“It is Better to be Quotable than Honest” Tom Stoppard

21 Sep

I am one of those people who loves quotes. I like the fact that someone has once said something wise to summarise what I am thinking so easily that I don’t have to do it myself, and I think that quotes are a fantastic way to get you thinking.

“Don’t wait for a light to appear at the end of the tunnel, stride down there and light the bloody thing yourself.” Anon

Some of the best quotes are anonymous; sayings and proverbs that have been passed down through the years but never changed, always relied on as little pearls of wisdom. It’s like the conversation you have with your Nanny about the little girl who used to live down the street and you played with as a child; both of you can see her in your mind’s eye but neither of you can remember for the life of you what her name was, or what her mum was called. And that’s how time works.

“You can’t leave footprints in the sands of time if you’re sitting on your butt. And who wants to leave buttprints in the sands of time?” Anon

I love this one. I talk a lot about wanting to go travelling and see the world (im working on it!) but I definitely do not want to leave my bum print on the sands of time, so I am going to be more proactive with my planning!

“Just remember…if the world didn’t suck, we’d all fall off.” Anon

Always makes me laugh. Especially when I am having a bad day due to my own doing, like I have put my foot in it and said the wrong thing without thinking (my entire conversation with people is verbal diarrhoea), but this never fails to put a smile on my face.

But I think some of the most inspirational quotes come from Coco Chanel. She really was timeless and wise, and came out with some amazing points that can really help you through bad times. Plus she created some of the most fabulous scents!

What quotes inspire you?

32 Responses to ““It is Better to be Quotable than Honest” Tom Stoppard”

  1. terrisv15 September 21, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    Very clever! Your blog was a great way to start my day.

  2. sn2snblog September 21, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    My favourite quote was
    ” the world is filled with love and happiness, its just people who aren’t” But i have to admit i do like some of your owns 😀

  3. rickythewiz September 21, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Atticus Finch, the character from To Kill A Mockingbird says ‘I wanted you to learn that courage isn’t a man with a gun; it’s seeing something through to the end even though you know you can’t win.’ I love this quote and when I taught this book at GCSE I always held a debate on the nature of courage based on this quote. It speaks of the finer aspects of human nature. I think I’ll adopt your ‘if the world didn’t suck…’ quote as it has the same stoical outlook as mine.

    • tinkerbelle86 September 21, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      you taught that book at GCSE? we did it at GCSE and i had already read it twice, my granddad made me read it as soon as he thought i was old enough. Its one of those books that i always come back to, i absolutely adore everything about it.

  4. LittleMissVix September 21, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    I love quotes, I have a notebook I’m filling up with them!

  5. zendictive September 21, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I love quotes- they help me stay focus and or keep my humor wet…

    due to recent cut backs the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off (~_~)

    my favorite…
    a bad attitude is like a flat tire, your not going very far until you change it!

    as for inspiration, I created my own
    strengthen the body, sharpen the mind and enrich the spirit

    (~_~)

  6. egills September 21, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    I have two favourite quotes on my Facebook profile that I always try to remember:

    “If I were to begin life again, I should want it as it was. I would only open my eyes a little bit more.” Jules Renard

    “Life is too short to spend your precious time trying to convince a person who wants to live in gloom and doom otherwise. Give lifting that person your best shot, but don’t hang around long enough for his or her bad attitude to pull you down. Instead, surround yourself with optimistic people.” Zig Ziglar

    • tinkerbelle86 September 21, 2011 at 11:24 am #

      thats brilliant. I have never heard of Zig Ziglar, but it sounds enough like zig a zig ah for it to be ok 😀 xx

  7. ceciliag September 21, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    I also love quotes, wise sayings.. and i love that one about leaving butt prints! these three of yours are great! c

  8. eideard September 21, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    My fave – and I got to use it, this morning as comment on a world-class boring and predictably negative article by Nouriel Roubini – is from Ruud Gullit when he was managing Fulham.

    Flacks at a press conference were asking questions requiring a crystal ball one after another and he finally blew up:

    “What if, what if, what if? If my auntie had balls she’d be my uncle!”

    I do love that.

  9. jessiepeace September 21, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    One I found in a pub, ”to make your dreams come true, you must stay awake.’ Thought it was true because I always waste my days being asleep. Then I wake up and feel like shit.
    Enjoyed this post, love the quotes.
    Jessie.

  10. graysonjack September 21, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    Pretty much anything by Churchill or Mark Twain. Both of them are witty yet wise.

  11. lovelylici1986 September 21, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I’m in the quote-loving club too! I have a book of what I call “Real Life Quotes,” which is almost full of funny/memorable/inspiring things people have said to/around me. It’s fun to read through it.

  12. Vicki Stokes September 21, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    “Though you may be under a dark tree, always look for the light shining through the branches”

    Love this one 🙂

  13. rebeccasretreat September 21, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    I love this post, it made me smile. And I agree thoroughly, quotes have that amazing talent of summing up your mood there and then. My favourite is from Winston Churchill, ‘You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life.’ Sums me up.

  14. prenin September 21, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    When going through Hell keep moving – it doesn’t pay to stay in one place.

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  15. brainrants September 21, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    good quotes, luv.

  16. gojulesgo September 22, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    “Life is uncertain, eat dessert first.”

    • tinkerbelle86 September 22, 2011 at 8:44 am #

      shame there isnt a like button really 🙂

  17. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts September 22, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    I love quotes too…and these are great ones. Sometimes I think other people sum things up better than I ever can myself, so using their words just makes sense.

  18. itchemeyer September 22, 2011 at 3:52 am #

    My philosophy is accept me or go to hell.
    -Jesus (as told to gilbert gottfreid)

  19. Peter Teixeira September 22, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    Quotes can be fun.

    These are two of my favorites: “When I was a kid I used to pray every night for a new bicycle. Then I realised that the Lord doesn’t work that way so I stole one and asked Him to forgive me.” – Emo Philips

    “Don’t pray in my school, and I won’t think in your church” – Unknown

  20. mheretowrite September 22, 2011 at 6:57 am #

    I like quotes, the problem is I remember the meaning of it but forget the actual words.

  21. Tilly Bud September 22, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Great quotes. If you like them , you’ll enjoy Nancy’s blog http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/

  22. Team Oyeniyi September 22, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    I’m hopeless – can never remember them – although I remember my car registration numbers. Love quotes, just can’t ever remember them!

  23. sonsothunder September 22, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Great thought…by the way, your site looks really good, and you probably wouldn’t want to change it, but seeing all the videos you have on it, was just wandering if you had checked out the new Selecta Theme yet.

    http://theme.wordpress.com/themes/selecta/

    God Bless
    paul

  24. barkinginthedark September 22, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    “Tell the truth and fool the world”

  25. duncanr September 22, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    I love too many quotes to list them all here, but a few daft ones . . .

    “Long ago, when men cursed and beat the ground with sticks, it was called witchcraft. Today it’s called golf ”

    “Lettin’ the cat outta the bag is a whole lot easier’n puttin’ it back”

    “Never slap a man who’s chewing tobacco”

    And the truest of them all –

    “There are two theories to arguing with a woman. Neither works” 😦

  26. Alex M September 24, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    “It is better to light a flamethrower than to curse the darkness.”

  27. puppy October 2, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    […] “It is Better to be Quotable than Honest” Tom Stoppard « Tinkerbelle […]

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

