Listosaurus

29 Sep

Everyone who knows me knows that I am a list sort of girl. Just like I am a stationary sort of girl. OK so lists might not be the coolest thing I could like, but they sure help me out in a difficult situation.

Take holidays for example. Before I go, I make a list of all the things I could potentially need. My overactive mind goes off on one and I ponder about whether there will be a monsoon in San Francisco or whether it will rain in Vegas. Will I need climbing shoes for San Diego? (Answer: no. Which is good as I don’t own any) I list adaptors, camera chargers, bikinis, spare needles in case my insulin pen breaks, spare contact lenses. If there was an apocalypse and food ran out, the best place to look for an emergency tin of beans might be my case. Just sayin’ 🙂

It might be a little over enthusiastic and was a regular bone of contention for first boyfriend and me. I would ask him if he had a list. He would say no. I would kindly offer to write him a list. He would decline. I would merrily go about my business. Upon arrival at one destination I was met with this.

Himself “Babe, don’t say I told you so.”

Me “I cannot confirm or deny this. I make no promises”.

Himself. “I forgot my sunglasses. (long pause) and my swimming trunks”

For a holiday in Portugal. Smug me declined to comment, but pottered about the house looking smug and pleased with myself.

It happens at work too. If I am feeling particularly manic and like I might just burst into flames for absolutely no reason, I turn a page in my notebook to find a crisp white background and delicate lines, ready to be a blank canvas for whatever I wish to write. I put the day, and the date, and then I list. I am left-handed but have neatly cursive handwriting, and I take care to ensure my list looks as organised as possible in as little time as I can. And as I go about my day, I cross them off ever so lightly so I can at least marvel over the progress I have made. I do find however that for every one you cross off, another three spring up, like unwanted weeds in the grass. But hey, you can’t have everything, can you!

What silly little things make you feel better?

35 Responses to “Listosaurus”

  1. Woman In Thrisis September 29, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    I am also very much a lister! I enjoy this for 2 reasons: 1. It helps me organize my thoughts and tasks for the day and 2. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE crossing things off to show my progress!! 🙂 Great post!

  2. An Observant Mind September 29, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Hey, I just noticed your ‘like’ on my last post so dropped by. Thanks for reading! I have just read your about page and your first two posts, very entertaining! You remind me when I was young…ger. I’ll add you to my blogroll and keep stopping by. Cheers!

  3. lovelylici1986 September 29, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    I like lists too!
    My gf takes it to the extreme. It seems like no matter WHAT we’re talking about, she whips out her stupid little iPhone (yes, I resent that thing) and opens the “Notes” application to make a list. It annoys me. A lot of it is because she has a poor memory, and I don’t think she’s helping it AT ALL by not even TRYING. BUT. I don’t want to be a victim of her forgetfulness. GRRR.

  4. visitingmissouri September 29, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    It’s funny how you mention the boyfriend situation. My ex-girlfriend had the same tendency to make lists and I had the same tendency to forget things. She had gotten tired of taking my sunglasses (I conveniently forgot those at her place, always) and swimming trunks with her and put me to the test: we we’re going on a holiday and I would be in charge of everything. We arrived on the camping site, had a classic fight over putting the tent up, resulting in tears and me talking to the toilet door. After the tent was put up, we were both tired and hungry so we wanted to cook dinner. If only I would have brought anything to cook with, the break-up two months later could have been less inevitable.

    To answer your question and show off my progress: I do everything on forehand. I pack my suitcase two weeks before I leave and use the two weeks to add anything I would have forgotten otherwise. I write papers in chunks that are ready-made even before the subject is known. My blogs are piled up and eagerly waiting to be released. Don’t put me on the spot, though. I will forget a lot.

  5. mrsbongle September 29, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I love making lists too! And there I was thinking it was just me!

  6. myeventfullife September 29, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    I am definitely a lister, too! It is an essential to making it through my week.
    I nominated you for Versatile Blogger award! I am sure you have had this many times. 🙂 http://myeventfullife.wordpress.com/

  7. rommel September 29, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    No, no. I’m with him. I hate lists. I just live on the edge. I let misadventures be my adventures.

  8. BrainRants September 29, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    My to-do lists allow me to identify the tasks I need to avoid. The other list I keep is “people to kill when I get a chance.” You’re not on it.

  9. Life After Swimming September 29, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    My life revolves around lists. To-do lists are a huge part of my days! I would never get anything accomplished if I didn’t make ’em all of the time!

  10. prenin September 29, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    I’m lucky in that I keep to routines which mean I buy set things on set days and get my medication on a pre-arranged date.

    To remember important dates I have a huge wall planner and plenty of sticky labels!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  11. kathryningrid September 29, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    List mania is a very common disease as far as I can tell. You, however, manage to make USEFUL lists, something a bit less common. I count myself more in your camp than otherwise, but occasionally it requires my making a list of where I have stashed my various lists to make this possible.

  12. imagesbytdashfield September 29, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    OMG! The lists I make are unreal. I make them for the grocers, for things to do, for things I’ve learned and don’t want to forget (but then I misplace that one, eh!) and the list for when I go on vacation is at least 3 pages long.

  13. lifeinthefarcelane September 29, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Lists rock! If you’re having a bad day where you feel you’ve achieved nothing – make a list of what you’ve already done and tick the suckers off. Instant SMUG! 😉

  14. H.E. ELLIS September 29, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    I’m more of a wing it kind of girl, but I’m willing to give your process a try.

  15. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts September 30, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    This is so me 😀 Both in loving lists and loving stationary. My partner also sounds a little like yours…so you can imagine my joy (joy!) when on our last trip, he actually let me pack for him. He still wouldn’t let me pack him more than 2 jumpers, but at least I got to check he had essentials.

  16. Debbie September 30, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    I am sadly listless, unless I’m on a ship, but that’s quite another thing altogether. You never cease to entertain – even those of us with blank pages!

  17. Anna Lefler September 30, 2011 at 4:46 am #

    Oh, YES. I am a listmaker, too – especially when it comes to packing. I get teased about it a lot (especially by my husband), but, then again, I’m not the one who had to order underwear from room service in Las Vegas. Ha!

    Love your blog!

    🙂 Anna

  18. Sandra Bell Kirchman September 30, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    I too am a list person…sort of. I use to-do lists as a last resort to bail me out of chaos. When I do make a list, I LOVE crossing off the things done, or packed, or bought. I keep a white board in the kitchen on the wall right next to my chair. My grocery lists are already made by the time I’m ready to go shopping.

    I wouldn’t even think of going on a trip without a to-do list, a packing list, a grocery list (if we’re camping), a places to see list. My husband is also somewhat of a list person and he makes a list (or thinks one up in his mind) for care and feeding of the car and things to take while travelling. Between the two of us, we manage to cover most bases.

    So why is it we miss at least one thing every time? Beats me. But my hubby says if we forget something, most times we can buy a replacement. We just really try not to forget the dogs or the keys or unreplaceable things like that.

  19. gojulesgo September 30, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Lists are a lifesaver! I love them. And I too have been the butt of many jokes because of it. I’m actually in the middle of writing a list right now: All the Crap We Need For the House Before it Falls Apart.

    The other things that always make me feel better are my ‘guilty pleasure’ TV shows, like 90210 and Glee.

  20. mairedubhtx September 30, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Like you, lists make me feel better. In fact, there’s an app for that on my phone and I use it all the time. It is very useful to make lists and then very self-fulfilling to cross off the completed tasks.

  21. Dawn@LightenUp! September 30, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    4 words make me feel better: “You were right, dear.”

  22. InTolerantChef September 30, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    I so looove lists! I have notebooks beside my bed, in my bedside table drawer, in my handbag, on my desk (actually 3), in the kitchen drawer, in my work toolbox… and stashed in numerous other places around the place. I even have a pile of lovely fresh new notebooks in the cupboard for when I run out….. maybe I need an intervention? 🙂

  23. Dazzle Rebel September 30, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    While not a huge fan of lists I do find myself writing lists of half finished songs and allocating them to future albums when I haven’t even released one yet. Sometimes I think I spend more time redesigning the list than I do actually finishing songs!

  24. Spinny Liberal September 30, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    Sounds like lists are cathartic for you. And you are a very prepared traveler!

  25. The Rowdy Chowgirl September 30, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I love a good list, too! And thanks for the like…

  26. Alisha September 30, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I make lists ALL THE TIME. When we’re going on a trip, I tape the packing list to the front door so we can cross off any item we pack as soon as it’s in the bag. I start making my weekly grocery list two days after the last trip. And I make work lists pretty much daily. There’s just something about making a list and the sense of satisfaction you feel when you cross that item off the list.

  27. theduffboy September 30, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Updating one of our company’s clients’s Google Docs gives me an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment 🙂

  28. Team Oyeniyi October 1, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Tinkerbelle, did I mentioned I have a aversion to people who have the discipline to make lists? They also seem so much more proficient at life than I do.

    I make shopping lists, but anything else? Well, OK, I do make lists at work, but I am not one of those people who make lists every day and cross them off. I make lists for the kids chores for them, but I forget to that sometimes!

    All I can say is – good for you, damn you! 😆

  29. philosophermouseofthehedge October 1, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Ha. lists. a way to control the chaos…or at least an attempt at organizing it. Those that don’t list? Oh, they do, mentally. And that’s the problem – those get lost – in the brain, that is….lost in thought(now where was that mental grocery list…I put it in the left frontal lobe somewhere…)….wandering thoughts ( maybe it moved to the back under the list of things to pack?)….lost my train of thought (run, the train is leaving – I’ll just hope I packed everything – there are bound to be stores there if not!)….thoughts just running on….

  30. Nicole October 1, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    I am exactly the same way!! I make lists for everything! 🙂

  31. ♡ The Tale Of My Heart ♡ October 3, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Nope,no lists in my list…….. 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

