For I Am Gullible

19 Oct

Gullible (definition) Easily led or cheated. Credulous.

I’m surprised they don’t link out to me after that; after all I am one of the most gullible people on the planet. I don’t know what it is, but hit me with some true sounding fact and I’m all over it. I would go down in history as being the worst contestant on Balderdash. I fall for anything and everything. I would like to think it is due to my trusting nature but I think it’s because I just take people at face value as I often couldn’t be bothered to think up something so elaborate.

I don’t mind being laughed at. I laugh at myself on a regular basis. Especially after some of the clangers I have fallen for.

Let me introduce you to Adam (I would give him an alias but due to his past vocalising on my blog posts, it’s a bit late for anonymity). He knew straight away that I was an easy target, and went about constructing some of the most hilarious things for me to believe. Some of them I saw right through, but the rest of them I fell for, hook, line and sinker. There are two particular ones that stick in my mind, and as I don’t seem to have a filter on what to reveal and what to keep to myself… are you sitting comfortably?

In Germany, while queuing to get our flight back home after spending the weekend in Baden Baden (so good they named it twice), Adam asks to look at my passport. I give it to him. He comments on the three letters above my country of issue, and how his are different. This is fantastic, someone who hasn’t fallen over laughing at the fact that I look like a female Harry Potter with a funny face in my passport picture! I ask why. He then proceeds to tell me this convoluted story about how his Dad is a spy (or something. I’m sure he will chip in) and that the three letters mean that if there is a terrorist attack and the police turn up at the airport, he has special clearance to be removed first as due to his family, he is a target. I look at him sceptically. He embellishes the story, giving me perfect reason to think he is telling the truth. I mean why go to all the effort otherwise? It didn’t dawn on me that if this was the truth he probably wouldn’t be shouting about it, but moving on. I literally believed this story for a good half an hour, with all the people in the queue thinking that I must be the most stupid person on earth, before he tells me the truth. I attack him with said passport, about his smug face, but in a low key way just in case passport control think I am actually assaulting him and refuse to let me back on the aircraft.

The other favourite lie was telling me that his computer was voice activated. The problem was with the developments in technology, it could have been. I’m sure my cousin once had a word programme that she talked into to help her with her dyslexia, so this one was a feasible application, or so I thought. So I ask him some questions and then feel safe in the knowledge that someone is not pulling my leg and that he has a pretty cool computer. I don’t really care as I know as much about computers as the economic climate in Cambodia, and therefore it goes completely over my head. I proceed with the next conversation. But before he goes all red and looks like he is about to explode, and has to reveal he is a massive liar.

What stories have you fallen for?

If you need more Belle related gullibility, please go back and read Tell Me Sweet Little Lies.

20 Responses to “For I Am Gullible”

  1. Dazzle Rebel October 19, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    Ha ha lmfao. So which one of these statements is tugging your ankle…
    “Popeye has four nephews called Pipeye, Peepeye, Pupeye and Poopeye”. Or.
    “Mickey Mouse has a Mexican cousin called Miguel Mouse”.
    No googling!

    • tinkerbelle86 October 19, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      i think Miguel Mouse is quite feasible, so i reckon the popeye one is guff. but im normally wrong. they both sound a bit far fetched!

  2. Erin McNaughton October 19, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    I once dated a guy who told me he had a duck tattooed on his pelvic bone. I was baffled, but I didn’t question it.

    • tinkerbelle86 October 19, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      i dont see why you would tell someone that?!

      • Erin McNaughton October 20, 2011 at 8:29 am #

        Haha I have no idea! I guess he wanted to see if I would buy something so ridiculous…and I totally did for a good 10 minutes until he burst out laughing.

  3. Dazzle Rebel October 19, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    On the way to a gig in Scotland (we were from England) as we was approaching the boarder I asked our young roadie to get his passport ready. His face was a picture as the rest of the band played along.
    “Oh man, you’re screwed how could you forget your passport?”
    “Seriously this is bad but don’t worry we’ll have to smuggle you in quick get under this blanket because we’re coming to the boarder crossing soon”.
    For wore than 10 miles our poor roadie kept still and quiet under the cover until we burst out laughing.
    We also asked him to get a box of steam for the dry ice until he came back from the local sound and lighting shop looking gutted!
    Another time I asked him to go and find some tartan paint so we could paint a patriotic banner for one of the Scottish gigs!
    We didn’t half put him through it. Treated him like a prospect in a bike gang we did but he loved it really.

  4. Julia (AKA Jules) October 19, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    my old school mates were faking that someone that I fancied would take me on a date! I hated them because of it. Really, at the age of 16 they shouldn’t of been taking the mick outta me. But I hated them because of it. And like a stupid girl that I am, I fell for it!! I’d rather not think about it now…. as I now fancy someone who’s married with kids – and for that I’d rather keep HIS identity a secret….!!

    Jules

  5. LittleMissVix October 19, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Hehe bless you! When I started uni, I managed to convince a few people I was 383 in line for the throne 🙂

  6. An Observant Mind October 19, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    My friends husband told me that two male horse jockeys at the end of a racecourse on race day were ‘mascots’ of the races. I didn’t respond and so he moved on his way.

    After the last race was finished, I asked when the mascots would get down from the stage, and remarked how tired they must be after such a long day, in the sun with no breaks. He couldn’t believe his ears!

    They were statues and he had been pulling my leg – and assumed I wasn’t dumb enough to fall for it.

    You know what they say about people who assume! 😉

  7. Adam October 19, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    “LOL”.

  8. sparklebumps October 19, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    When I was younger, I told my best friend that there was a man who lived in the woods behind my house that picked up all the dead animals on the road and buried them. 🙂 That was the best.

  9. prenin October 19, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I was asked to go get a bottle of Scotch mist by my teacher.

    I went to the supply room and noticed a bottle of Scotch whisky marked ‘Teacher’s’ so I returned with that!!! 🙂

    Turned out to be a gift for one of the staff who were retiring!!! (Oops!!!) LoL!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  10. jakennicksmomma October 19, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    My husband convinced me that Bill Cosby was dead a few years ago. Now it is a running joke…eek, that is probably a terrible joke.

  11. natasiarose October 19, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    The green potato chips are toxic.

    Gullible isn’t really a word, it’s not even in the dictionary.

    Don’t worry, George W. Bush will never win a second term.

  12. susielindau October 19, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    I always thought that I was the most gullible person in the world. I think it comes with having a great imagination and trust in friends…It used to happen to me a lot back in Wisconsin, followed by a “just kidding!” People don’t do that as much in Colorado!

  13. gojulesgo October 19, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Ha! So you have a little Luna Lovegood in you, too (like me). I’m blanking on a good example for you, but I’m soooo gullible! My husband always asks me the same question 3 times, pretending he doesn’t understand, but really he’s just teasing me. Gets me every time!

  14. Edward Hotspur October 20, 2011 at 3:21 am #

    Whatever you do, don’t get caught up in the dihydrous monoxide controversy.

  15. kathryningrid October 20, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    Just so’s you know, there ARE really some pretty fantastic and fully operational voice-activated and operated computers and have been for some time (used by blind, para/quadriplegic and other users who need audible cues for interaction with the computer)–it’s just that they mostly have cost a fortune and weren’t until rather recently very *reliable* or widely available.

    That said, given how wonderfully *unreliable* your “friend” clearly was, I’d guess the chances he actually had such a contraption to be pretty low! 🙂

    Meanwhile, nothing wrong with gullibility, unless it gets you believing dangerous things like “I could ski off of my apartment building’s roof in an ice storm and land safely on that nice soft-looking hedgerow across the way” or “of *course* these stilettos will make you look sexy and irresistible to all people” (the latter not mentioning that they will feel like actual daggers rammed into your heels all the livelong day) or “Processed American Cheese is delicious”. Otherwise, gullibility is just charming innocence and guilelessness, right?

  16. Team Oyeniyi October 22, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    My phone is voice-activated and that is sort of a computer. I always had trouble with the old voice input for things like wordprocessing as they always expected an American accent and I don’t have one. It just never got the words right!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

