The One Where We Went To Brighton

18 Oct

As I promised, I had vowed that this weekend was going to be not about stressing, but about really spending some me time and hanging with the ones I love. So Saturday I met a good friend of mine for lunch, and we chilled in a beer garden and got burnt. In the middle of October. I’m not entirely sure what this year is coming to, but when people have been laughing at you for not clearing out your handbag and getting rid of the sun cream, you do get a bit of a smug feeling when you rock it out of your bag and use it to protect your sizzling skin. Point to moi. Small victory.

In the evening the same friend was joined by one of my closest friends, and we made nachos (don’t get me wrong, they were a budget nachos, not the type you get in a fancy restaurant) and pigged out on chocolate oranges, which is by far my favourite thing to do.

And then on Sunday…. Brighton. I was a little sceptical about Brighton at first, what with it being a beach resort and it being cold. But my arm was twisted (doesn’t help when you live with your best mate so she knows that your alternative is staying under your duvet and sleeping the day away).

I went with my two best friends, who never fail to let me down. There is no way you will be having a bad day with those two around, and so I can’t think of anyone I would have rather spent my selfish weekend with. The road trip was hilarious:

“Can you fetch my sunglasses Em, they are to your right?…. Nope, other right…..”

Emma “You know that exit we just passed? We should have taken that one. I wasn’t going to say….”

Our first stop was lunch. We were so hungry we could have nommed on a scabby horse, so as Mexican makes me sick, our second choice was burgers. Mmmmmmmmmm.

And then we wound round the lanes, poking into little dress shops and Brighton’s famous sex shops

Charlotte “Where does that even go??!”

And stopping to peer in the windows of a multitude of boutiques. And then we hit up the proper shops. Two hours later, and loads of photos of us trying on various silly hats later, we discussed the beach. It had looked so promising as we had driven up the promenade; the sun dancing on the waves and fracturing like diamonds, but now it was late and we were tired, and chilly. Back in the car and home.

That evening we all snuggled up on the sofa and watched Xfactor. If you are out of the UK then you won’t know what I mean, but the Xfactor is a bit hit and miss, as always.

We have this one guy called Johnny who they dressed as an alien on the first week and got him to sing Cher. It’s all a bit circus-bizarre if you ask me! Which they haven’t, otherwise I’d be marching them all off to Topshop.

Emma “I think that Frankie is fit.”

Me “the one with the guy liner and the birds nest on his head? The one who looks like he got his jeans sprayed onto him and wiggles his hand like he is having a seizure? Give over?!”

Charlotte “Emma, my mums fitter than that. And her jeans fit her better.”

At this point Emma laughed so hard that she had to go to the loo. And that’s the kind of laughter you want in your life!

16 Responses to “The One Where We Went To Brighton”

  1. imonthebandwagon October 18, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Glad to see your back to normal Tink! Nice post

    Oh and we cant stand that twat off X factor. I dunna get it, HE JUST CANT SING

    • tinkerbelle86 October 18, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      ah thanks treacle, I was about to send a search party for you boys! Which one?! They are both as bad as each other!!

  2. imonthebandwagon October 18, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    well both. But that moron that gary barlow is grooming or something just cant sing

    Yeah we have been busy doing stuff for an american publication so we have to cut it to one post a week

  3. Julia (AKA Jules) October 18, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    looks like you had a great weekend!
    and Sammi or Janet to win X Factor? Yes please!

    Jules
    http://wordshakermag.wordpress.com

    • tinkerbelle86 October 19, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

      cant go with you on this one Jules. Im a riskette. they make me go weak at the knees. particularly Derry….

  4. Bikram October 18, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    so who do you think is gonna win 🙂 who you voting for ..

    • tinkerbelle86 October 19, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

      The Risk. Dont judge me. It would have been that James guy (love a boy in a hat) but seeing as he has gone its The Risk or Sophie

  5. susielindau October 18, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Sounds like a fun time! What are chocolate covered oranges?

    • tinkerbelle86 October 19, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

      its another one of those lost in translation things. not a chocolate covered orange but a chocolate orange. orange shaped chocolate, tastes like orange. and chocolate. its divine. id literally kill for one 🙂

  6. lovelylici1986 October 18, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Ahahahaha. Fun, fun, fun!

  7. prenin October 18, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Brilliant! LoL!!!

    Yes the weather HAS been weird hasn’t it?

    Here it’s either bright sunshine and windy, or pissing down and windy – I’m staying home, but I’m sooo glad you had a fun time and kept the sun cream handy!!! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  8. An Observant Mind October 18, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Nothing in the world like a weekend with the girlies!

  9. gojulesgo October 18, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    Aw man, I wish I had been there (although your post definitely took me there)!! So glad you had such a proper girls weekend 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 October 19, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

      well next time you will have to come. but if your flights late we WILL have to leave without you.

  10. kathryningrid October 19, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    Yes, bladder-torturing laughter is excellent medicine for almost anything that ails you! Bonus: it gets everyone around you going . . . if you know what I mean!

  11. thf2 October 20, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    You crack me up!!! Great post!!!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

