It’s The Hap – Happiest Season Of All!

5 Dec

It’s that time of year again, isn’t it? Before I have quite got to grips with the idea of 2011, it is pretty much gone, soon to be a distant memory,

Which means now it’s time to do the Christmas shopping. I’m normally super-efficient with this; writing lists, budgeting costs and having most of the stuff at least on order by now, but this year has been a lot harder and it has rolled round to the first week of December and I only have a handful of presents purchased. I order things online as I hate shopping at the best of times and can think of nothing worse than spending three hours trying to find a parking space, being squashed in a lift full of over worked parents and cold ridden children, and then have to battle around the shopping centre to find those perfect presents for my loved ones, at the same time as the rest of the country.

The worst shop at this time of year is *shudder*…. HMV. Is like hell on earth. You manage to order all the CDs and DVDs that you need online, smugly joyous that you won’t need to make the wretched trip to the one stop shop for all your TV needs, and then, once most of your gifts are purchased you suddenly remember…. Your god mother. Someone’s child. A stocking filler for your other half. With weary legs and a mind that simply cannot handle it, you stumble, slightly frenzied, into HMV.

You are greeted by roughly ten million people, all swarming round the new Westlife Greatest Hits (there are potentially three ‘greatest hits’ in circulation, none all that great) and in a complete tizzy, you ask the store helper where you might find {insert choice here}. Last year I wanted to get hold of the DVD of all the Pixar short films that feature at the start of the movies, for my little sister. I knew they had it, this was where I had seen it.

I asked a man.

“That doesn’t exist love” he responded (ohpleasedontcallmelove when you are twelve). I told him it did, I had seen it the week before, and so he sighed as if I was a plague on his life, and took me to the Pixar section. It wasn’t there.

“Not there”. He said. I had chosen the Einstein of HMV. Oh lucky me. After telling him I could see that for myself he huffed off to the computer and replied “oh! We do have one! Don’t know where it is though and I’m needed on the till!” and off he went into the fifty strong queue forming at the till point.

I wish they wouldn’t let them wear ‘here to help’ t-shirts.

With that in mind, last night I had a go at making home-made truffles, in a bid to give my family something different this year. And they went so well!

I imagine they will all be consumed before they get remotely near my family, but ‘tis the season to be jolly, fa la la la la, nom nom nom nom. 🙂

Are you ready?

61 Responses to “It’s The Hap – Happiest Season Of All!”

  1. visitingmissouri December 5, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Let’s be honest love, you were the plague on his life at the moment.

  2. egills December 5, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Ah, the joys of HMV, sadly I had to do that shop the other week twice! ( ** shudders** ).

    I rather like the look of your truffles, pity my screen isn’t a lick and taste one 😀

  3. ceciliag December 5, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    You just have the best time! I am so far away from my family that we just do present free christmas’. which means NO trips to HMV, though I do remember that dreadful store from my london days.. c

    • jennw2ns December 5, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

      Yeah, I was just thinking to myself, HMV. Wow. Forgot about that place. Which is a good thing, right?

      But I’ll bet you still don’t have people spraying other shoppers in the face with pepper spray like we have on this side of the pond.

  4. Bikram December 5, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    oh yes I know the feeling this year NO going to HMV ..

  5. La Chapstick Fanatique December 5, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    those look so yummy!!

    thanks for stopping by the blog. come again soon!

    http://lachapstickfanatique.blogspot.com

  6. thehomeheart December 5, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    No, I am not ready for Christmas yet (insert scream of panic here). I have no idea where 2011 went either! But now I seriously want that DVD of Pixar shorts 😉 Will you be posting the truffle recipe? They looked great!

    • jennw2ns December 5, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

      Or you could just make some more and ship them out to your readers.

      • tinkerbelle86 December 5, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

        if they are stable at room temperature I would be more than happy to take orders in the UK, I could start my own little sideline. However, they do have a large quantity of cream cheese in them so i need to see if they are stable at room temperature. If they are, all the relatives are getting them in cute little homemade boxes from Santa!

  7. blisstravelsnews December 5, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    You could always pop over to the Paris Xmas markets to do your shopping and avoid the “here to help” shirts entirely 🙂 Truffles look yummy. Bring some to share when you come. We’ll provide the spiced wine 🙂

  8. thereisnosanityclause December 5, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    The truffles look fabulous and I second the comment for a lick and taste screen…we have a ton of terrible shops comparable to HMV in the states, so I do feel you pain..hang in there!

  9. imagesbytdashfield December 5, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    You want Pixar DVD’s and I’m trying to find Dangermouse DVD’s. Happy shopping!

  10. LittleMissVix December 5, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Ooh werid I went into HMV on Sat and it was pretty empty so I managed to get HP on DVD stress free! Those truffles look yum!

  11. Michael Cargill December 5, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Those truffles look great – how did they taste?

    I haven’t been in HMV for years actually, I just order online or use YouTube…! I will be starting on the cheesecake early this year, my last day before Xmas is the 16th.

    I honestly cannot wait.

    • tinkerbelle86 December 5, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

      I’m diabetic so I only had one of the choc chip ones (ill put a full post up about the fun of the truffle making shortly, as everyone seems to want it!!) but it was pretty good.

  12. susielindau December 5, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    I have not even started yet! The good news is the week is totally free for me. Now if I could just get away from the computer…

  13. jennw2ns December 5, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Great blog. Thanks for visiting mine. How’d you find it? The only search-words WordPress is fessing up to are “sexysixtyyearolds.” Why would such a search lead to my blog? Um . . . do I have to answer that?

  14. ifoundmoneytoday December 5, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    what is HMV? i just want one of those truffles. how do we make that happen?

    • tinkerbelle86 December 5, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      You are so lucky you don’t have it. Its like Amazon, but a shop. There must be some US alternative but on my travels there I have so far managed to avoid! I’m hoping to come to the US in 2012 for a few months, maybe ill start a mail order truffle business from the kitchen of my family 🙂

  15. robpixaday December 5, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    Hahaaaaa!!!

    Great post!

  16. prenin December 5, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Hi Tinkerbubbles!!! 🙂

    Yes, I too hate shopping even on quiet days! 😦

    I have done my internet shopping for the season and now I have to wait for delivery which could take two weeks.

    Half my stuff has shipped already, but a couple of items are still waiting so I have to be patient.

    The weather here is horrible, cold, wet, windy and with flurries of snow to add to the fun so I’m staying home!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs sweety!

    Prenin.

    • tinkerbelle86 December 5, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

      Poor you I hate snow!! Love and hugs to you too 🙂

  17. nicole December 5, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    bahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! x999999999!
    “That doesn’t exist love” he responded (ohpleasedontcallmelove when you are twelve).
    thank you for bringing cheer to my day! 😀 x

    • tinkerbelle86 December 5, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

      thats alright honey! and we are working away at vegan recipes. Dont say we dont ❤ you!

  18. jules December 5, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    i hate hmv. Well, I don’t when they have my 80s cds in…

    that’s all I go in there for…. bahahaha. once every 3 months, then…. ->

    Jules

  19. egills December 5, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    Oh Tinkerbelle…. I found it on Amazon for you….http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pixar-Short-Films-Collection-DVD/dp/B000TQLJ28/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1323098207&sr=8-1

    • tinkerbelle86 December 5, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      aw thanks… i did get it in the end. I would recommend it though, its fab!

  20. madtante December 5, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    At least you had the satisfaction of knowing *he knew* he was wrong.

  21. societyred December 5, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Hi T! You have a great writing style, and you are funny! Great post…and no, I am nowhere near ready for Christmas. I don’t exactly know what kind of store HMV is but I’m sure I’ll find myself in a similar situation and place in the near future over here in the states. Wish me luck!
    Great blog, and thanks for checking out mine! Happy Holidays!

  22. bdewayne December 5, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    It’s nice,in a perverse sort of way to hear that Christmas shopping frustration is universal.The long lines;the surly store associates they are everywhere.Ho Ho Humbug?

  23. divaofdelicious December 5, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    I’m with you on the shopping experience…any time of the year. Can’t stand it! Brighter note: Truffles look wonderful…cute ending!

  24. Randy's: a little of everything December 5, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    I started reading this….and just couldn’t stop! I sympathize completely.
    Btw, what kind of truffles are those? I just recently made my first homemade truffles as well…with oreos! Check out the recipe on my blog!

    • tinkerbelle86 December 6, 2011 at 9:53 am #

      they were white chocolate and cranberry coated in white chocolate.. i need some practice!!

  25. Mrs. McIrvin December 5, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    mmmmmmm….truffles. you just inspired me, my dear. xoxo

    • tinkerbelle86 December 6, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      if you make them let me know how you go, mine are dead sqishy at room temperature!

  26. Russ Nickel December 5, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    I try to avoid shopping anywhere but the internet. I’ve done it so long now that even if I wanted to go out to a store, I couldn’t because the daylight would burn my pale skin.

  27. MegansBeadedDesigns December 5, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    I’ve bought ALL of my presents on the net this year. Mostly on Etsy.

    I heart shopping, but not during Nov-Dec. Forget about it.

    Plus I’ve worked retail before. So I hate it extra as a result.

  28. apronheadlilly December 5, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    I’m not ready for 2011 either! Oh, wait . . . 2012! Guess I missed a year.

  29. nelle December 5, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    I don’t miss the days of needing kevlar, steel toed boots, and a pith helmet in order to venture out into a mall…

  30. Coming East December 6, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    Enjoyed your post. Yes, I’m almost done with my shopping. Just need one more present for a son who is very hard to buy for. Hope I didn’t leave anyone out…

  31. winsomebella December 6, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    Marvelous truffles could ease any holiday pain….

  32. Marvin the Martian December 6, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    Yes, I quit shopping at stores because “clarks” don’t know wtf they’re talking about there. It’s just easier to order it online.

    May the rest of your season be less frustrating!

  33. nocturnefirefay December 6, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    What a beautiful blog! Thank you for passing through- come by any time! 🙂

  34. barkinginthedark December 6, 2011 at 2:14 am #

    love the truffles – as far as this “time of year” i hate to be a grinch…but it’s easily my least favorite time of year…property tax, income tax, terrible music, frigid weather…did i mention terrible music? continue…

  35. Just A Smidgen December 6, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    Truffles beat out any other gift in my books:)

  36. Barb December 6, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Thanks for the explanation of the HMV. I suppose the nearest thing we have to it would be Wal-Mart. You should visit it when you come. However, you’ll need to wear spandex pants and put on more weight. They sell truffles there, but they’re made of wax and brown stuff.

    • tinkerbelle86 December 6, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      actually I did really well in Target in Solana Beach last time I was there. I think Target is pretty similar, right? The lady was cooing over my ‘cute british accent’ (well, what can I say?!) and she only charged me $12 for a shampoo and conditioner, rather than $12 each. I was so pleased with myself, it was a good deal anyway as those are like £22 in the UK, but an amazing mistake!! 🙂

  37. Tilly Bud December 6, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    I’m surprised there aren’t more murders in big chains in December. I HATE Christmas shopping.

  38. racheldeangelis December 6, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Thanks for reading/liking my blog! My husband keeps giving me suspicious sidelong glances because I keep laughing out loud reading your blog posts. I will definitely have to subscribe. Can I just say how unfair it is that British people seem so much more adept at subtle wit/dry humor than Americans are? Jealous! Next time I spend a year abroad, it will have to be the U.K….maybe some “British-ness” will rub off on me!

    • tinkerbelle86 December 6, 2011 at 9:49 am #

      Oh Im sorry, maybe get him reading too? 🙂

  39. annie December 6, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    That’s so funny! I HATE HMV with a vengeance. It’s the most awful shop. I think because it’s designed by blokes, for blokes. There’s nothing for us girls in there. The only thing worse is someone buying me a DVD for Christmas. That’s the worst present anyone can give me.

  40. Karen (Back Road Journal) December 6, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    Truffles are so wonderful and will put a smile on anyones face.

  41. Qiana D'Mello December 7, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    awesome blog! HMV sucks! 😀

  42. wolke205 December 7, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Advent & Christmas tide are my fav time of the year. I love to go Christmas shopping, have some hot wine punch & bake cookies 🙂 Every year my hubby to be let me decorate a bit more of our home with Christmas sfuff 😀

  43. newsy1 December 7, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Love your blog and thanks for stopping by mine. I love Christmas but I deal with the stress end of it by purchasing gifts all year long and stashing them in a trunk, then trying to remember who I bought each gift for–It’s fun.

  44. havecoffeewilltravel December 7, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I hope you enjoyed it! 🙂

  45. Sharp December 8, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    X-mas \o/

  46. Rocinante's droppings December 10, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Yikes, I feel your pain. But my many attempts at edible gifts tend to result in a kitchen that looks post-apocalyptic. Not that that will stop me! Thanks for visiting my blog.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

