Coughs and Sneezes Spread Diseases

15 Sep

In case any of you hadn’t noticed, I have now moved my tiny little square of the internet world onto its own domain. It’s like moving house! And being able to break a computer at thirty paces, I was worried I might lose some of you, like treasured possessions, in the move. After all, I haven’t managed to find the bottle opener since we unpacked in our real house, and the weird neighbour across the hall is starting to look at us suspiciously when we borrow hers. Must remember to a) buy a corkscrew or b) buy screw cap wine bottles. Or alternatively venture to the unexplored land of the flats upstairs when in need. You never know, we could make some new friends! I’m loving my new house and my escapades with the girls and the crew that descend on our little flat. I love living somewhere that there is always laughter, whether it be dancing aerobically with the girls in our pjs to pop songs (“oh no wait, I have to put a bra on, I can’t cope with these moves in my jammies!!”) or having friends round to share dinner and have a film night. I love it. Its home.

 I’m thankful for laughter, except when milk comes out of my nose.  ~Woody Allen

I chose laughteriscatching because I want my blog to be like a disease… deadly and spreading virally into all your nasal passages. That sounds gross!

But honestly, in a world where everything costs something and strangers are rarely kind, laughter is still, and always will be, free. It doesn’t cost anything to smile at someone in the street, and I particularly like doing it when in London as people think that you are off your meds and need to be carted back to the funny farm ASAP.

When people are laughing, they’re generally not killing each other.  ~Alan Alda

When I was a little girl, my Daddy used to watch M*A*S*H. I remember the drill; I had to make sure I had eaten my tea and was in the bath as Dad came through the front door. He would make a cup of tea and put the TV on, and I would rush to dry off, put my pjs on and thunder down the stairs as I hear the opening credits, jumping onto his lap as the helicopter landed and the show began. It’s still a sound that makes me smile; if I ever switch the TV onto one of the old nostalgia channels I stop for a minute and watch Alan Alda (my childhood hero) and Hotlips and Klinger before turning it over to something else.

Contagious. Adjective. Of a disease. Spread from one person or organism to another by contact.

Catch the bug!

Ways to catch my disease… follow  the blog, follow me on twitter (@lillyheart999) for blow by blow updates on what I am eating (that’s what twitter is for, right?) or on Facebook for anything random that I can’t fit in 140 characters. Hurry up and get on the fun bus!!*

*disclaimer. I don’t actually have a bus. Awkward.

20 Responses to “Coughs and Sneezes Spread Diseases”

  1. thoughtsappear September 15, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Wait…there’s not really a bus? I’m disappointed.

  2. chris zombieking September 15, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    speaking of hard to find – do you know the address on your gravatar profile is ever so slightly wrong? i had to type a whole extra ‘S’ at the end of it to track you down following a ‘like’ on one of my posts.. not everyone is so tenacious.

    maybe you’ve just identified something else for your bucket list: acquire a fun bus!
    x

    • tinkerbelle86 September 15, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

      how do i change it?? im technology backwards!

  3. chris zombieking September 15, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    try the ‘my links’ tab here …?
    http://en.gravatar.com/profiles/edit#about-you

  4. chris zombieking September 15, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    actually, you may have to put in a completey new link.. im not too good with this techn ology malarky myself either im afraid!

  5. ceciliag September 15, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Well you haven’t lost me!! I love how you write darling.. and there are plenty of NEW ZEALAND wines that have screw caps!! c

  6. Life After Swimming September 15, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    What did you use to purchase your own domain? I have been considering self hosting, too!

    • tinkerbelle86 September 15, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      i use domainmonster.com. try them out, so easy!

  7. prenin September 15, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Now how could you lose your very own Paranoid Schizophrenic stalker??? LoL!!! 🙂

    Love the blog as always – I am a big fan of M.A.S.H, in fact I even read the books which carried on the story after the war and the medics all came home!!! 🙂

    To quote Trapper John: “Finest Kind!” 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs! 🙂

    Prenin.

  8. AG September 15, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    Already caught! Love your blog!

  9. ashleyjillian September 15, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    welcome to the vanity club of having your own domain name!

  10. bethfinke September 15, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I’ve caught the bug! Am following you…

  11. Lafemmeroar September 15, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    laughing at the malfunction of the universe is better than crying about it! I’ve caught the bug 🙂

  12. magsx2 September 15, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    Hi,
    You automatically came up in my RSS feed, so that’s a good sign. I didn’t have to put in a new RSS feed at all. Great post, shame about the bus. 🙂

  13. gojulesgo September 15, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Congrats!! I too just purchased a domain (about a week ago) for goguiltypleasures. Can you believe my mom made the following Facebook-wall joke, “Does this mean you’re a domain-atrix?”?

  14. Megan September 17, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    You’ll never lose me chica… I know I’ve been a bit invisible but I’m still here and still reading. Life’s just been giving me a run for my money these days… Miss you. xxxx

    • tinkerbelle86 September 19, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      Miss you too. Hope everything is OK and the job hunt is going well, you know where we are if you need a holiday 😀 xxx

  15. Carolyn Chan September 19, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Having a good giggle will cure most ails I say – absolutely love your blog – puts a real smile on my face !

  16. Team Oyeniyi September 22, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    Loved MASH and love Alda’s quotation. Very true!

    Having your own domain is quite a step, isn’t it!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

