He’s After Me!

16 Nov

Mother Superior has this phrase that she always uses “it’s not you; it’s all the others out there”. It’s often said after she has told my sister to take care on the roads, and my sister has responded with comments about her driving ability being fine and that Mum shouldn’t worry. I normally let this go over my head, but a few things I’ve seen over the last few weeks has really made me question whether we should be more careful of other people. Or maybe the Grim Reaper is hiding round the corner, slapping his forehead in a comedy fashion as I make all these near misses. Maybe I’m just creating him a hard weeks work…

The first occurrence was when I was in the supermarket last week getting some lunch. I was driving along, and a women pulled up at the give way of one of the little side entrances, and pretty much waited until I was upon her, before pulling out at force. I had to do an emergency stop and swerve, and give myself a strict talking to, to not wind down the window and give her a barrage of abuse. The worst thing was that she gave me this really friendly wave, and it made me want to kill her.

I went about my day, and then a few days later Emma came into my room in the morning. This is not unknown as she is lovely and brings tea to the angry morning monster on a regular basis, but this time she came in with “I haven’t got tea… I just thought you should get up as there has been an accident and your route is closed.” Arse. That’s not what you want to hear in the morning. Although she did make me laugh by saying “maybe it’s shut because of flooding again”. No Ems love, it hasn’t been raining. As Noah will tell you, you need rain for a flood.

Anyway, I drove the normal route as the traffic the alternative way looked really heavy, which was fine as the accident was in the other direction. It’s a straight bit of road, and the lanes are all different so people don’t normally overtake there. What shocked me was that one of the cars involved was on its roof. On its roof at 8am on a Tuesday morning, on a bit of road that doesn’t normally see speeds of more than about twenty miles an hour as it is really congested. It perturbed me that for the rest of the day as to how the car ended up on its roof, as it couldn’t possibly be travelling at the speed or velocity to make it flip. I’m still waiting to find a news report that explains this to me.

I’ll keep you informed into any more near death experiences in my car!

12 Responses to “He’s After Me!”

  1. Bridgesburning Chris King November 16, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    I hate those near misses..although Imguess I would really hate if they weren’t ‘near’..and when a couple events like your happen I take it as a warning from above!!

  2. Just A Smidgen November 16, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    You have an angel looking after you.. good for you to not blast the parking lot maniac… I would have had a much harder time!

  3. Marvin the Martian November 16, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    I saw an Asian woman (in my opinion, a member of a class of “most dangerous driver”) make a poorly-judged left turn, and she got hit by a car coming the other way. Her car flipped over and slid right toward me, stopping about 3 meters away. I was blocked in by traffic waiting to turn left, so there was nothing I could do but watch her slide straight at me. That was scary. She wasn’t hurt but her car was a mess.

    I hope your traffic issues continue to be of the variety where you can avoid a collision!

  4. duncanr November 16, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Hhmm, considering the number of accidents or near accidents that seem to surround you when in your car, it would be a kindness to your fellow road users (pedestrians too) if you could publish, online, daily details of the route you will be taking and approximate journey times

    Just saying ! 😉

  5. Tori Nelson November 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    My best advice is to find a couch and sit super still! Too many crazies in too many parking lots!

  6. zendictive November 16, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    are you a monster in the mornings… or all day long? Is it a transformation mid-day (grinin’) my wife is the same way, she is a grizzly bear in the mornings and a panda bear at night, a simple change of clothing I believe (!_!)

  7. lovelylici1986 November 16, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    You should try driving in The Bahamas. It’s like there are no laws. Every man and woman for him and herself. No courtesy. You REALLY have to “drive for you AND them,” as my family often says. Even when I know I’m doing the right thing, I do constant mirror checks to see if there’s some moron that’s doing the wrong thing and could kill both of us (e.g. at roundabouts).

  8. prenin November 16, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Mad hun, but you now know that there’s nothing wrong with your reflexes!!!

    I’m glad I don’t drive – I’d need an APC to get through the local traffic!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  9. nelle November 16, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Hmmm… perhaps another struck and flipped it? We could put wheels on the cab roof, then if flipped we could keep on going. Of course, the roadway would look quite different upside down, and would require reverse manoeuvring.

  10. winsomebella November 16, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I’m with Mother Superior on this one…………..be safe.

  11. gojulesgo November 17, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Yeesh be careful out there (the part with Emma made me laugh out loud)!! Driving in New Jersey is death-defying. “No guts no glory” is the mantra you need to embrace to survive.

  12. Epizeuxis December 1, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    “Grim Reaper hiding round the corner, slapping his forehead because of the near misses” that was hilarious.
    He sure must be getting pretty frustrated if this is true by any chance. 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

