I’ve Got Soul But I’m Not A Soldier

15 Oct

Some things deteriorate as they age. Salad, for example. Buy a bag of spinach and leave it in the fridge for a week and I would bet money on the fact that you won’t want to eat it. It will have produced its own liquid and gone all wilted and look gross. Same with a glass of juice. Mmmmmm, juice. Nice when you have just poured it, but two days later when you wake up in the night with a thirst like you haven’t had fluid in days, it’s not the best thing you will have ever imbibed.

But some things get better with age. Fine wines and cheeses for example (it always comes back to cheese. Me and our Emma have already planned Christmas with a cheese board). And me. I honestly think that as I get older, I get better.

Image courtesy of The Redneck Princess, a fantastic woman who supported me since one of the first days I started blogging. Surround yourself with positive people!

I think it’s because I care less. When I was younger I would stress about the finer details of everything; why did that happen? What was the outcome? Could I have changed it? Now I simply don’t care. Don’t get me wrong, when life knocks me or my faith in people is questioned I get sad, but I am tougher than I used to be. Like an old bread roll! 🙂 I think I believe more in the path that we are on, and although you follow one signpost or another, you are still rolling with the punches of something that is already set for you. I feel that as I age I am more able to actually say what I want to say, rather than just thinking it, and if I am unhappy about a situation, I will let you know.

And I believe that honesty is the best policy. The honest truth might hurt a bit but when people say that they lied to protect the person they were lying too, they are guilty of fibbing again. A lie very rarely protects someone, just prolongs the eventuality of them finding out the truth in the first place. And a lie comes with more feeling and emotion, like a group of girls on their way off for a week in the sun. Baggage. Packed so tight that if you push it too hard, pants fly all over the place.

So people, I am back to my normal self. This constantly second guessing myself is tiring and so im going back to the me I was before my life decided to have a brief hibernate. I’m surrounding myself with the people that make me happy, and disassociating myself with the people who don’t. I’m unzipping the shell and emerging, like a pheonix from the flames. Yay! How exciting! This is starting with a weekend of yoga with Emma, seeing my mother, meeting friends for coffee, dancing in my PJs and carving pumpkins. Spending time with my sister, swimming and catching up. Bliss.

I’m back, y’all!!

‘Belle xxxx

PS…. as always, follow me on Facebook and Twitter if you want. Just sayin……

27 Responses to “I’ve Got Soul But I’m Not A Soldier”

  1. gojulesgo October 15, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Yay Tinkerbelle! I completely agree in the power of surrounding yourself with positive people. Hence my rabid following of your hilarious blog. That sounds like an awesome weekend, and I hope we’ll get to see some of those pumpkins! 🙂

  2. zendictive October 15, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    wow, awesome post, some very pivotal and powerful thoughts here, I even went back and read part of it again, way to go ‘Tink’

    I have to tell you this, my lil girl is 8 and she loves tinker-belle, we were talking the other day and I blurted out that I have talked to tinker-belle on the internet, she got so excited and of course I was thinking of you and your blog, the girl was crazy for about an hour, wanting to know if you like pink, what kinda shoes you wear and so on, we tried later tell her that it is not the same tinker-belle but once the thought gets in your head and grows like a seed, it is too late. like negativity or positive action as you’ve posted here, …keep up the good work….Art~

    • tinkerbelle86 October 15, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

      hahahaha. i actually have a picture of me WITH tinkerbelle from disneyland. i was more of an Ariel girl myself 🙂 thanks for the kind words.

  3. BrainRants October 15, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Neat post, and I like the top picture and need to find that in a tee shirt.

    I’ve always said: “Only one person can make you happy…. you.”

  4. prenin October 15, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Welcome back Tinks – love the first picture!!! LoL!!! 🙂

    Humungous Squishy Hugggssssssss!!!!

    Prenin.

  5. Redneckprincess October 15, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    You know that I love, love, love this post!!! Welcome back sister…I am just coming out of hibernation again too!!! Thanks for the link and the kind words 🙂 I am glad to have found you xoxoxo

  6. Mama Bread Baker October 15, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Great post, great wisdom for someone so youthful. It took me until I was almost forty to have the same revelation. Kudos!

  7. ceciliag October 15, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    The first one with the immensity.. I WANT that on my door! Please can i have it!! c

  8. Rach @ This Italian Family October 15, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    I really agree with you about the honesty thing! It really is the best policy. 🙂

  9. kathryningrid October 15, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    A blast of the best fresh air! Yay!

  10. barb19 October 15, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Getting rid of the negatives in my life was the best thing I ever did! Now I surround myself with positive people – and it makes a helluva difference.
    Ya gotta be who you are, otherwise, what’s the point? At least people know where they stand with you.
    Great post Tink, and welcome back!

  11. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts October 16, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    Great stance, and those quotes / comments are brilliant 🙂 I think I’ve shared your ‘caring less’ as I’ve gotten older, although interestingly as I’ve stressed over small things less often, I’ve probably cared about big picture things (relating to the world, others, etc) more. I think it’s a shift I’m happy with.

  12. Team Oyeniyi October 16, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    Yep, you are getting older. Welcome to the “I don’t give a damn” crowd! 😀

  13. Sandra Bell Kirchman October 16, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    I think there must be something in the air. This is the third blog and about the fifth person I’ve talked to who is taking steps to ensure personal happiness and freedom. <a href="http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/10/15/a-simple-choice/"Here</a? is a link to a blog post that you might find interesting. If you read it, make sure you read the comments as well. It's like taking a refreshing drink of magic tonic…at least it was for me, and I thought I had seen and done it all.

    Great post, Belle. Each step we take to free ourselves from negativity and harmful decisions (harmful to ourselves) makes us that much stronger and wiser. I agree with the person who admired so much wisdom in so young a writer.

  14. mschristiner October 17, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    I completely agree with the power of positive thinking and surrounding yourself with people that make you smile! I’ve been trying to do that more often than usual in the last few months and I can really notice the difference 🙂 Thanks for the great post.

  15. kayjai October 17, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Nice post! Welcome back to the real you! Have a ball!!

  16. Nina October 17, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Awesome post, and I love that picture about the immense fuck not given. It basically sums up my view on most things that don’t contribute to my being happy.

    I’m glad you’re having this moment (and hopefully, long expanse of time) of clarity. Surrounding yourself with the people you love and who let you be yourself and doing the things you want to do each day are the two best remedies to being happier. It sounds like a simple change but it isn’t and I’m glad you’ve started doing this because it seriously makes everything better.

    Always remind yourself of these things during moments where life gets messy. 🙂

  17. rich ripley October 17, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    Good for you. Some folks never learn the simple truth that you’ve stated. For me…I like cake….instead of “dancing in my pj’s” like you wrote…too many folks confuse my dancing with me having a seizure. My bad.

    R

    • Team Oyeniyi October 17, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

      Love it. Will have to remember that last line!

  18. An Observant Mind October 18, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Life’s too short isn’t it? Sounds like you have got your sh*t sorted. Now if you could just help out the other few billion of us on the planet… 😉

  19. The vigneron's wife October 18, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    couldn’t agree with you more. had one of ‘those’ days and reading this post helped put things back into their right place for me. merci!

    and luuuurve that first pic!

    The Vigneron’s Wife

  20. ceciliag October 20, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    I give a fuck.. have fun.. c

  21. ladiluu October 23, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    🙂 great blog, made my day better

  22. Smart Guy October 24, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    As a rule, I always speak my mind and tell people the truth. Also, my only friend is my cat. Winning!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. giant twist comfort cs - November 12, 2011

    … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find more Infos: laughteriscatching.com/2011/10/15/ive-got-soul-but-im-not-a-soldier/ […]…

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

