My Guilty Pleasure

20 Dec

My dear friend Jules is an advocate of Guilty Pleasures, and so I thought I would share another of mine. You may have read about my slight love for Milli Vanilli (if you don’t know, please YouTube them. Their shoulder pads will simply change your life).

So in the spirit of slightly embarrassing guilty pleasures I decided to share one of mine. I have been harbouring this secret for a good decade, and although I was aware of my guilty pleasure, my nearest and dearest were yet to realise.

Macauley Culkin. I love the little dude. Sure., I know he is 31 so only six years older than me, and was dating Mila Kunis (God damn her, she gets all the good ones!) but I love him when he was six. Not in a paedophile in a playground way people, like a wanting to grab him by his chubby little cheeks and give him a hug. Whenever he is on the TV I can’t help but “aaaaaaw!” because he is simply adorable. Why did he have to grow up?!

I’ve always loved him. One of my favourite childhood films is Uncle Buck (I also love John Candy and always will) but the best one is My Girl. I sob with all my heart when Thomas J gets stung by wasps and dies after going back to rescue Veda’s mood ring, and I think it will always affect me in the same way. Tears roll down my cheeks and my sister looks at me and says “Why are you crying AGAIN? You knew it would happen!”

I know, I knew it would happen. I could have chosen not to watch the film, opting for Cars instead (less of a tear jerker). But I love to watch his cute little face hidden behind those Harry Potter glasses.

Macauley Culkin (aged 6 – 12) I will always love you. And I don’t care who knows!

On the ninth day of Christmas my true love gave to me:

Nine Ladies Dancing! This ‘award’ has to go to one of the most motivational ladies I know, the one and only Megan. She is a fantastic chica, and I love nothing more than to stalk her on Pinterest and read her spirited messages (yeah Megan, I’ve been doing that!).

My eight maids a milking blogger was: Miss Vix.

Seven Swans a Swimming: Sam at That Place in My Head.

Six Geese a Layin: Live, Nerd, Die, Repeat

My five gold rings was: Dazzle Rebel.

My four calling birds favourite was: Go Guilty Pleasures.

My three french hens fav was: The Byronic Man

My two turtle doves were: Brooke and McKenzie

My partridge in a pear tree was: The Redneck Princess

The nine ladies dancing post I think you should check out is: You’re The One That I Want and is, in essence, a massive rant on girls waiting for Prince Charming.

5 more sleeps till the fat man with the sack visits! Are you excited?

27 Responses to “My Guilty Pleasure”

  1. the benevolent couch potato December 20, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    I love Macauley Culkin too…wish he was in more movies. I also wish he could have stayed 10 years old forever.

  2. becomingcliche December 20, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    When I am truly in love with a book or movie, I can suspend reality and pretend that it may have another ending. And I am heartbroken all over again. I hated Home Alone (they showed all the good parts in the previews), but My Girl was a wonderful movie.

  3. winsomebella December 20, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    I always smile when I read your posts……..you do keep us laughing.

  4. visitingmissouri December 20, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    As long as I don’t have to watch Home Alone, I’m very, very excited about Christmas this year. I guess we don’t share the love for the annoying little kid.

  5. nelle December 20, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Home Alone was a fun film for those escapist times when you wish to curl up on a sofa with your children and enjoy a laugh.

  6. nicole December 20, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    hahahahahahahaha!
    i am laughing up a storm!!!
    mr. caulkin is just 1 year my senior, so he was, indeed, a high reaching fruit of my affection.
    thanks for the chuckles, tinks! x

  7. jules December 20, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    I totally love that movie. And I too love anything 80s, so deffo know about Milli Vanilli! 😛

  8. susielindau December 20, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    He will always be a little boy when I think of him, but by all means crush on!!!
    Fun post!

  9. plutonym December 20, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    ugh, even as a child i thought he was obnoxious. I kinda wanted the burglars to kill him.

    • tinkerbelle86 December 20, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      Oh boo you!! In fairness I know I hate people that other people love, thats what makes us different. But he’s so cute and dinky!

    • Dish with Donna December 21, 2011 at 1:08 am #

      I never was fan either but we all have something that we absolutely love and others think “WTH”…LOL

  10. 1smiles December 20, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    My son at the same age, looked just like McCauley… my son also has the same kind of inquisitive and creative mind. I had to see the movie before I’d consider allowing my son to watch it, lest he learn some new challenging behavior.
    He didn’t go down the stairs on a sled.. but he did fly down them with a superman cape on at age 3. He didn’t fly well, but did end up with a broken leg and chicken pox. It was quite the adventure.
    He’s 26 now and I still love him tons!
    Thanks for the memories!

    • tinkerbelle86 December 20, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      Aw thats cute! in an emergency room kinda way 🙂

  11. promenadeplantings December 20, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    I’ll fess up to loving Uncle Buck too 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 December 20, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      We should start a movement!! I’d wear a tshirt stating I heart Candy…

  12. Deano December 20, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Recently ona bus trip I watched Home Alone for the first time in years, forgotten how funny it is. John Candy and Chris Farley should have made the ultimate “brothers comedy”, shame we lost them both so early 😦

  13. gojulesgo December 20, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Hee oh I love that Macauley Culkin too! I was OBSESSED with My Girl; even the soundtracks for My Girl 1 and 2! I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve watched that movie.

  14. natasiarose December 20, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Culkin was a talented kid! I love watching Home Alone during the holiday season…and The Santa Clause is another one of my guilty holiday rituals.

  15. Megan December 21, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    Awwww, thanks lady! Thanks for the love even though I’ve dropped off the radar! 🙂 I actually clicked the link on “Megan” because I surely thought you couldn’t be talking about me since I’ve been MIA! And guess what?! The link doesn’t work! Ha ha ha… Very appropriate! LOL.

    I’ve always loved My Girl! Not a huge Culkin fan but that movie just rips at my heart strings EVERY time I see it! 🙂 Much love to you chica! miss you. xx

  16. jell jell @ I'll Sleep When They're Grown December 21, 2011 at 4:49 am #

    I love MC. I still have a weird crush on him. Even in Party Monster with those eyebrows. And Saved. I feel like it’s a completely unreasonable crush, so thanks for letting me spill my secret!

  17. drewpan December 21, 2011 at 5:17 am #

    Richie Rich was a terrible movie! But yeah, he was a real talent in his younger days, before he over-saturated the box office with lackluster movies.

    Oh, you should know that he’s broken up with Mila Kunis, so you still have a shot!

  18. Rocket December 21, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    I didn’t like older Macaulay Culkin all that much…that was until I read his book, Junior, which he published in ’06 I believe. His book was very much unlike any book I’ve read, and I loved it, along with older MC. 🙂

  19. Jim December 22, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    Milli Vanilli – Now thats where it’s at!!!!

    Blame it on the Rain!!!!

  20. Cinnamin December 22, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    Awww, anyone who loves Tommy J is after my heart! I used to have a big crush on Macaulay Culkin in 3rd grade…pretty much every girl from 8-12 had a crush on him back in the 90’s! I will always associate those movies with my childhood…I remember going to watch both Home Alone 1 & 2 with my mom…I even had the Home Alone 2 video game for Nintendo Gameboy. Watch away, there should be no guilt 🙂

  21. BROOKEandMCKENZIE December 22, 2011 at 6:50 am #

    Culkin was the best when he was a child star and Home Alone 1 & 2 are my favourite childhood movies, I definitely still watch them at Christmas time.
    Older Culkin though is scary and that’s too bad that his acting career ended there. Oh well, guess we can still remember him as a child and the memories he brought to everyone from the two best movies.

  22. thoughtsappear December 22, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    I just caught part of Home Alone on TV the other night. It’d been forever since I’d seen it. It was great!

    I never got into shoulder pads….

  23. rebeccacurz December 23, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Megan…every time when I look at her pictures I’m like “Wow this girl couldn’t be any more perfect. I’m so jealous.” She’s so beautiful and seems so gentle from the inside.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

