Hubble Bubble Toil and Trouble!!

31 Oct

It’s that time of year again, when Halloween is on upon us. People head out dressed as ghouls and mummies and it’s a great fun night out. In the UK it is less adopted than in the US, but did you know the tradition actually started in the UK for a totally different reason?

It’s an amalgamation of two things. The first is the night before Hallows Day (1st of November) which signals the end of the harvest and the beginning of the winter. Farmers used to carve turnips to celebrate the end of all their hard work. This tradition, in hand with the poor visiting the rich and being given money in exchange for their prayers for the dead, is how Halloween and trick or treating came about. If the rich didn’t offer a gift in exchange for prayers, then the theory was that their ghosts would come back and wreak havoc.

Which brings us back to modern day Halloween. Or all Hallows Eve, which I think sounds better and far creepier!

When I was younger I was never allowed to go trick or treating, or go to Halloween parties. My Mum saw it as a form of begging and didn’t think it was very safe, but then ten years ago it wasn’t so widely celebrated in the UK. I don’t have any trick or treating stories to share, but I would love to hear yours!

I was invited to a Halloween party this weekend, but I didn’t go as I think I have caught a mild strain of the Bubonic Plague. Friday night was spent in with my hot water bottle and cold medicine, and the weekend has remained fairly tame which is a shame as I love some white face paint and lashings of fake blood!

When I worked in lettings there was a house that we were trying to let a good few miles away. No one wanted it because the village was a bit creepy and the house a little run down, but we made our best efforts to do viewings on it regardless. A few days before Halloween that year I had an evening viewing out there, so made the drive through the village to see scores of scarecrow like dummies perched on fences and hiding in driveways, dressed up as various Halloween creepies. It turns out that the village follow traditions from decades gone and decorate these dummies to ward of the ghosts and ghouls and protect the villagers on All Hallows Eve. Great, but thoroughly disturbing when driving through at night if you aren’t expecting it!

Favourite Halloween film: Hocus Pocus. I absolutely adore the bit when the witches fly off on the vacuum cleaner.

Favourite Halloween song: The Monster Mash. My Mum does a great impression!

Favourite Halloween costume: My bat one was pretty special. I used an umbrella for wings, but got stuck in it after a few drinks and ruined a perfectly good cardigan!

On the subject of Halloween costumes, don’t forget to enter my fancy dress competition.

What are your Halloween favourites?

If you haven’t already don’t forget to enter my fancy dress competition!

19 Responses to “Hubble Bubble Toil and Trouble!!”

  1. jules October 31, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    urgh, I hate hallowe’en. Such a commercial holiday!

    Mind you, I do LOVE ghostbusters…..!! 🙂

    Jules

  2. magsx2 October 31, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Hi,
    I haven’t heard Monster Mash for years, I still enjoyed it, but of course my favourite was Thriller. Happy Halloween. 🙂

  3. prenin October 31, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    I love Hocus Pocus, I have a copy of Monster Mash on MP3, but I haven’t dressed up in decades!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. LittleMissVix October 31, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Happy Halloween!

  5. alternative eating October 31, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    I love Thriller:) Happy Halloween:) 🙂

  6. mistymaplesfarm October 31, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    oohh, thew John Belushi fact is a bit unsettling….

    My brothers,sisters, and I used what ever we could find to make costumes, most were very creative ( as we had little to no extra money for costumes) we had a blast making them though…we used pillow cases to collect the loot, and a lot of it!
    Happy Halloween!
    Jess

  7. thewaiting October 31, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Thanks for the clip from Ghostbusters! This felt like the theme song to my life when I was a kid because the sequel came out right when my little brother was four. He was obsessed with it until he was eight and sang the song probably three times a day for that entire period of time 🙂

  8. susielindau October 31, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    I have seen Hocus Pocus at least 5 times!

  9. gojulesgo October 31, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Totally agree about calling it all Hallows Eve, and the part about getting stuck in the umbrella is classic! I used to be a very strategic trick-or-treater, plotting the route in advance to maximize the candy-getting before it got too late in the evening. I HATED it when people weren’t home and left out a basket of candy that said, “Take One.” Inevitably when I got there, some hooligan had already emptied the entire thing into his own basket. Even as a kid, I knew that was such bad karma. Seriously.

    I hope you’re feeling better, and Happy Halloween!!

  10. breezyk October 31, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    I also love Hocus Pocus- I posted about this today! I totally forgot the SJP sings in that movie… she should probably stop that.

  11. Steve October 31, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Love the Monster Mash! I was young when it was new; it brings back great memories.

    Regions have their own end-of-October customs. I live in Texas, and there are lots of Mexican-American people here; they celebrate Día de los Muertos, usually with big family gatherings in memory of lost loved ones. Some of their wood or cane carvings are amusing: I have one which is a whole (musical) band of skeletons, in miniature.

    When you started out “Hubble Bubble,” I thought maybe someone had set out to revive the telescope. 🙂

  12. Doc November 1, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    A mild strain of the Bubonic Plague would be a great basis for a Halloween costume. Does your skin turn all pastie? Or all flushed? Either way, as long as you’re not contagious, get out there and party!

  13. barkinginthedark November 1, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    i’m dressing up in a full-body condom. i’m going as Rush Limbaugh, who tho’ he prolly has a very teeny john thomas, still manages to be America’s fattest, and biggest, prick. continue…

  14. Rachael Black November 1, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    Perfect History of Halloween movies/vidieos through the recent ages -grin-..gotta run. time to being sticking those razor blades into candy again. A real old fashioned All Hallow’s tradition in our family

  15. Marvin the Martian November 1, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    Happy Halloween! I hope you’re feeling better! Thank you for visiting my little corner. And thanks for posting “Ghostbusters” (right, Ray Parker Jr. was sued by Huey Lewis for stealing the riff from “I Want a New Drug”) and “Somebody’s Watching Me.” I miss the 80s. “Thriller” has been done to death though. 😉

  16. Tinkerbell November 1, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    Hey, nice blog you have here, and it looks like you and I have a few things in common!

    Looking forward to reading more 🙂

  17. admin November 3, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    I love Halloween – as an American, it has always been a tradition to have school parties, carve jack-o-lanterns and wear costumes and go trick-or-treating. Unfortunately, these days, children often don’t get to celebrate fun holidays in school, and if they do, then the party food has to be “healthy”. Lots of concern about health issues. But I ask you, what party should have healthy food?? 😉 I always liked the homemade cupcakes and brownies and popcorn! Anyway, I wanted to share with you a favorite Halloween movie of mine: Beetlejuice. Lots of fun musical bits and funny sight gags!

    • tinkerbelle86 November 4, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

      totally put the seed of thought in my mind now, i need to watch this this weekend…

  18. xandimusic November 4, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Very nice vids!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

