We Fear Change

13 Dec

I fear change. First boyfriend used to mock me with this fact when anything out of the ordinary happened, uttering in a voice not dissimilar to Gollum “Ooooooh, we fears change!” and often adding a “My Pretty” on the end. Oh hah bloody hah! But it’s true. I have realised this more and more as I get older and accept some of my weaknesses, and I truly am guilty of having a massive strop and panic in my head when something out of the ordinary happens. It normally causes me to end up in hot, angry little tears as my emotions bubble to the surface. Don’t judge me. I am a girl, and sometimes I get REALLY girly. I know the guys at work still haven’t got used to me saying “please ignore the crying. I’m just a bit cross”.

So it comes as no surprise that dashing to the supermarket yesterday, I had a minor meltdown. What is it with supermarkets redesigning and changing their layout? Surely it’s more pleasing to a customer to go into the store and know where everything is, rather than going to where the bananas normally are and walking slap bang into a massive great Costa. (Yeah, like we don’t have enough coffee shops in town). Usability it is not. It’s more to get you so confused that you go in for the ingredients to lasagne and come out with some really expensive steak, a two for one offer on cereal that you don’t eat, three leeks and a shed load of loo roll. And you can’t make dinner out of that, can you?

To make it worse, they have these people in bright yellow “here to help the redesign” t-shirts. As you know from my recent HMV rant, these people are not to be trusted as they don’t actually help. But in sheer desperation to get out of hell on earth and back into my warm flat (complete with joggy bums) I asked. “Excuse me, where’s the pesto now?” the answer I got did not bode well. “What’s pesto?” I quickly told him not to worry and scurried off to scour the pasta aisle again, but he was desperate to help and trailed me, offering someone else’s services. It didn’t get better from there, as every one of the five items I had popped in for had been moved. I ended up leaving, ready to tear my hair out, with fur of the five items, and once firmly back in the car realised that item five was my earl grey tea bags. NNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me, two turtle doves and a partridge in a pear tree!

So to add to my first day of Christmas choice yesterday (The Redneck Princess), my two turtle-dove choice for the second day of Christmas are two turtle doves, Brooke & McKenzie! These two little Christmas treats keep me giggling on gloomy days with dating disasters and men from their past, and are also in my top five things from Canada (watch out for my third Canadian bloggy friend soon!) I also love maple syrup and Toronto, bringing me up to five :).

My second blog post of mine I think you should revisit is I CAN Haz Inner Peace. It’s about my disastrous attempts at a slightly hippie yoga class in an attempt to get beach fit and flexible like a gymnast. As usual, epic fail.

Happy 13th of December!

Belle xx

13 Responses to “We Fear Change”

  1. visitingmissouri December 13, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    How do you keep picking the worst kid around to help you? Why not go for a nice, grey bearded old men who a) knows what pesto is and b) will have loads of sympathy, because he can’t keep up with all the changes either…
    You got a sympathetic ‘awe’ here though 🙂

  2. I'd Rather Be In Iceland December 13, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    I feel your pain. Sainsbury’s seem to have moved the peanut butter (and nothing else) and I still can’t find it.

  3. forsythkid December 13, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Change is a creepy little monster that follows us all our days I fear…

  4. Jason December 13, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I fear change too. Like pennies and nickels, you never knew who had their slimy paws all over that stuff. Gross.

  5. Janie Jones December 13, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    I am so down with you on the changing up the items in the grocery store, or any store one frequents. I recently was looking for heavy whipping cream. It wasn’t where it used to be, by the milk, the flavored coffee creamers and half and half. It wasn’t by the eggs or the yogurt. It wasn’t by the cheese, the orange juice or the other refrigerator convenience items like ready to bake cookie dough, puddings or outrageously overpriced designer energy juices. So I got mad and left.

    When I get home and am ranting about how the store no longer appears to carry heavy whipping cream, and what store in the world would actually stop carrying heavy whipping cream, my partner says:

    “Oh, they still have it. I bought some there last weekend when we were out.”

    “Oh, really! I looked everywhere. Twice. I stood like a deer in the headlamps of an oncoming Mack truck and I saw no whipping cream.”

    “Well, did you look over by the liquor and the soda? Because that’s where they keep it now. In a tiny little refrigerator case.”

    WTF?!? Because I always expect to find whipping cream next to Coca Cola and Budweiser Light.

  6. BROOKEandMCKENZIE December 13, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Thanks so much, you made our day with putting us in your 12 days of Christmas post!
    We love your blog too and it keeps us entertained as always.

    It’s true the people there to help actually are clueless. I have been sent on wild goose chases before looking for something because no three employees could tell me where to find it!

  7. winsomebella December 13, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    That is change anyone would fear. Groceries rearranged is so unkind.

  8. gojulesgo December 13, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Ha! I can just imagine the look you got when asking for pesto. But I am AMAZED they have staff there to help you in bright yellow “here to help the redesign” t-shirts! The Target by my work keeps moving stuff around and it’s SO obnoxious since I usually dash there on my lunch break to quickly pick up something!

    I always cry when I’m mad; it feels like such a weakness!

  9. twindaddy December 13, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    I used to work in a retail store. They would move things around all the time, too. I didn’t like it because the customers would bitch at me about it. I asked one day why we always moved stuff around. They said it was because if you went to the spot where something used to be, you might find a product you didn’t know about before and buy it. I called BS on that one, but it must work as most stores still do it.

  10. barkinginthedark December 14, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    the pesto was moved from aisle 3 to aisle 9. this reverses every 13 days. hope this helps. continue…

  11. nelle December 14, 2011 at 1:53 am #

    Change used to be scary, but after you having passed through a meat grinder, not so much…

  12. Redneckprincess December 14, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    You are the sweetest thing ever…thank you for the smile on this less than stellar day my friend oxoxo

  13. Team Oyeniyi December 28, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    Change is great, change is good and yes I know, I go against the flow.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

