*Insert Victory Dance Here*

27 Oct

I love to write. It doesn’t really matter what I’m writing about but my overactive imagination is like a kid in the Disney store. It’s not about picking one thing to play with, it’s about running around touching everything, picking things up and turning them over and yelling “I want one! It’s so FLUFFY!!!” at the top of their voice.

It’s like that in my head. When I get the creative bug I start writing, think of another thing to talk about, start writing about that, touch on another topic, break that piece into two as I have gone off on another tangent, and then tie up all the loose ends ready for publishing. Like the metaphorical parent at the till.

Now Belle, I tell myself, you need to focus. Channel the funny. Channel the funn… ooooooh, remember when you fell down that hole and it was super embarrassing? That will get a giggle. Really you are just a laugh whore. Write a bit. Actually start writing about when you fell on your face. Actually remember that time when your pants landed on the floor at the pool and……

So it surprises me the sheer amount of you that actually think my musings are worth not only a read, but coming back for. This train of thought is sparked by two things.

1) A conversation had with my Daddy yesterday. He said “People really like your writing, Belle. I’m touched by all the ages they are and places they come from. They put real stock in your work”. “Well” I said “I have over four hundred and twenty subscribers so it’s them. My gang. The Tinker Tribe!! (This amused me for far longer than necessary)” “That’s an AWFUL LOT” he replied. And when I think about it actually yes, it is an awful lot. So thanks guys! (And if you haven’t subscribed, yes, you, sitting at your desk with the Jaffa cake. I can see you. Why the hell not?! Make sure you also follow me on Twitter and Facebook, where you will experience the shameless plugging that you are used to at all times).

2) The second was something that happened to me yesterday morning. Waiting for the girl I give a lift to work to, I browsed to WP on my mobile to see how many of you had checked in. normally at 8am I see around ninety where my American friends have hit my site in the early hours when I am sleeping. Six hundred and nine. SIX HUNDRED AND NINE? WTF?! I originally thought that couldn’t be right. Sometimes the site stats take a few hours to click over to the next day. “Bad WordPress” I thought. “Humpf”. I checked again on my lunch break. Nine hundred and sixty-seven. Where the heck are you guys coming from?! Had I been Freshly Pressed?! (Wishful thinking. BrainRants is hogging that spot :)).

When the day finally ended, I had achieved 1,330 unique hits. I don’t know that many people, and my Mum is on holiday so she can’t possibly have rounded up the Calendar Girls mafia from their gardening to bully people into reading. 🙂

So anyway, I just wanted to take the time to say thank you. I have also posted something worth reading today, but in the true spirit of passing out love, I want to say thanks. I’m just another girl with too much in her head and a passion for metaphors and similes and letting sentences spin around my tongue and form like spider webs before I let them fall from my fingers. I’m that kid that loved English lessons, that pored over books and that wrote wherever she could, with rhymes, essays and short stories. I wasn’t the coolest kid at school, or the loudest or the sportiest (huh!), but it turns out that what is important as a kid is no longer important as an adult and having a talent and a passion is what makes people want to know you.

Look at that people, the geeks got cool.

35 Responses to “*Insert Victory Dance Here*”

  1. imonthebandwagon October 27, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    1,000 of those are mine. I just refresh the page alot to mess with your head tink

    • tinkerbelle86 October 27, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      sad. face!

      • imonthebandwagon October 29, 2011 at 9:25 am #

        iiiiiiiiiiiiit’s a joke! Seriously, well done! You have done amazing!

        • tinkerbelle86 October 29, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

          i know! if you were hitting my page 1000 times i would call the police 🙂

          • imonthebandwagon October 30, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

            If I was hitting your page a 1000 times, I would hand myself to the police

  2. Julia (AKA Jules) October 27, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    aww congrats to you Belle, you totally deserve it!! 🙂

  3. prenin October 27, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Hi Hun! 🙂

    Yes you do write well, you can spell and you have a naturally funny gift for making your posts interesting! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. mrsbongle October 27, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    You’re so nice and you get up to such fun things it makes me wish I knew you personally! Best wishes.

  5. sparklebumps October 27, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    Oops! I forgot to let you know that I gave you the Versatile Blogger Award! I KNEW I forgot to tell someone! That may have helped a small bit, but you get so many views because you’re just awesome. 🙂 XOXO
    http://sparklebumpsthebookwhore.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/a-versatile-blogger-2/

  6. graysonjack October 27, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Congratulations! I’m totally jealous…but in a non-threatening way. Keep up the great work.

    P.S.- That’s cute you call your dad, daddy. Haha, sorry. I just don’t hear that very often.

  7. Bluejellybeans October 27, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Congrats Belle! You are my hero 😉

    • tinkerbelle86 October 30, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      ha thanks! youre mine after ive seen that pic of your fancy dress outfits. Awesome!

  8. pattisj October 27, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    The Tinker Tribe–cool name. 🙂

  9. LittleMissVix October 27, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Congrats, you deserve it chick! Woo hoo!

  10. kayjai October 27, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Congrats…sooo happy for you….

  11. Miss Demure Restraint October 27, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    You go girl!

  12. theduffboy October 27, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    A victory dance is very suited for a time like this. Congrats!

  13. thesweetkitten October 27, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Hello,

    I enjoy your blog so much, I am passing along to you the “Versatile Blogger Award”. Details at http://cosytravels.wordpress.com/2011/10/27/the-versatile-blogger-award/ Thanks for the great reading, thesweetkitten!

  14. duncanr October 27, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    if it wasn’t for me, it would only have been 1,329 hits 😉

  15. kathryningrid October 27, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Good on you!!! You have built quite the community, but then you were wise to use the skills you have for spreading laughter far and wide: that’s a gift that is pretty irresistible. All best!

  16. gojulesgo October 27, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    My flawless taste in bloggers should have been your first clue, but site stats will also do, I suppose. 😉

  17. Rach @ This Italian Family October 28, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    I love your dad’s encouraging words to you. So sweet! 🙂

  18. AG October 28, 2011 at 3:58 am #

    YOU’RE THE BEST!!!!!! CONGRATS TO YOU! You deserve a TRILLION hits.

  19. Professional Napper October 28, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Love your writing! Especially the part about your dad. Keep up the good work!

  20. Doc October 28, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    I’m sorry but that is totally disgusting. Over 1300 hits in one day? No wonder no one visits my blog, they’re all too busy reading yours.

  21. weathervane November 20, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you personally? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome web site!

  22. Doc November 21, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    On my best day I had 63 visits and I was ecstatic. Now I’m envious. Oh well, just gives me something to strive for! Congrats!

  23. horse weathervane copper November 24, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips for newbie blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  24. Anabel Bartosik December 28, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  25. Sandra Bell Kirchman January 5, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    Passion! That’s the ticket. I don’t care if people are passionate about…oh, I dunno…shoelaces. If they show the passion in their writing and write well, they will be much sought after. And other people will start collecting shoelaces 😛 You go, Belle. You’re a love and a passion princess 😉

    • Sandra Bell Kirchman January 5, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      I meant “if they write well enough to express their passion.” (I wasn’t being a snob |)

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

