Fireworks!

7 Nov

I love bonfire night. I love the whizzing and the banging of the fireworks, and the crackling of the logs on the massive bonfire. I love the fact that it smells of autumn, and the bonhomie of everyone all gathering round a big pile of smouldering twigs to celebrate the catching of a man trying to kill the king. It doesn’t seem to matter to people that it is stems from religion and this isn’t something that most people in the UK are enamoured with, because Guy Fawkes was a Catholic trying to oust a Protestant King, it just matters that we all go to the nearest field to watch a scarecrow being ignited. Fab.

My cats, on the other hand, do not. I never got to spend a bonfire night with my kittens as by that time they were firmly in ex-boyfriend lair, never to be returned, but two cats live at my Daddy’s house. Jake is a three legged ginger Tom who is partial to walking with a limp in his front paw when in the company of strangers. This is often amusing, but takes the biscuit when perfect strangers knock on our front door to tell us that they think our cat got hit by a car. He then recovers miraculously and pegs it through the door, straight to his bowl. He is nothing if not a show pony. He is named Jake after the rhyme about Jake the Peg (the character had an extra leg rather than one missing, but my sister has poetic licence) and my Dad affectionately refers to him as ‘Tripod’.

The other is the little ball of mischief. She is a tiny little cat who we have had since a kitten, and she resembles a little owl. She has really long fur and these little sticky up ears that twitch and flatten when she hears something so teamed with her big, beady eyes, she looks like a bird. It’s quite amusing. They live in relative harmony, Rosie teasing the old man and nipping at his ears, Jake permitting her to do so until he loses patience and hisses so that she curls up like a hedgehog and goes shooting off to hide in the sofa. That is, until bonfire night. The loud bangs and sharp whizzes are fairly disconcerting for the menagerie, and they both become very loving and needy, as if to say “Help me, human! I don’t like all this noise!” we dutifully shut them in the kitchen and put our warm clothes on, ready to see the bangs and sparkles in their full glory.

What is your favourite holiday?

25 Responses to “Fireworks!”

  1. Ape No. 1 November 7, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    It appears that the Owl and the Pussy Cat relationship did result in a tiny little owl kitty offspring. Fantastic imagery as usual Tink!

    • tinkerbelle86 November 7, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

      hahah I know.. they didnt say that in the story did they?

  2. thesweetkitten November 7, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    My favorite holiday is Xmas, probably because I can celebrate it twice. The first time in Belgium with my family, the second time in Denmark with the family of my boyfriend 🙂

  3. prenin November 7, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    Definitly Christmas! 🙂

    I can’t buy the kids presents, but I still manage to get Pat something which she loves as hubby Neil never gets her anything! 🙂

    These days the kids refer to me as Pat’s second husband!!! LoL!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. Preena @ A Teaspoon of Turmeric November 7, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Hallowe’en for sure! The element of getting scared and dressing up in a costume that is totally not you is what I love about Hallowe’en!

  5. E. He November 7, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    ooo I wish I had bonfire nights! Plenty of fireworks in China, though.. Too many. Scares the living daylights out of me, but maybe I should just think of Katy Perry whenever I hear them. She soothes my soul.

  6. barrycyrus November 7, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    Christmas and New Year’s! 😀 Food food food!

  7. mistymaplesfarm November 7, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    We have a family bonfire on New Year’s Eve! Love, Love.

  8. cooper November 7, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    National Absurdity Day – November 20 – be absurd!!!!

  9. jules November 7, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    my birthday! 😀

    Saying that, I haven’t been to a bonfire event in year!

    Jules
    http://andsuddenlyisee.wordpress.com

  10. LittleMissVix November 7, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    I have a massive fear of fireworks! My fave holiday is Xmas 🙂

  11. BougieHippie November 7, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Thanks for liking my post!

  12. Lily-Elaine Hawk Wakawaka November 7, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    Thanks for the “like” ! Glad to hear from you and find you here too!

  13. gojulesgo November 8, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    Ohhh, do you have any pictures of Jake and Rosie online? They sound SO adorable! I’m totally mystified (read: fascinated) by this holiday you’re describing*. My favorite holiday is Christmas, with my birthday and Halloween tying for second place 😉

    *With Le Pep’s voice echoing in my head (he’s not home tonight), I looked this up. Guy Fawkes Night?

  14. barkinginthedark November 8, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    i adore cats. they are such entertaining, amusing creatures. i’m madly in love with a Maine Coon cat named Magic…i could write reams about him, but not now. thanx for telling us about your two. continue…

  15. Marvin the Martian November 8, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    I always thought Guy Fawkes Day was an odd celebration.

    We like the Fourth of July and New Year’s the best, because of the fireworks.

  16. Sandra Bell Kirchman November 8, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    I like fireworks for the same reasons you do – the sound, the excitement, the great visual display. But our dogs don’t, especially our little male, Oreo. He tries to be brave, but he is terrified of thunder and these fireworks sound too much like thunder to him. He shivers and shakes and pants. Finally my hubby will take him downstairs to the basement and sleep with him down there, because you can’t hear the sound as well in the basement.

    My favorite holiday? Hmmm – I love St. Patrick’s Day because of the singing, dancing and drinking green beer, but I guess it would have to be my birthday. It has always seemed a very special day to me, mostly, I guess, because my folks made it that way.

  17. bass November 8, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    Hey there! I’ve been reading your site for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic job!

  18. Gretchen O'Donnell November 8, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    There are some things we miss out on in the USA. Guy Fawkes Day is one of them..and it’s too bad! I mean, who doesn’t like a good excuse to set off fireworks!!

  19. life is a bowl of kibble November 8, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    I live in the States and never heard of this holiday. I love learning new things.

  20. foodieonthe49th November 8, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Don’t you think it’s strange that the fireworks are coming out of her chest? Whenever I see that video, it make me wonder.

  21. rastelly November 9, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    Where I live Halloween, thanksgiving, christmas and new year all seem
    to run together in a blur. Then after that there is Mardi gras. (fat tuesday)
    It basically marks the beginning of lint, a period of fasting. (Through nobody
    who celibrates actually fasts, as least none that I know.) and supposedly comes from the french ‘carnival’

    Special cakes are made containing small, plastic babies hidden inside. I think it’s supposed to be the baby jesus – but I can’t imagine what he would be doing in a cake. Any who, the person who’s slice contains the baby – granted they don’t choke to death – has to throw the party next year – or buy the next cake, it varies. (Babies are now sold seperately to avoid lawsuits.) The King Cake is basically a giant donut covered in rainbow frosting and sometimes filled with fruit, choloate or vanilla creme filling.

    There are also parades. The parades in New Orleans are known for their spectacular floats, and plastic beads are thrown down to spectators. In rural
    areas clows on horseback – I’m not kidding. Ride from one house to another begging for ingreadiants for a special stew – that all will share at a party that
    night. Driving is difficult during this “Gumbo” run. One always has to watch for riders in pointy hats.

    A holiday about burning terrists at the stake sounds rather peaceful by
    comparison. I could sit back and roast marshmellows. 🙂

  22. Team Oyeniyi November 9, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    At the moment, ANY holiday would be welcome! I don’t have a favourite, other than the Christmas/New Year break which means BEACH BEACH BEACH!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. giant twist comfort cs - November 15, 2011

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: laughteriscatching.com/2011/11/07/fireworks/ […]…

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

