Life Lessons I Learnt From a Four Year Old

5 Oct

I spend a great deal of time with my favourite under eighteen in the world, little Miss Lilly. She is four years old and the oldest daughter of my very close friend LouLou, and she is my favourite little lady in the whole wide world. I love her because she is clever and chatty, and comes out with some of the best one liners I have ever heard.

We use her as a man tester. When I lived with ex-boyfriend, Lou bought babygirl round (being a great deal smaller at the time) and she took a shine to him, trying to sit on his lap and give him kisses. She had a bit of a runny nose, but he was appalled and it was later decreed that she should be used to vet all potential suitors early on, to establish their worth. After all, if you don’t like my Lil, you are not right for me.

And I have come to learn that the world is a different place through the eyes of a four year old, and maybe there are some lessons to be learnt here.

1) Say what you see. Don’t try to over complicate it.
When reading a bedtime story the other night, Lilly was pretty well behaved until we got to the letter N, where she got tired and began to act up. I swear she is fit for a career in the West End when she is older. “N is for……” said Lou “say what’s round her neck”.
Lilly looked at her, unimpressed. “bracelet” she said.
Well she wasn’t far wrong. It went on like this, some answers stranger than the others. “O is for…..” said Lou, pointing to the picture of the octopus. Fairly easy, there aren’t many O’s. Until we realised Lilly wasn’t playing.
“Spiderman.”

2) There is always a need for matching socks.
My sister is really bad at matching socks. She just doesn’t care. Lilly came round when she was at our flat one Sunday, and Danielle and Lil chatted for about five minutes before my sister left. Over a month later, in the car on the way to my house she said “are we going to Laura? Is that girl with the different socks going to be there?” Oh the shame.

3) Friendship is very important.
Lilly is particularly fond of her dad’s friend, Lofty. She follows him around adoringly, asking “You are my best friend though, aren’t you Lofty? Aren’t you? AREN’T YOU LOFTY???” The poor man, in his thirties, is slightly perplexed why a four year old princess wants to be his best friend. But agrees nonetheless. He will be beholden to this for life.

4) Take a hold of love, wherever it comes from.
After a particularly bad day at work, I get to Lou’s house. She opens the door. All is fairly quiet until this little whirling dervish of curls and blondness comes hammering through the door and hits my shins. “OhhiLaurailoveyou” she says into my knees. And my day considerably improves. Regardless of her then demanding that I carry her everywhere until bedtime.

5) Picnics can be as imaginative as you require.
One cold day in the supposed British summer, we decided to have a picnic with the girls. Of course it monsooned outside, so we lay the blanket in the lounge and devoured our picnic from there. When discussing the eve before what we would have in our sandwiches, I ventured “how about cheese and pickle Lillypad?” she replied, authoritatively “Yes. And chocolate spread.” She didn’t seem to understand why I felt cheese, pickle AND chocolate spread might be a little odd.  “And crispies.”

Do the children in your life crack you up? Have they come out with any great one liners?

35 Responses to “Life Lessons I Learnt From a Four Year Old”

  1. An Observant Mind October 5, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Love these, I love what kids say too, their outlook is so fresh and un-jaded! We could learn a lot. My son told my hubby not long ago (when he decided hubby was wrong about something) “The only people that know everything are mummy and Jesus…” I laughed for hours, even as I looked at him deadpan and said; “Thats right honey, you’re exactly right.”

    • tinkerbelle86 October 5, 2011 at 9:45 am #

      My cousin’s oldest piped up at my Dads wedding, when the church had gone quiet “Mummy? Did Jesus get nailed at Easter?” cue everyone trying not to laugh as my Dad’s wife walked down the aisle!

      • An Observant Mind October 5, 2011 at 9:47 am #

        ha! That is totally classic. Mine asked last Easter (when he was 6 no less!) if Jesus gets tired of dying on the cross every Easter. he asked this in ‘chapel’ at his school. The teacher was a little stern when she asked what we were teaching him. I told her, “clearly, we are not teaching him anything!” I try to write the good ones down for posterity, and to humiliate him at his 21st . 🙂

      • lovelylici1986 October 5, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

        THAT’s awesome! LOL

  2. kidspartyheaven October 5, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    This was a delightful post and the sweetness of it almost brought a tear to my eye.

    This is why I love working with children. I’ve written a post previously about this very subject :
    http://kidspartyheaven.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/the-things-children-say/

    I’ve never met a child that I haven’t been able to like. I’ve met plenty of objectionable adults though.

  3. kayjai October 5, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Adorable! She’s too cute…I wish they could stay 4yrs old forever, but sadly growing up takes over.

  4. lou October 5, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Hey my lovely, it really did make me smile seeing this post come through I will be printing it off to put in Lilly’s memory box, it brought tears to my eyes remembering the funny and sweet things she has said! Also would love a copy of that pic 🙂 love you lots xxx

    • tinkerbelle86 October 6, 2011 at 8:15 am #

      …and the wedding photos. i promise its on my list! although it was on my list for yesterday too….

  5. Jennifavor October 5, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    When my best friend’s little girl was a toddler, she was very picky about men. I don’t know what it was, but she could sense if they were bad I guess. If either of us thought things might be serious with a guy, we’d introduce them and see how she reacted.

  6. prenin October 5, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    I looked after 42 kids and loved ’em all from the first day, so this brought back so many fond memories – Dominic, Rachel, Becky and Emily are all parents now, but are also my most precious friends as I spent 35 years of my life in their care and education.

    I can’t look after little ones any more – I have Paranoid Schizophrenia now – but there is always grandma Pat’s birthday bash and Christmas’s to die for as I get inundated with multiple whirlwinds as ‘Uncle Ian’ enters the house! 🙂

    I now fear children – our local kids were monsters for decades – but I have many precious memories and though my father left me unable to have kids of my own I have an adoptive family who I love to death…

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  7. lovelylici1986 October 5, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Children are GREAT! They are too quotable! Love it.
    My cousin (around 6 at the time) threatened to sharpen her brother like a pencil, and to flip him like a hamburger. I thought those were great.

  8. jakennicksmomma October 5, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Too cute! My son insisted on cheese on his peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for a while. Yuck!

  9. Nicole October 5, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    She sounds like SUCH a cutie!

  10. charlywalker October 5, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    The Silent Movies…..

  11. kathryningrid October 5, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Yes, an endless source of genius and geniality, kids! Our niece and nephews are no exception and have kept us busy falling off our chairs with laughter throughout the years. Now that they’re all getting rather grown up, I’m hoping they’ll provide us eventually with a new generation of smart-alecks to tutor us properly.

    In a game of hide-and-seek, nephew Tore informs his brother Finn that they’ll use Mormor (Grandma) as Home Base. Why? Apparently for reliability: “Because she’s the oldest thing in the house.”

  12. Cheryl Velez October 5, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Adorable little girl. Must be so much fun having her to feed you laughter and love as much as you want it!

  13. therealsharon October 5, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    I adore little kids and I’m happy to say that my husband does too! 🙂

  14. theduffboy October 5, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    She’s so cute and I’m guessing from your post that she holds bucket of fun! “And crispies”… priceless!

  15. Gretchen O'Donnell October 5, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Love this! My youngest is 4 – it’s a great age, and yes, she daily has terrific one-liners. One of my most favorite recently is, “What clothes will I be wearing when I die?” Oy, vey!

  16. gojulesgo October 5, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    Love this post – and ADORE that picture! You and Miss Lilly are so cute!

    I like Lilly’s comment about the socks, LOL My nephew is already 8, but he is so affectionate that it kills me. Always giving hugs and compliments – I hope he doesn’t grow out of that! Hmm…Maybe I should stop trying to teach him about the art of sarcasm.

  17. susielindau October 5, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Beautiful photo and post!

  18. Megan October 6, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    The nephews are the one thing that no matter how crappy my day is going can chage it up in an instant. Just a hello, a hug or an “Aunt Mae” brings the biggest of smiles to my face and warms my heart. So thankful for those little people. 🙂

  19. Beth, just being me October 6, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    i think i could write a whole blog just about my children’s one-liners 🙂

  20. Sandra Bell Kirchman October 6, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    That’s you in the pic, Belle??? You don’t look much older than Lilly. The two of you are adorable.

    One of my more embarrassing moments with my daughter, when she was about three or four, was when a black man sat in the doctor’s waiting room where we were. This was in Canada – Calgary, to be exact, and not to many African Americans/Canadians lived there. She had never seen one before.

    I noticed her eying the man, and I knew she was thinking of something. I had no idea what, but I suspected it was going to be a doozy. Finally, she said in her fog-horn voice of the time, “MOMMY, WHY IS THAT MAN DIRTY?”

    With a sinking heart, I hoped the man had a sense of humor. I hissed at my daughter, “Shhh, Laurie, he is supposed to be that way.”

    She thought about it for a moment, then her face lit up as she realized the possibilities of this one. “He’s supposed to be dirty?” She had visions of never having to wash her face again.

    I suppose the man was feeling too sick to realize what a spring of inspiration he had been to a four-year-old girl.

    • tinkerbelle86 October 6, 2011 at 8:12 am #

      thats me, im a full 21 years older! i know though, i still get ID’d for everything and anything!

  21. Redneckprincess October 6, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    I just want to hug you both 🙂

  22. stuffialmostbought October 6, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    I have 11 nieces & nephews aged 4 to 13. They crack me up all the time!!

    • lovelylici1986 October 6, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

      I’m jealous. You are winning at life right now! I LOVE ’em in that age range.

  23. Granddad October 7, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Picture the scene, several years ago, in church during the Remembrance Day service. Lots of uniformed and bemedalled service personnel together with the mayor and mayoress in full regalia and many other local dignitaries processing down the aisle.
    Laura – “Granny, which one is God?”
    Keep on blogging.
    Love, Granddad XXX

    • tinkerbelle86 October 7, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      hahahah. i came up with some good ones. more than several years ago! 🙂 xxx

  24. happydancecat October 9, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    Ohh, I love this. Having worked with children for about eight years now, there are just too many great one-liners to mention! I adore their honesty, creativity and unique perspective on life.

    A few months ago I watched a five year old girl pressing her face against the windowpane and watching the rain. While all the adults around her were complaining about the miserable weather, she said in the most joyful voice, “Thankyou rain! Thankyou for making the flowers grow!”

    Such wisdom.

    Cat

  25. Team Oyeniyi October 13, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    I’m still smiling over Miss 9’s attempt at political wheeling and dealing. “If I eat my greens tomorrow, can I have my ice-cream now?”

    Seemed like, “Pay your taxes now and you can have the hospital…………………. sometime.”

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

