Here Little Fishy ~ Part 2

18 Oct

Thanks to the success of my Here Little Fishy post, I have decided to write a bit more. Like a child who gets a clap from their mother and then carries on performing, despite annoying the rest of the room? Yep, that’s me! To give you a bit of background, I signed up to a free dating site to see what all the fuss is about. I have dabbled in internet dating before but always been a bit half-hearted, and always used the sites that you pay for on the premise that you have to at least have a job to pay for a dating site. But anyway, if you want to know more about the history of this post, then go back and read Here Little Fishy. Apparently I’m funny sometimes 🙂

My bugbear is this. A picture says a thousand words, and first impressions are everything, right? So I’m pretty sure that however glowing your bio, the photo is important, and this is backed by statistics online that say a great deal (vague, can’t actually find the thing I am referring to!) of people will not click on a profile that doesn’t have a picture. Because however charming and dashing you sound, you could be Jabba the Hut or look like you haven’t washed in months. Let’s gloss over the fact that it doesn’t take the next Steven Hawking to work out that you could post a picture of someone else.

OK, so…. Photos. I really wish I could use the ACTUAL photos that were the muses for this post, as then you would really understand, but as Elton would say “my gift is my song, and this one’s for you”. I’ll use my words.

Example A: Man in Room.

Let’s call him Man in Room (because I don’t know what his name is, mainly). Man in Room was clearly on holiday.. I can see the thought process behind this. Relaxed, in the sun, having a laugh, good idea! Man in Room had failed to tidy up however, and therefore made himself look like he was living in a travel lodge with an entire week’s charity bag collection that he had pillaged from the locals.

Example B: Sunny Delight.

Sunny Delight had about eight pictures, all with himself in various states of undress, in aviators. For those of you who have lived under a rock since Top Gun, aviators cover most of your face and can make anyone with dark hair look like Tom Cruise. I think that could be considered false advertising.

Example C: Example.

I think I will refer to this specimen as Example because he thought he was a DJ and all his pictures were taken under strobe light. Again, not a good way to gauge whether he had two eyes, for a start.

I like to surround myself with funny people, so if the pictures and captions make me laugh I’m onto a winner. Johnny Vegas? Ideal man. Well…

One guy had a picture of him standing in front of a waterfall so he looked like he was being sick. My kind of humour! Another had sarcastic captions like “Me, running.” “Me, standing still”. Again, it doesn’t take much to make me laugh.

My favourite of this week had to be the guy who emailed me to ask what SEO was, citing that he felt it was Safe Elephant Operation. Hahah!

I do have to say however I am losing attention with this particular line of interest and may give up soon. Characters are amusing for a time, but if I hear that goddamn polar bear joke one more time I will kill.

I got an email yesterday which I had to share, mainly for my die hard Blog Brigade… “Hey dere (for real) me and my mate have a bet, what colours your fong?”

I had to laugh. It did baffle me for a bit. What the hell is a fong? Emma wasn’t in at the time so I couldn’t get a guest opinion. There’s me thinking of vampire teeth (I know right. Fang. I was tired) until the penny dropped like Hiroshima and I realised he was referring to my thong. Of which I don’t own, because it’s like wearing undies constructed of floss. Not pleasant, and I don’t believe a single one of you girls who say “Oooh they are soooooo comfy. You almost don’t realise you have them on”. Sure thing, because YOU ALMOST DON’T HAVE THEM ON.

Internet Dating Update: Of the two original guys that had my number, one has been deleted due to infinite boredom. One remains. He has been joined by a bloke that told me he woke up one morning and went into his kitchen to find Tom Jones playing and his mate asleep on the floor. The word bromance got me. I’m easily pleased.

15 Responses to “Here Little Fishy ~ Part 2”

  1. visitingmissouri October 18, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Please don’t stop this. I have worked at a boat show where I sold anti-slip mats. To prove how well they worked, we had a plate in a 60 degree angle that was hanging there. One in four people that went by said, ‘Well, it’s hard eating soup that way.’ or one of the endless varations that can be made with that. Then a famous Dutch comedian walks by and makes the same joke as everyone else in the room.

    As I was selling the stuff, I had to laugh at it every time, people like when you laugh at their jokes. When the people had walked by, I ran to my desk, to note a +1. I heard it 500+ times in four days. It was keeping score what got me through it. I can highly recommend that, but please keep this up.

  2. sparklebumps October 18, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    The one main problem with internet dating I had was- even if they look alrgiht in their pic, that doesn’t guarantee they’ll look good in real life. Good luck with that!

  3. The Hook October 18, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    A young, pretty, intelligent young woman like you doesn’t need a dating site!

    • tinkerbelle86 October 19, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

      if you could see the dichotemy of men around me you would change your mind….

  4. An Observant Mind October 18, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Well with such a buffet of caviar and lobster, how IS a girl to choose? Sounds simply divine… I would suggest that if those are the best on offer, you are more likely to enjoy a Friday night at home with your flatmate, a bottle of red and a rousing game of boggle!

  5. pharphelonus October 18, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    funny stuff. glad I’m out of that. It sucks trying to convince someone that the photo you sent them really was you before, well, life started taking its toll.

  6. prenin October 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Sounds distinctly weird to me, but as long as you stay safe and keep your wits about you you should be ok – I, a Paranoid Schizophrenic giving safety advice??? LoL!!!

    Remember you are a stunning young lady and worth your weight in gold, so don’t settle for second best OK???

    Love and huge hugs! 🙂

    Prenin.

  7. breezyk October 18, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    Forgot the Tom Jones guy and go for his roommate. Sounds like a real stand-up dude.

  8. Rach @ This Italian Family October 18, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Oh my goodness, this really is hilarious! I love reading these posts, girl!

  9. gojulesgo October 18, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    You have to keep up with the internet thing just for your loyal readers (or just for me, period. I’m cool with that)! These descriptions are PERFECT – I can totally picture these guys! (So you did Elton proud.)

    • tinkerbelle86 October 19, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      oohhhhbut Jules im getting really fed up with it!! i will attempt a third post and see how i feel 🙂 just because its you though….

  10. Meg@thelegaltart October 19, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    Totally agree with the thong comment. Don’t understand them!

  11. Sam October 19, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    I love this! However, I would be all over the Tom Jones guy… because I dig quirky!

  12. therealsharon October 21, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    HAHAHA! I could picture this being a full length book/commentary on dating sites! 🙂

  13. Unrequited Life October 23, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    Very excellent post! And I can so very much relate! I’ve had both horrible and awesome experiences with the ‘online dating’. Horrible experience: Dude emails me the day of our date, like 1 hour before I was gonna leave and AFTER I had called him to confirm (which we had discussed doing), to tell me he had gotten back together with his ex. No call, no text. E. MAIL. Awesome one: I currently have a thing going with a really, wicked awesome guy whom I met on the E to the Harm. Current dude had pictures of him looking posed, one of him making a ‘tiger’ face – like, ROAR – and another of him, a statue and a buddy with the caption of “i’m the one in the middle.” Dude with ex girlfriend-itis: nothing funny or witty at all. Probably didn’t even read books. Pfft.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

