Its Understood That Hollywood Sells Californication….

12 Nov

Thursday night was, in summary, the best night ever.

As you all know (because I have been talking about it A LOT) I went to see the Red Hot Chili Peppers on Thursday night at the 02 arena.

02 are a phone provider here in the UK, and when they were thinking of things to do with the failure that was the Millennium Dome, it was purchased as a music venue. Not sure I totally understand the point of the dome, but propaganda in the UK states that it was built to house the millennium exhibition for the turn of the century. This is clearly a reason I should run the country, whoever thought it was a good idea to spend such a lot of money on something that essentially just was one night, was a bit of a wally. I know the exhibition went on for ages, and maybe I should have made the effort to go, but in my opinion what they have done with it now is fantastic. It still looks a little bit like a toy story alien from afar though.

So we booked tickets to see RHCP ages ago, and although the date was looming I had forgotten it. Little sister and I share a mutual love for them, although in true sisterly fashion my favourites aren’t hers, and her all-time favourites are my ‘ah, there alright’ tracks. But this April we drove to LA and back to San Diego listening to mostly all RHCP music, as the rest of our tastes are so diverse they are the only ones we can settle on, and there is something in their music that makes you feel like you are really cool and totally content when you are driving through the Orange County in the sun with the roof down and Californication playing loud. The reality of it was that we were almost always behind a lorry and being smoked out with fumes, and I got some really dodgy burn marks from where the seatbelt was covering my skin, making me look like a demonic zebra. But the cool idea was there, no?

So yesterday I got a half day and we drove up to London. It made me laugh that the sat nav took us through all of the south London boroughs and not on the motorway, and at one point my ever so helpful sat nav asked my sister if she wanted to switch to pedestrian mode as we were going so slowly. No thank you!

When we took our seats, I have to say, I freaked out. I have two fears, heights and stairs. I know the latter is a bit strange, but as a child my dad used to have to carry me down stair cases in castles as I was so terrified of falling to my death. Spiral staircases are the worst. I think the stairs thing deserves a separate post though, it’s a bit mental. More on that later.

Anyway, so our seats were the last row from the back. This doesn’t matter because you have such an awesome view, but the stairs are quite steep and the seat rest of the row in front of you only comes up to your knee. I get this fizzy feeling in my spine when I am high up, and spent the whole support act thinking about how I was going to get back down, if I would cause a scene and that if I needed a wee there was no way I was going.

But then they came on. And I lost all fear, jumped up and boogied till I could boogie no more. I screamed along to Can’t Stop, Californication and Scar Tissue, and bopped to Dani California and all my other favourites. I couldn’t wipe the massive grin off my face as they jumped around the stage and put on, honestly, the best show I have ever seen. You think I was excited for Bruno Mars? That was just a warm up. They even blew Bon Jovi out of the water, and as the world’s biggest Bon Jovi fan ( I can’t back this up, I don’t have any tattoos or anything) I was surprised about this.

Nothing I can say will make you understand how fantastic this band are live, so just take me word for it and go see them. You won’t be disappointed.

21 Responses to “Its Understood That Hollywood Sells Californication….”

  1. barkinginthedark November 12, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    my homies. cool. continue…

  2. HaLin November 12, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Those steep stairs give me the creeps, when I think about them. I was forever glancing around furtively, hoping to (not) catch some unfortunate soul tumbling down them. 🙂

  3. prenin November 12, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    You just described one of my worst nightmares!!! LoL!!!

    I have a problem with heights too – except at the aerosmith concert which was a blast!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. prenin November 12, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Bugger – the notify flag didn’t ‘take’…

  5. susielindau November 12, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    How cool that you got to see them live and with their new guitarist! I love their new album and sound and think their music does capture the feel of California.

    Definitely write about about the stair issue~ ; )

  6. The Skinny Jeans and Starbucks Chronicles November 12, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    I am so jealous!! But really glad you had a good time despite your phobias. Did they play Charlie?!
    And I feel you on the stairs. Stadium stairs are the worst. You can see right underneath them :/

  7. Byron MacLymont November 12, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Anthony Kiedis once made a comment that the Chili Peppers are “L.A. to the bone.” Between them, early Van Halen and the punk band X you pretty much have L.A. encapsulated. Maybe through in a little smog.

    • tinkerbelle86 November 12, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      they do go on a bit about being from Hollywood when they are on stage. Im not a fan of LA… but ill let it slide on this occasion 😉

  8. nicole November 12, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    are you also scared of the ferris wheel? i am!
    californication is now stuck in my head.

  9. kathryningrid November 12, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    I love the inquiry about switching to pedestrian mode!! Our nav system isn’t quite so cheeky!

  10. nelle November 12, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    I get a little spooked by the steepness in new stadiums as well. As for the RHCP’s, I love Under the Bridge lots!

  11. Barb November 13, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    We call the back row the oxygen section. But, I’m with you, if a person stumbled they’d be at the pearly gates in minutes. I have my nav set to a male Brit’s voice, because he seems more patient than the American female who is exasperated with my every wrong turn.

  12. Marvin the Martian November 14, 2011 at 5:13 am #

    Wow, you ARE a serious fan! Everyone should have a band they love love love. I like “Aeroplane” myself, though that’s about the only RHCP tune I really like. Somehow it doesn’t really surprise me that you’re a rabid Bon Jovi fan too. There are a lot of you out there.

    • tinkerbelle86 November 14, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

      I know. Its his hair. I just adore him. I actually didnt realise what a RHCP fan I was until I was actually there and each song brought back another memory. It was truly awesome.

  13. zapple100 November 14, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    How is they new guitar player?

  14. megrug November 14, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    Hi!

    I’m kind of blog retarded. Which is funny since I write one. Anyway, I just figured out how to click on to yours. You are a great writer! And I know that high you get off of a great concert. There is truly nothing better than live music. Have a great week!

    Meg 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 November 14, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

      well in that case thanks for taking the time to comment!

  15. mistymaplesfarm November 14, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    Sounds like huge fun…I am soo afraid of heights, but once I am seated “way up there” I am fine…however there would be no boogieing!! Or moving about, or turning in my seat…true, true,

  16. JamieAnne November 15, 2011 at 3:20 am #

    I adore the Red Hot Chili Peppers! Sounds like a lovely time!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

