Reach for the Moon – Even if You Miss You Land Among the Stars.

14 Nov

I read a post that Jules wrote this week that said thank you to the people she was grateful for and it inspired me to do the same. There is something to be said about giving thanks to the people who make you and shape you, and although I give you some information on who made me me on ‘The Cast’ page, I sometimes need to take the time to talk about the people I need to give thanks to.

I think sometimes about how time flies and how I suddenly find myself at twenty five, still not having a clue what I’m doing, but ageing all the same. And as my life dances by like it’s on fast forward, so do the lives of the people around me which often causes me concern. As I reach thirty my grandparents will be reaching eighty, and the thought flits through my mind more and more regularly that they aren’t as robust as they used to be, and they won’t live forever. But this post isn’t supposed to be miserable or maudlin, but more to celebrate one of the most influential people in my life, and give me a chance to say thank you to someone that is quite possibly not aware of the impact he has had on my life.

“Grandparents make the world…a little softer, a little kinder, a little warmer.” Unknown

As a little girl, my paternal grandfather used to rub me up the wrong way all the time.  To a volatile teenager he was the most irritating person I knew, commenting on whether I had put on weight, or why I didn’t have a boyfriend, or just generally being full of glee as he wound me up. I was pretty tightly coiled, and one little thing could send me off in a huff. I remember one Christmas him making some comment designed to annoy and me flouncing off in a huff, slamming the lounge room door. The problem was that I have never been the most elegant, and I got the long string of my cardigan caught in the door, so ruined my dramatic exit somewhat by having to open said door, extract cardi and slouch off to my room.

“If wrinkles must be written upon our brow, let them not be written upon the heart; the spirit should never grow old.”James Garfield

But as I grow, I find him more and more fascinating and he has become one of the strongest male figures in my life. My Daddy is there on a day to day basis to impart his wisdom and even just listen if I need someone level headed, but I often find myself thinking about the advice my grandfather would give me should I ask him.

My grandfather is the cleverest person I know. He designed his own website at the ripe old age of seventy-ish (something that most twenty somethings would have an issue with) and when my sister had an issue with her maths he made her an excel spread sheet that would calculate all the problems for her, making her life a lot easier. He is fluent in a few languages and recently taught himself Portuguese to GCSE, just because he wanted to. His capacity to learn astounds me and he always has a twinkle in his eye when he tells a story (mainly because he doesn’t let the truth get in the way of a good tale, although we have now figured out his ‘tell’: he rubs his hands together when lying). He has traced both his and my grandmother’s family trees back for generations, and he is the best cook that I know. If it wasn’t for his staunch belief in me and my ability I may not have pursued half of my dreams; he has always given me self-confidence and the ability to be able to reach for the stars. He would do anything for his four granddaughters, and he truly is one of the most interesting people I know.

(My Granddad, a man who gave me my love of cooking and wine, (see above :)) and also my mental eyebrows)

So Granddad, it might not be your birthday, or a special day, but I want to say thank you for everything you have encouraged me to be.

“Do it flower, I think you’re super” My Granddad.

11 Responses to “Reach for the Moon – Even if You Miss You Land Among the Stars.”

  1. gojulesgo November 14, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    Aw, Tinkerbelle! This is wonderful, and I LOVE the picture of your Granddad! What’s funny is that YOUR “The Cast” page is one of the first things that drew me into your blog! 🙂 Your grandfather sounds like such a smart, interesting man. The bit about the cardigan (and the eyebrows – by the way I think yours are perfectly normal) really got me giggling.

    • tinkerbelle86 November 14, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

      Haha. My sister and I have inherited the Tinkerbrow!! (copyright). its a monstrous eyebrow that is wiry and long, and if left untrimmed can take over the face like bindweed. Granddad as been known to get ratty with any hairdresser who asks if they should trim the brows as well as the barnet. Hilarious!

  2. Danthonia November 15, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Given all my grandparents have passed away, I find this particularly uplifting and inspiring. I miss my nan, pa and grandma. Grandad died long before I was born. Pa always had an interesting story to tell and kept a young annoying boy occupied for hours on end. Thanks for sharing the memories.

  3. susielindau November 15, 2011 at 4:09 am #

    You are not aging yet since you are still so young! You crack me up! I am over, well a lot older than you and I don’t worry about aging – well, hardly at all!
    It sounds like you have a wonderful grandfather and support system!

  4. barkinginthedark November 15, 2011 at 5:05 am #

    age-wise you’re a zygote…enjoy it. what a lovely tribute to your grandad…and isn’t it curious – the older you get, the wiser he gets…hmmm…also, i always trim my eyebrows. continue…

  5. prenin November 15, 2011 at 5:13 am #

    Sounds like a lovely guy! 🙂

    My grandparents were lovely folks who provided a refuge away from my psycho dad and the happiest times of my life were spent at thier farm.

    Today I look back with love and gratitude.

    Sleep well my loved ones and rest in peace…

    Prenin.

  6. lifeintheboomerlane November 15, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    No matter how old we are (or how young) we can always see people and events through new eyes. I’ll bet your granddad couldn’t be prouder of you.

  7. Sunshine November 15, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    Wow, that is awesome to design a website at age 70! Your grandfather is smart and it’s great he uses his talents so well. Enjoyed reading your tribute 🙂

  8. LittleMissVix November 15, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Aw cute!

  9. twindaddy November 15, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    I think it’s great that you have a grandpa that is there for you. I never knew either one of my grandfathers. One died shortly after I was born and the other died years before I was born.

    As to the title of your blog, I’ve never understood that particular phrase. If you miss the moon you’ll be in empty space and the closest star will be the sun. Why would you want to be lost out there?

  10. Bluejellybeans November 15, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Very nice post, Bell!
    Grandparents are very important figure in every child. My 4 grandparents are gone now, but they taught me a lot and I still think of them very often.
    It is very nice of you to dedicate this post to your grandpa. 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

