The One Where Belle Defeats A Dragon

26 Oct

Once upon a long ago I had a bit of a schizophrenic personality. At home and with people I was comfortable with I was fierce and fiery, never too scared to say what I thought and a little volcano of emotion, but around new people; at school, with strangers, I was a little more shy. As I have got older, I still wear my heart on my sleeve but certain experiences have made it necessary for me to amalgamate the two. And I think you get that with age as well.

One particular experience was when I was twenty. I was offered a job as an account manager for Clarins managing my own teeny micro shop within a store, and I was over the moon! My pretending to be the lady on Estee Lauder when met with difficult situations had paid off, and it was noticed! I was so happy.

When I got to the store on my first day I realised the problem. Her name was Pam (name changed to protect the identity of individuals, whether real or fictitious) and she was my part-time lady. Nice at first, but it soon turned out to be a little bit like a scene out of sleeping beauty. I was the prince going to rescue the princess (read: failing cosmetic counter) from the dragon (Pam). Are we all up to speed? The ten (yes TEN) account managers that she had defeated before me were cast like dead suitors along the way, and I soon felt a little bit concerned about the safety of my life (career with cosmetics).

It started off fairly innocently. She had clearly manipulated the people before her so she could do whatever she wanted, and I wasn’t going to be defeated by a lady who only worked three days a week while I had to slog hard for five to pay my rent. First I tried to change the working days, as the weekends are the busiest and had the most staff. “I don’t work Saturdays” was the response. I tried my hardest “I know but your days are flexible and if we want to bring this business out of the pyre we need to put the work in.” It soon descended. Her “I’m not working Saturdays.” Me “Ohyesyouare!” If I could have added ‘madam’ on the end and got away with it, have no doubt, I would have, but she was fifty-six and hated me already.

Anyway, in the twelve months that I stuck it out, we had some interesting conversations, faux nice exchanges, and downright fiery confrontations. At one point I just turned around and walked out of the double doors, intent on never seeing her bulldog chewing wasp-esque face again. My lovely friend Miss Lancome chased me out, gave me a verbal smack down and told me that if I walked out now she would be that problem toddler that the next person couldn’t deal with either. So I walked back in and styled it out.

And how I cried. A week didn’t go by (except when she was on holiday) where I didn’t cry, but never in front of her. My friends within the department would sneak up to the loo on my tea break with a mascara so I could touch up the mask, and I would return with all the joy de vivre that you would think I was working my last shift before a holiday.

And then came Australia-gate. She wanted three weeks off to visit her son in Australia. I thought personally that it was only fair (in my head I was looking forward to three weeks on my own!) but the decision was out of my hands and down to our Area Manager, who said no. This became my fault, and she handed in her notice.

Prince Belle 1 – Dragon 0!!


I found a new job a mere two months later, but still to this day feel like I did the woman who succeeded me a great justice. And she has a well performing beauty counter to run. I thank you.

Have you ever had to deal with someone really problematic?

25 Responses to “The One Where Belle Defeats A Dragon”

  1. prenin October 26, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    I had a nightmare boss called Tony who was a crook who robbed me blind and when his business got hit by the tax man he tried to sell me as a company asset – He’d been bullying me and making false promises to employ me full time and pay me a bonus of £1,000 per program, but it didn’t happen so when the tax man got him he tried to rob me of my libraries and when he failed to get what he wanted and I stood up to him he broke down and cried…

    He now works from home and is happy, but the rest of the staff blamed me for the business going under…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • tinkerbelle86 October 26, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      im slightly confused. he tried to rob you of your libraries?

      • prenin October 27, 2011 at 9:40 am #

        Programs are built of smaller programs which are added together to make the finished product.

        The disks we store the subroutines on are called Libraries… 🙂

        Love and hugs!

        Prenin.

  2. LittleMissVix October 26, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Yes all the time 🙂 Probably why I want to write full time on my own! But hey, you stuck your ground and that’s what you have to do so good job!

  3. thesweetkitten October 26, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    I teach languages in a training center for unemployed people. Last year, we had a male students in his early 30ies, who turned out to be a psychopath … He threatened to commit suicide the whole time and bullied students and teachers. One of my collegues even suffered from a depression because of him …

  4. An Observant Mind October 26, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    And you have to love that she wasn’t able to get rid of you, you toughed it out! So she may have left and you shortly after, but for what its worth, she didn’t get to be the one to push you out – and there’s a whole of pride in that if you ask me! 🙂

  5. Julia (AKA Jules) October 26, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    I hate working with other people, like when I was in London I hated working with a colleague (an Australian). I thought he was a bit annoying – he hated Girls Aloud, I love them! I quit, not only because the job was stressing me out, but because of him. Sucker.
    And soon I’ll be the one raking in the money.
    Prized git.

    Jules

  6. visitingmissouri October 26, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    I once had to work for a catering company. I got the job from my girlfriend’s dad, who was the catering director. I was working with this kid who was the nephew of one of the floor managers. On the first day, he bossed me around like crazy. I have never taken out that much trash or did other stupid jobs, while he was not really doing anything. The second day, I drove to work together with my girlfriend’s dad. He saw us coming out of the car, he then saw his aunt getting instructions from the guy I came with and he did the math. I had the best day ever. Without me saying a word, he turned like a leave. While he was taking out the trash, I was smoking cigarettes in the back. Justice can be a bitch.

  7. becomingcliche October 26, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    I’ve had a couple of nightmare bosses. One held me back, and the other ended up helping me develop skills to a high degree. Didn’t like his methods, though.

  8. sparklebumps October 26, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    This sounds like my manager that just got me fired!

  9. philosophermouseofthehedge October 26, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Bullies in school just grow up to be bullies at work. glad you stood your ground

  10. cooper October 26, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Problematics flourish in the work place. My problem is that I tend to point it out to them, then get told to shut my mouth or lose my job. what a swell way to live. If you ever feel alone in your work situation you can visit http://pleasefireme.com for some consolation.

    thanx for stopping by my place…

    • tinkerbelle86 October 26, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      hahaha thanks for the advice, luckily it was many moons ago 🙂

  11. MJ, Nonstepmom October 26, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    I’ve been fortunate to have many great co-workers to counteract the few problematic ones, great pics !

  12. El Guapo October 26, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    Curious – If she knew the schedule and work hours were flexible, but refused to work the Saturdays, why wasn’t she let go then?

    • tinkerbelle86 October 26, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      i dont think they could just do that. im sure the ten before me had tried and failed!

  13. magsx2 October 26, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Hi,
    There always has to be one that can be a pain. But you did well to tough it out, good on you.

  14. Rach @ This Italian Family October 26, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Yay princess belle! Way to win that one! I am amazed you stuck it out so long. I would’ve given her a good piece of my mind, haha!

  15. kathryningrid October 27, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    Our heroine! Nicely done.

  16. BROOKEandMCKENZIE October 27, 2011 at 4:12 am #

    I used to work in cosmetics too, Sephora for that matter and found that there were quite a few “dragon ladies” there. A lot of them were much older than me and at the time I was in first year university. I felt a lot of jealousy from them and felt that they often tried to jeopardize me and throw me into the fire.
    One day I remember I called in to ask for my schedule and one of them gave me the wrong schedule so I did not show up for work on a day I was actually supposed to. When I went in the next day and got questioned, I answered that the “dragon lady” had told me I was off that day. When I confronted her about it not only did she deny it but had the nerve to say that I had never even called nor did she ever speak to me. Luckily she was transferred and I left shortly after.

    Regardless, you know that those people have no life and enjoy making others miserable especially when they are jealous.
    Unfortunately we’ve all had to deal with this at some point in our lives.

  17. pattisj October 27, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    Good for you for staying the course and saving the cosmetic business! I had a co-worker who was less than pleasant. Actually, I think there’s at least one in every department. I like to consider them the sandpaper that smooths my rough edges.

  18. gojulesgo October 27, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    Yay!!!! I love hearing the good guys (gals) win. I’ve got so many stories like this, except usually less slaying and more crying.

    • tinkerbelle86 October 28, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

      well im sitting comfortably… get telling 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

