Ah Yahh… Totes

22 Nov

Fashion is a funny thing, isn’t it? I mean, some guy in an actual dead leopard tells the world that the most fashionable thing this month is trousers that look like pjs with a crotch round the knees and all of a sudden you see hoards of people wearing them outside, as if this was normal.

This is why I tend to avoid East London. I am not the trendy type of person who can pull of fake glasses (I have real glasses thank you, Granny chic) and I like clothes that I look and feel good in. I don’t feel the need to go out dressed in my night robe and acting like a sheep because everyone else is. So it made me laugh when going through my archived emails recently to find an email from a friend who had attended a trendy event, and been so horrified that she had recounted the evening to us as soon as she physically could. Permission had been obtained to publish it to you so that you can appreciate just how insane trendy people are. Due to my lack of imagination all names have been changed to Disney princesses 🙂

Enjoy!

‘Belle xx

By Ariel
Aged 24

So last night I had the ‘pleasure’ of seeing Cinderella in all her glory at her ‘delightful’ warehouse in Hackney. Not my idea of a fun night out, but at least Jasmine was with me.
Jasmine tried her best and warned me there would be dick heads. Vivid descriptions and even the Youtube video ‘Being a Dickhead is cool’ (worth a look) ensued. Still I was nowhere near prepared!

1) Jasmine and I got there before Cinderella, so 2 of her house mates were in. They neither spoke to us or smiled. Jasmine asked for a bowl to mix Sangria (realising early on alcohol was our only chance) and was offered “a sick bowl from next to my bed” by a particular dickhead, Cinderella2, AGE 32. Sadly we declined.

2) There was a “fashion dog” (an actual dog) at the party who has 800 followers on Twitter and “models” designer dog clothing.

3) Everyone there was wearing stupid fake glasses.

4) The dog was the nicest person there, followed by a gay guy who works in a ‘gay sauna’.

5) One of Cinderella’s house mates gave her some “really expensive” wine (everything was ‘really expensive’ or name dropping famous people or designers) and instructed her not to share it with anyone, while giving me and Jasmine death stares.

6) No one asked what my name was or what I did, yet I had to sit a listen to some guy talk about how ‘he’s freed himself from the restraints of work and is really focusing on blogging’ give a shit!! AKA you’re unemployed.

I’m sure more beauts will come to me throughout the day. It really was horrific!

Ariel x

I was recently told of a friend who had started to work in a trendy boutique in London, and on her first day she was informed that the only reason the manager was talking to her was because she knew one of the other girls who worked that. By the manager.

What is wrong with people these days? Adult bullying is appalling and that’s what it is. Sugar coat it as much as you like, but treating someone differently for how much money they have / how cool you perceive them to be is terrible. I also don’t get the dead with women knocking other women around them. It happens far too regularly for my liking. In a world where we all fight to be equal, why can’t us ladies embrace the successes of our fellow gender rather than picking on flaws?

23 Responses to “Ah Yahh… Totes”

  1. Kats Whispers November 22, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    It’s horrible how we treat each other. I know that I worry about what to wear when I meet up with friends in trendy Shoreditch, but I shouldn’t! The overwhelming pressure to confirm is hard to resist but by god I really should try harder.

    If someone doesn’t want to get to know you better just because of the clothes on your back then it’s safe to say they’ve not worth knowing…

  2. jules November 22, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    that sucks.
    I hate people who wear illfitting clothes anyway. Really, I don’t want to see your bumcrack. No wonder why I go for much older, mature men! 🙂

    However, I do love Little Mix’s style! 🙂

    Jules x

  3. Barb November 22, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Wow!! The voice of sanity. Of course, if people listened to you tinkerbelle, the fashion industry, jewelry industry, and fake eyeglass industry would crumble into bankruptcy.

    And what’s the deal with fake glasses? I haven’t seen the trend here in Oregon. Do they have lens, or are they frames only for nerd-effect?

  4. gojulesgo November 22, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Amen, Tinkerbelle! Wearing what feels and looks good is so much better than following the ridiculous trend of the second.

    That event sounds HORRIFIC, although it sure did give me a laugh! I believe it that the dog was the nicest person there.

    You’re right about adult bullying. People think because they have money or hang out in the cool crowd they’re better than everyone else. No different than grade school! Sadly, so often they get away with this appalling behavior!

  5. gabsfromeliza November 22, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Amen, chica! You’re right on the money… what is it with this fake bullshit that people portray that revolves solely around money, labels, and name dropping? It is what it is… a bunch of dog shit.

    Best quote ever? “From here on out, I am only interested in what is real. Real people, real feelings, that’s it, that’s all I’m interested in.” – Almost Famous

    Hope YOU have a fab day and as always, keep it real!

  6. promenadeplantings November 22, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    totally with you here! It’s vile. Mostly tho it’s other peoples insecurities and jealousies that we end up dealing with, if only they dealt with them themselves, then the world would be a better more positive place to live in.

  7. susielindau November 22, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Being a Dickhead’s Cool! Hahaha!

  8. Tori Nelson November 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    The video just made my day. Also? I could definitely use a guest post from that yippy, fashion dog. 800 followers? Seriously?

  9. J.C.V. November 22, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    I love fashion dog! Funny blog. Thanks for the laughs.

  10. cooper November 22, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Flogging insecurities has become a full time gig, I guess. Focus on blogging….greeeaaaat. What’s next? A class on creative twittering?

  11. barkinginthedark November 22, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    as a trend-setter let me say that i wear my totes at all times…even at home. you never can tell. continue…

  12. robpixaday November 22, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    People….so annoying.

    ::heavy sigh::

  13. prenin November 22, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    It is no surprise how ‘trendy’ people hack up anyone who they perceive as not being, it is a case of running with the herd and victimising anyone who is not ‘with’ the herd.

    So they don’t get hacked up in turn…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin – different and proud of it!!!

  14. Pie November 23, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    I live in East London. I have observed the hipsters of which you speak. In years gone by, they were happy enough colonising Shoreditch, Old Street, Brick Lane and Hoxton, but now they are spreading east to Bethnal Green and Whitechapel. When they successfully take over the badlands of Shadwell and Poplar, I will know for sure their mission is complete.

    That brilliant video is too close to the truth for my liking, even if it is taking the mick. I laughed hard from 2:18 onwards. Please, please, readers from around the world, do visit East London and watch the herd in action. You will not be disappointed.

  15. nelle November 23, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    I’m with you all the way. Choice is the way I go, in the larger sense – support the right for each of us to make our own choices. For three years I co-hosted iVillage’s feminism today board (now defunct) and aye yee yee… breastfeeding vs bottlefeeding wars, stay at home mom vs work out of home mom wars… here I’d try to get everyone on the same page, and the bullets flew at me.

    Whatever appearance works for you is kewl with me. I’m 57, and not about to walk around dressed like a teen, but then again, I don’t like to dress like I’m 90, either.

  16. Isabelle November 23, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    I really love your post, so true about it !
    I’ve never understood the deal about fake glasses, just like you, I have to wear real one and I was just so happy when I could wear lenses again. LOL I definitely not made to be an hipster…
    I had a quite similar experience at a Parisian party too, except that no one was talking to me because I was single and not afraid to come without any date. There were some guys talking about politics or economics “working” in some art industry, so you have to understand they were doing some photography or playing guitars in their spare time… Nothing about being a real artists !!
    Quite similar in fact, specially when you were really listening their speeches, the same that you could hear everywhere in this kind of party, something that they don’t even know anything about they were talking about because that is trendy !! Really funny in did !

  17. aprilsewingjournal November 24, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    great post

  18. insighttoriot November 25, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Incredible. Although it sounds like a horrible party, I am glad someone with the sense to recognize the absurdity was there to bear witness and then share it with us! Nuttiness.

    And yay happy to have found this delightful blog!

  19. Marvin the Martian November 29, 2011 at 4:07 am #

    Women are always the meanest to other women. I think it’s a flaw in the design, myself.

  20. Leah November 30, 2011 at 4:25 am #

    This is honestly so true. Women are SO hard on each other. I don’t get it. Why are women so mean to each other? I really really enjoyed this post and I can’t thank you enough for sharing.

    P.s. love the Disney princess name changes!

  21. Why does it bother me? November 30, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Excellent post. I think that YouTube video is comedy gold! I have seen it a squillion times yet it never fails to raise a titter!

  22. davidwallacefleming December 1, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    Wow… I wasn’t even aware of how crazy things are getting over in the UK. I bet this stuff is going on over in DC in the states also. That video about hipsters is really awesome and well done.

  23. Totes January 31, 2012 at 6:29 am #

    Will surely recommend this site to some friends! Very interesting site and articles. Really thankful for sharing. Regards,

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

