What Time Is It?

19 Dec

What time is it? Its hammer time! Well, no it’s not really, but it’s pretty much Santa Time. I’ve read some fantastic blogs this week about the world’s worst Christmas songs, but I thought it a good idea to break from the crowd and do a rundown of Christmas films. We all have the ones we love (more on that later) but there are some truly terrible ones out there that we insist on watching. They may not be Christmas themed, but these three remind me of Christmas, and are terrible!

1)      The 12 Dogs of Christmas – I’m all for a Christmas film and I can even sit through some of the terrible ones, but a film about a girl who uses dogs to teach people about the true meaning of Christmas? Ah come aaawn! Stick to A Christmas Carol, and if you need to dumb it down a little, the Muppets version is a pretty good one.

2)      Bridge over the River Kwai – I’m cringing as I write this as my granddad will be so disappointed, but this and Platoon! Drive me insane. My granddad used to put them on after dinner on Christmas day, and fall asleep within the first five minutes, with the remote shoved up the arm of his jumper or somewhere as inaccessible, leaving us to miserably watch it when Robbie the Reindeer was on the other channel.

But there are some super good ones; too many to mention, so here are my top three:

1)      It’s a Wonderful Life – I never saw this till a boyfriend spent Christmas with us a few years back and insisted I watch it, as it was a family tradition for him. Like Forest Gump, I was so disappointed I had never seen it before! It’s a true heart-warming film, where a man attempts to commit suicide on Christmas Eve (ok, bear with) and is rescued by a guardian angel who shows him what life would have been like in his town without him.

2)      Raymond Briggs The Snowman – I hope this is one you can get the world over, it’s just so beautiful. I liked to think as a child that one day my snowman would come to life and take me flying over the city, but I think I slept through him knocking at my door. I particularly like the way that there are no words in the film.

3)      I’m leaving the best to last.. if you know me at all you will know what this one is….
ELF!!! I absolutely adore it.Buddy, on New York “Its just like Santa’s workshop!! Except it smells like mushrooms, and everyone looks like they want to hurt me….

“SANTA! OH MY GOD! SANTA’S COMING! I KNOW HIM! I KNOW HIM!”

“The best way to spread Christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear.”

I was a bit slack over the weekend with my 12 days of Christmas, so it’s a bumper one today!

On the eighth day of Christmas my true love gave to me:

Eight Maids A Milking! And my eight maids a milking recommendation is Miss Vix. Our minds are regularly twinned and we often write about the same thing on the same day. She was one of the first blogs I subscribed to, and I love her!

Seven Swans a Swimming: Sam at That Place in My Head. She might be across the world, but she is super fun and I think we have a bit of an affinity with each other.

Six Geese a Layin: Live, Nerd, Die, Repeat – I adore these posts!!

My five gold rings was: Dazzle Rebel.

My four calling birds favourite was: Go Guilty Pleasures.

My three french hens fav was: The Byronic Man

My two turtle doves were: Brooke and McKenzie

My partridge in a pear tree was: The Redneck Princess

The eighth maids a milking post I think you should check out is: Why You Shouldn’t Trust The Internet. Or perhaps, why I shouldn’t be so gullible.

My seven swans a swimming would have been:A Classy Lady Needs A Classy Hat! Yes, that is me. There is no hope.

And my six geese a laying should be:Great Phrases for Office Use. Something to keep you amused in the week before Christmas!

Its my last week of work today and Im getting geared up for the festivities. My Mum got me a real tree and its standing on the wrapped up hoover box (imaginative way to make it taller) surrounded by pressies for my family. Im getting excited!

How is your Christmas prep going?

27 Responses to “What Time Is It?”

  1. LittleMissVix December 19, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Ok I have to watch Elf! Thanks for milking me hun 🙂 xx

    • tinkerbelle86 December 19, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

      ewwww… took me a while to work that out! no worries lady

  2. forsythkid December 19, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    I’ve never seen The Snowman…will try and catch it this tine around.

  3. prenin December 19, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    Tree on window ledge, booze squirrelled away so Doug won’t see it, freezer full of weight watchers ready meals – all I’ll need is the milk and maybe some bread before the big day! 🙂

    Christmas can be a lonely experience, but Christmas day I’ll be with those who I love and who have been a part of my life for 35 years…

    Love and Hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. disseminatedthought December 19, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    I’m somewhat enamoured with Elf, mainly for Zooey Deschanel’s contribution.

  5. Dazzle Rebel December 19, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Elf is definitely the best Christmas film by far. Being a big fan of Will Ferrell I can’t believe I only saw it for the first time 2 years ago. He’s like the modern day Chevy Chase.

    Showing my sentimental side I would add Miracle on 34th Street (the 90’s remake with Richard Attenborough) and what Christmas would be complete without Bill Murray’s ‘Scrooged’ (my previous favourite before Elf).

    Oh and Gremlins (both 1 and 2 are essential Christmas viewing)

  6. susielindau December 19, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Elf and Its a Wonderful Life are my absolute favorites!

    I will check out those links! Thanks for sharing!

    I finished my hand-made Christmas cards. Yes I am a glutton for punishment. Anything to complicate my life. My kids come home today so I will finish up my shopping this AM by going to the mall and then write my post about that crazy card!
    I would love to be done by this evening so we can make cut-out cookies! Am I dreamin’???? There is always hope….

    • tinkerbelle86 December 19, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      So clever.. i made them one year but stuck to buying this year… too lazy. maybe ill start in january for next year!

  7. Tori Nelson December 19, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Love Elf. I worked with a guy that I could never quite make eye contact with without laughing. He was Buddy in a business suit!

  8. ceciliag December 19, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    What a great line up, You have been busy and will keep me busy going through all this.. yay! c

  9. Deano December 19, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Elf rocks! Our regular family xmas viewing was National Lampoons Christmas Vacation. Of course growing up in Australia we never had snow, so any movie relating to a white Christmas was fascinating to us, but humour always won out!

  10. nelle December 19, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Har… I like BOTRK… not botox, the imaginary bridge across the Kwai. I will say this, if you wish to drive someone daft, play the whistling every night whilst they sleep, not enough to wake them, just enough so eventually the song gets in their head, yet they can’t figure out where they’ve heard it.

    Two holiday films for me… White Christmas and The Holiday, but then I’m bound to like anything with Kate and Cameron… now if only the Holiday had a lesbian theme, I’d watch it a million times instead of ten thousand.

    • tinkerbelle86 December 19, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      the holiday was filmed in the next village to where i used to live. its so cute there x

  11. The Byronic Man December 19, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    I thought my wife’s head was going to explode when she discovered “The 12 Dogs of Christmas.” A movie about CHRISTMAS and DOGS???

    And thanks, I’ve never been more pleased to a French hen, much less 3 of them.

  12. Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface December 19, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    I think BOTRK is great, but not every year for goodness sakes! Sometimes my husband puts on a movie only he wants to watch and then snores through it, so I completely understand.
    My Christmas favorite is The Sound of Music.

  13. alternative eating December 19, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    I always love your posts:) 🙂 I also want to let you know that I’ve selected you for the Versatile Blogger Award. You can find out about why I selected you and what you need to do in my link below.
    http://www.alternativeeating.wordpress.com

    🙂 🙂 Have a great day:)

  14. drewpan December 20, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Oh no… not Elf! HAhaha I was just about to put up a Christmas movie list too, and we have no common movies in our lists!

  15. TBM December 20, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Elf is one of my favorite movies!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. Rocket December 20, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    Speaking of “Elf”, what is your favorite color? 🙂

  17. underwhelmer December 20, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Aww… you shouldn’t have. 🙂

    I am slightly conflicted though. I took a trip to Budapest recently and I ate more goose than a person ever should. I hope I haven’t created some type of cosmic disorder or anything of the sort. 😉

    Fab picks on the movies, by the way.

  18. prenin December 20, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Hi Tinks! 🙂

    Just got your card with the 2pm mail! 🙂

    Thanks so very much my friend and MERRY CHRISTMAS! 🙂

    Love and hugs always!

    Prenin.

  19. the benevolent couch potato December 20, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    You forgot “Silent Night, Deadly Night”

  20. Ken Riley December 20, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Good post! My two standards are a Christmas Story and Christmas Vacation. One is about a little boy who wants a daisy red rider BB gun for Christmas and the other is a national lampoon movie. Try them and let me know what you think.

  21. gojulesgo December 20, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Elf is the Best. Christmas. Movie. EVER!!!!! I love when he sees the fake Santa at Macy’s (okay, I love every scene). “That isn’t Santa. No it isn’t!”

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

