everything!

  14. aFrankAngle December 23, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    Hey Tinkerbelle … here in Cincinnati, yearly average rainfall is about 38 inches (96.5 cm) …. and we are over 72 inches (183 cm) so far. Well – probably readying for the next summer’s drought.

  15. susartandfood December 23, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    The only time you can really appreciate rain is when you’re not in it, I find. However this year we haven’t had any of it, so I find I miss it, like a corn you’ve always had and now it’s gone. It’s way too sunny and warm in California for Christmas, you can’t see the candles. 🙂

  16. zendictive December 25, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    merry christmas (~_~)

  17. Team Oyeniyi December 28, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    Believe it or not, we had a White Christmas – in Melbourne, Australia! So yes, very weird weather!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

