Night Nurse

6 Nov

There is nothing worse than a morning where you took too much night nurse the night before. As you might have read previously, I have real trouble sleeping so every now and again, if I am feeling really under the weather and the lack of sleep isn’t helping me, I take a dose of night nurse. It knocks me out like a round in the ring with Tyson, and I catch up on my sleep to leave me rested in the morning. Or so I think.

But the problem is that I am small in stature, and it’s an exact science. So one capful for a normal sized person will lull them to sleep and ease the symptoms of their cold or flu, leaving them calm and rested in the morning, ready to face the day with a new vigour.

Doesn’t work like that for me.

I have to take it as I walk in the door from work, otherwise the effects last long into the next morning and I am drugged and disorientated. And this isn’t a joke.

The alarm goes off. I am yanked from slumber like someone has hit me in the face with a frying pan, and my day doesn’t get any better from there. I get dressed and leave for work, marvelling at how organised that was and how I don’t even feel rubbish at all anymore! I sit in traffic on the way to work and somewhere along the journey realise that my leggings are on inside out and that the seam is sticking out down my leg for all to see, not to mention when I get out the car the label will be fairly obvious and flap in the wind. If this hasn’t happened I sit smugly in the car patting down my hair which has taken on a life of its own and is threatening to blind me and wondering why I don’t have the energy to even sing along to the radio. I get to work, go to the loo and realise there was a casualty; I have my pants on inside out. Or back to front. Or in some cases, both.

In the summer I don’t need to take anything to help me sleep. I often don’t mind being awake when it is light and the rest of the world still sleeps, and have been known to get up, go for a walk in my pjs and then get back into bed as sleep washes over me. Admittedly, it’s not that great in the summer when I have left the window open all night (I find it easier to sleep with the breeze running over my skin) and the birds wake me up having a sing off on the fence post, but mostly I can cope with less sleep in the summer months.

But the winter is a totally different matter. I honestly think that in a former life I was a hibernating animal, and November through February you can find me in my bed for most of my free time. Either reading, writing, watching TV or, for the majority of the time, sleeping! And if I can’t sleep I get teary, thinking about the fact that I am on a different time zone to everyone on the same continent as me, and worrying how I will even make it through till lunch time on four minutes sleep in the last forty eight hours. If you know me you will know it’s true that I don’t function well without sleep, and am the most akin to a zombie as you will ever see.

So I take a bit of night nurse in the hope it will let me drift off with ease. It does. There have been some hilarious casualties to my reputation from night nurse induced situations. It doesn’t actually knock you out per se, just makes it far easier to drift off. For this reason I have had a couple of text messages which have woken me up and I have responded to. Cue confused message the next day from the recipient asking me to turn off predictive text/explain my point/enquiring if I had had a stroke.

Maybe I should go cold turkey….

Related Posts:

Conciousness: That Annoying Time Between Naps
The Early Bird Doesn’t Always Catch The Worm

19 Responses to “Night Nurse”

  1. lostbutf0und November 6, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    I wish we had night nurse.^^ Sounds great. Well, for a normal sized person at least.
    What happens if you just take less? Wouldn’t that work?

    • tinkerbelle86 November 7, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

      somehow no. it seems to be an exact science. for example, if you take it then have a shower, it seems to counteract the effect!

  2. jamieonline November 6, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    It’s months since I visited your blog – I’m glad I’m back.
    Great post! I can really relate to that. If I take NN then I too get knocked out. It’s like being hit by a bus. I can’t actually wake up the next morning. It’s a Friday or Saturday option only – otherwise I’d never get back to school for work.

  3. barkinginthedark November 6, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    this is a true tale…i have no trouble sleeping, but i thought i oughta take a sleeping pill on a flight to Australia so i’d be sure to sleep. a friend gave me an Ambien…BIG mistake -for me. i woke up in the middle of the flight, staggered to the bathroom, semi-unconscious, and proceeded to urinate in my pants! TMI? maybe…but it happened, and i actually had to laugh when it did. i hope you get some sleep. continue…

    • tinkerbelle86 November 7, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      hahaha. i had a similar incident with temazepam and a flight to oz,only i fell asleep and dribbled on this ladys shoulder rather than weeing myself!

  4. Leanne T November 6, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I have never heard of Night Nurse, so had to Google it. I don’t think we have it here in the US, but it sound like it works better than NyQuil. Hope you get some sleep!

  5. prenin November 6, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    I have Zopiclone off the doctor and need a double dose to knock me out, four times the dose the next night and the third night nothing affects me!!!

    I used night nurse as a backup and it was VERY effective, but expensive for what it is…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  6. visitingmissouri November 6, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    You should consider keeping a diary to empty your mind before you sleep. Even better: take night nurse, write it while your drugged and make a weekly post out of it. I know I can’t wait for it. I do recognize your troubles and the desperate attempts to do something about it. I remember not being able to sleep, waking up my girlfriend and change the sheets to try that out. She was sleeping against the wall while I was being the best maid ever. Didn’t help though…

  7. An Observant Mind November 7, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    I swear you are me 15 years ago! I (still) have sleep issues and take tylenol PM with sometimes disastrous results if I don’t take it early enough in the evening as you mention. That frypan-to-the-face-thing is a real killer!! Loved this post!

  8. life is a bowl of kibble November 7, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    It is sort of like friends should not let friends text and night nurse 🙂

  9. steph November 7, 2011 at 2:48 am #

    There’s definitely something about the colder, darker months that make you want to curl up in bed. Are you a fan of hot toddies? I guess they’re my alternative to Night Nurse.

  10. Marvin the Martian November 7, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    A nice cup of hot tea works for me.

  11. Danielle November 7, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    You left out the funniest parts of night nurse induced comas!
    I dont think ill ever take it again after the not being able to move my arm incident, but then again maybe it was just a very vivid dream!

  12. LittleMissVix November 7, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    Never tried it. Kind of want to now 🙂

  13. ceciliag November 8, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    can you take a half? Or do you only get a half-sleep then? poor you, I wish i could help but i just sleep!.. c

  14. boudicabpi December 12, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    What is Nightnurse, never heard of it.
    Bob A.

  15. skyebluepink January 7, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    My first ever experiment with night nurse tonight. Beginning to feel a little drowsy. All good because I didn’t sleep AT ALL last night.

  16. Lora September 27, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    Some people seem to react badly to Night Nurse. It’s not about your size, I think. I’m a tall woman, 5ft 10 and if I take it I will feel terrible for the whole of the next day.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

